Switch Theme:

Catacomb Command Barges, Everliving and Quantum Shielding.  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Grey Knight Purgator firing around corners





So here is the question.

If a Overlord upgraded with a CCB loses all its wounds but the CCB is never penetrated, and the subsequent Everliving roll is passed does the CCB return with Av 13 Due to Quantum Shielding Special Rule, or not.

Also if the CCB is Glanced to death by say Grav-Weapons and it passes the Everliving roll does it come back with Av 13 due to Quantum Shielding?

Just wondering.

3000+
6000+
2000+
2500+
2500+
:Orks 5000+ 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




As it must be the same mofdel, there is no reason to think its "status" of QS would change, just because it died.
   
Made in ca
Foolproof Falcon Pilot




Ontario, Canada

Yeah, you don't get a brand new version of whichever model you lost. The model you had is returned to play with 1 wound remaining. All persistent effects on that model keep their current states. For instance if you went to ground with a unit of warriors with an overlord and they all died. If the overlord passes his ever living he still counts as having gone to ground. Likewise any maledicitons cast on them would still be in effect after their reanimation.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/06/10 13:45:06


 
   
Made in de
Decrepit Dakkanaut





Bojazz wrote:
If the overlord passes his ever living he still counts as having gone to ground. .


Got a rules quote on that?

   
Made in ca
Foolproof Falcon Pilot




Ontario, Canada

 Sigvatr wrote:
Bojazz wrote:
If the overlord passes his ever living he still counts as having gone to ground. .


Got a rules quote on that?


"A unit that has gone to ground cannot move, run or charge. It can only fire snap shots and cannot fire overwatch"

Did the overlord go to ground? Yep, he did. There is no permission to remove any effects from the model. The model itself is returned to play, not a new copy of the model. If you were allowed to ignore an effect on the model any time reanimation was passed then any maledictions cast would be nullified, the unit would receive a new "starting size" for the purposes of 25% for insane heroism, and many other things would be broken. An overlord that ran in the shooting phase, died to dangerous terrain, and made his reanimation would be able to charge in the assault phase.

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2014/06/10 15:59:30


 
   
Made in us
Painlord Titan Princeps of Slaanesh






Dallas, TX

Got a reason to think he wouldn't? He hasn't been removed as a casualty, so in his following movement phase, etc he is still gone to ground unless he ended up in close combat or had fallen back somehow.

40k Armies I play:


Glory for Slaanesh!

 
   
Made in ca
Foolproof Falcon Pilot




Ontario, Canada

 Spellbound wrote:
Got a reason to think he wouldn't? He hasn't been removed as a casualty, so in his following movement phase, etc he is still gone to ground unless he ended up in close combat or had fallen back somehow.

Actually he WAS removed as a casualty. Reanimation only kicks in once a model has been removed. But it says *that model* is returned to play if the test is passed. IT does not state anywhere in the book that effects are removed from a model when it is removed as a casualty. So it comes back with all effects still persisting.
   
Made in de
Decrepit Dakkanaut





 Spellbound wrote:
Got a reason to think he wouldn't? He hasn't been removed as a casualty, so in his following movement phase, etc he is still gone to ground unless he ended up in close combat or had fallen back somehow.


It has been removed as a casualty. That is the point. A downed model with EL is removed from play - the EL rule literally says that. HYWPI is clear, it gets to keep the same effects (e.g. Blind, Curses etc.), but I wonder about things like GtG, especially as the rule itself allows the model to join another unit when re-animating. Assuming it was GtG before, what is it now? Is the Overlord still GtG? Does the whole unit have to GtG?

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/06/10 16:08:27


   
Made in ca
Foolproof Falcon Pilot




Ontario, Canada

p.166 "Independent Characters and Ongoing Effects".
The effects are NOT shared with the new unit, but the independent character keeps his effects. In the case of having gone to ground, the Overlord would not be able to move and would be firing snap shots, but the unit he joined could act as normal.
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: