Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/06/14 03:26:41
Subject: Flamer/Grenade & other rule Clarifications
|
 |
Sneaky Lictor
|
Just finished a game with one of my friends today, he let me use his Greenwing army and I got to face the combination of his DW/RW. By the end of his turn 2 it was almost over, totally underestimated his forces and got tabled, I'm fine with it, don't know Dark Angels very well as I play Tyranids.
Anyway we had a few issues we couldn't quite answer ourselves and thought we would come here.
1. When using grenades in an assault, if a vehicle has not moved, its WS counts as 0. As there is no 0 on the chart do we even need to roll to hit? We are simply attaching a grenade to a standstill target. We rolled anyway, took all 1s as misses.
2. Flamers vs Marines embarked on Rhinos. We know flamers hit everything on the the targeted level of a building, in this case the one and only floor as this is covered in the book, but we couldn't find anything about Flamers being used on units embarked in a transport, admittedly we did not spend much time looking through the book for the answer.
3. Just how long exactly do Blessings from Psykers last? Specifically Fire Shield, Shroud and Invisibility, there is no time duration on the card so we agreed that it lasts until the Psyker dies.
4. Using our own custom buildings and there is no profile for building defenses of custom buildings that we could find, are we then free to assign it however we want or is there something out there we could reference too?
5. I had my Warlord mixed with a Command Squad, his shooting face, kills the entire squad, does the Warlord then have to make a Leadership check as he is the only one left from the unit?
6. Splitfire allows for Deathwing Terminators to fire upon different units during the shooting phase, when charging, are we then free to choose which we could charge as we have shot at both?
7. Continuing from 6, can we charge units that we have not shot at?
8. He didn't believe me at the time, but Blasts and other templates do not need line of sight in order to be fired correct?
9. Beam attacks. It says the beam goes through the first unit and hit everything behind it subtracting 1 Strength for each additional unit hit. How does this work for units embarked on transports. Does it count just the transport and skip the units inside or does it hit both of them as well?
10. Azrael's ability states that everything from the DA codex rolls leadership checks using his leadership, this I am assuming included enemy DA as well?
Any help you could give would be great, thank you very much!
|
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2014/06/14 03:46:23
In the works
Warhammer 40k. Enjoy it or go play something else. Life is too short to complain.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/06/14 03:39:23
Subject: Re:Flamer/Grenade & other rule Clarifications
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
I'm confused. You're counting vehicles as stationary as WS0, but that's a 6th edition rule. Vehicles now always have WS1 even if they're immobilised or stationary. WS0 = autohit.
But, to clarify, are you asking for 6th edition or 7th edition rules?
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/06/14 03:42:17
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/06/14 03:41:43
Subject: Re:Flamer/Grenade & other rule Clarifications
|
 |
Sneaky Lictor
|
sonicaucie wrote:I'm confused. You're counting vehicles as stationary as WS0, but that's a 6th edition rule. Vehicles now always have a WS even if they're immobilised or stationary. WS0 = autohit.
But, to clarify, are you asking for 6th edition or 7th edition rules?
Preferably 7th, didn't think anything changed from 6th-7th in that regard.
Turns out we ended up doing the right thing anyway. Rolled to hit as normal.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/06/14 03:43:15
In the works
Warhammer 40k. Enjoy it or go play something else. Life is too short to complain.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/06/14 03:51:06
Subject: Re:Flamer/Grenade & other rule Clarifications
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
Lobomalo wrote:sonicaucie wrote:I'm confused. You're counting vehicles as stationary as WS0, but that's a 6th edition rule. Vehicles now always have a WS even if they're immobilised or stationary. WS0 = autohit.
But, to clarify, are you asking for 6th edition or 7th edition rules?
Preferably 7th, didn't think anything changed from 6th-7th in that regard.
Okay, let me try and answer some of your questions then.
1. vehicles are WS1, so 3s or 4s to hit depending on your own WS.
2. Look up the "no escape" rule for flamers. You can't hit a unit inside a rhino.
3. Unless otherwise stated, they last until the start of your next psychic phase.
4. Before the game all you need to do is agree with your opponent what terrain counts as what and what parts of it are impassable. It's usually fairly obvious, but sometimes it's worth mentioning. Treat building as ruins, woods as woods, ect... look up battlefield terrain in your rulebook.
5. Yes, he still counts as being part of the unit until the end of the turn and thus must take a leadership test.
6. You must charge one of the units you shot at.
7. No.
8. They do. They must also be placed on top of a model that's in TLOS.
9. Only the transport is hit, not the unit inside.
10. Technically yes, but no one would play it that way. A necron ghost arks states that at the start of each necron movement phase, it repairs D3 warriors to a squad. Thus a necron vs necron battle would give a ghost ark 2D3 warriors per game turn instead of the normal 1D3.
|
This message was edited 3 times. Last update was at 2014/06/14 03:57:52
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/06/14 03:55:03
Subject: Flamer/Grenade & other rule Clarifications
|
 |
Sneaky Lictor
|
Now I'm confused. With number 7, if I cannot charge a unit I have not shot at, how then can I charge a unit already engaged in close combat?
3. Very frustrating. So I would have to cast Shroud every turn to make sure I got it? Not nice
|
In the works
Warhammer 40k. Enjoy it or go play something else. Life is too short to complain.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/06/14 03:56:20
Subject: Flamer/Grenade & other rule Clarifications
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
Lobomalo wrote:Now I'm confused. With number 7, if I cannot charge a unit I have not shot at, how then can I charge a unit already engaged in close combat?
3. Very frustrating. So I would have to cast Shroud every turn to make sure I got it? Not nice
You can charge any unit in range, but if you've shot at a unit you must charge that unit (if you wish to charge) unless you're given permission to do otherwise.
|
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2014/06/14 03:58:22
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/06/14 04:14:24
Subject: Flamer/Grenade & other rule Clarifications
|
 |
Sneaky Lictor
|
sonicaucie wrote: Lobomalo wrote:Now I'm confused. With number 7, if I cannot charge a unit I have not shot at, how then can I charge a unit already engaged in close combat?
3. Very frustrating. So I would have to cast Shroud every turn to make sure I got it? Not nice
You can charge any unit in range, but if you've shot at a unit you must charge that unit (if you wish to charge) unless you're given permission to do otherwise.
So if I haven't shot, I can assault any unit within range?
|
In the works
Warhammer 40k. Enjoy it or go play something else. Life is too short to complain.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/06/14 04:26:32
Subject: Flamer/Grenade & other rule Clarifications
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
Lobomalo wrote:sonicaucie wrote: Lobomalo wrote:Now I'm confused. With number 7, if I cannot charge a unit I have not shot at, how then can I charge a unit already engaged in close combat?
3. Very frustrating. So I would have to cast Shroud every turn to make sure I got it? Not nice
You can charge any unit in range, but if you've shot at a unit you must charge that unit (if you wish to charge) unless you're given permission to do otherwise.
So if I haven't shot, I can assault any unit within range?
Yes.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/06/14 08:45:58
Subject: Flamer/Grenade & other rule Clarifications
|
 |
Executing Exarch
|
Otherwise, Genestealers / Hormagaunts would be a bit useless...
I think the confusion was that you said for number 7 "continuing from 6", so people assumed you were still on the same example ( DW shoot at targets A and B, but you wanted to charge C).
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/06/14 10:51:00
Subject: Flamer/Grenade & other rule Clarifications
|
 |
Repentia Mistress
|
sonicaucie wrote: Lobomalo wrote:Now I'm confused. With number 7, if I cannot charge a unit I have not shot at, how then can I charge a unit already engaged in close combat?
3. Very frustrating. So I would have to cast Shroud every turn to make sure I got it? Not nice
You can charge any unit in range, but if you've shot at a unit you must charge that unit (if you wish to charge) unless you're given permission to do otherwise.
I just read through the assault phase rules. Does this mean that even if I managed to destroy the unit by shooting, I cannot assaut another unit even though the original target unit is off the board?
|
DS:70+S+G+M-B--IPw40k94-D+++A++/wWD380R+T(D)DM+
Avatar scene by artist Nicholas Kay. Give credit where it's due! |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/06/14 11:28:02
Subject: Flamer/Grenade & other rule Clarifications
|
 |
Lord Commander in a Plush Chair
|
milkboy wrote:sonicaucie wrote: Lobomalo wrote:Now I'm confused. With number 7, if I cannot charge a unit I have not shot at, how then can I charge a unit already engaged in close combat?
3. Very frustrating. So I would have to cast Shroud every turn to make sure I got it? Not nice
You can charge any unit in range, but if you've shot at a unit you must charge that unit (if you wish to charge) unless you're given permission to do otherwise.
I just read through the assault phase rules. Does this mean that even if I managed to destroy the unit by shooting, I cannot assaut another unit even though the original target unit is off the board?
That is correct,with 1 caveat: If the destroyed unit was a transport, you may charge the now disembarked contents of that transport.
|
This is my Rulebook. There are many Like it, but this one is mine. Without me, my rulebook is useless. Without my rulebook, I am useless.
Stop looking for buzz words and start reading the whole sentences.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/06/14 14:11:58
Subject: Flamer/Grenade & other rule Clarifications
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
Azreal is fearless so it's a moot point?
*edit- I thought someone mentioned Azreal, note that any warlord except the Chaplain is fearless.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/06/14 14:16:56
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/06/14 16:56:58
Subject: Re:Flamer/Grenade & other rule Clarifications
|
 |
Savage Khorne Berserker Biker
|
Hah, I never knew that. Go figure the warrior with the strongest faith in the army is a scaredy cat.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/06/14 17:47:17
Subject: Flamer/Grenade & other rule Clarifications
|
 |
Kelne
|
I highly doubt the Chaplain isn't fearless, though they tend to be through another special rule (Zealot?) that gives them Hatred too
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/06/15 01:07:06
Subject: Flamer/Grenade & other rule Clarifications
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
Does zealot give fearless? I was going based on the chaplain not having Inner Circle which grants fearless. I don't have my codex on hand.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/06/15 01:16:27
Subject: Re:Flamer/Grenade & other rule Clarifications
|
 |
[MOD]
Making Stuff
|
sonicaucie wrote:I'm confused. You're counting vehicles as stationary as WS0, but that's a 6th edition rule. Vehicles now always have WS1 even if they're immobilised or stationary. WS0 = autohit.
Immobilised non-Walker vehicles are WS0.
|
|
|
 |
 |
|