| Author |
Message |
 |
|
|
 |
|
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/06/15 15:25:08
Subject: on force modifiers and combined arms detachments
|
 |
Three Color Minimum
|
Hello again, dakka, another question for the masses.
So if I were to take an hq that lets me take something else as a troops choice (force modifier) does that benefit carry over from the primary detachment to any combined arms detachment? Assuming its all same codex?
Ex- take azrael in my primary, can I now take ravenwing and deathwing as troops in my combined detachments?
|
Dark angels 70/100 of deathwing, 50/100 ravenwing, 80-100 3rd company
IG +6k pts
and a sampling of different armies
warmachine, 40-50 points of:
protectorate, legion, and convergence armies |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/06/15 15:58:32
Subject: on force modifiers and combined arms detachments
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Depends if it states army or detachment.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/06/15 16:29:09
Subject: on force modifiers and combined arms detachments
|
 |
Sneaky Lictor
|
gealgain wrote:Hello again, dakka, another question for the masses.
So if I were to take an hq that lets me take something else as a troops choice (force modifier) does that benefit carry over from the primary detachment to any combined arms detachment? Assuming its all same codex?
Ex- take azrael in my primary, can I now take ravenwing and deathwing as troops in my combined detachments?
Yes.
He would be the Warlord of the entire army.
Example. You bring Azrael as your Warlord with the 6th company of DA which actually has no DW or RW in them. Azrael allows those as troop choices. You then bring in your CaD 1st Company, DW and 2nd Company, RW
|
In the works
Warhammer 40k. Enjoy it or go play something else. Life is too short to complain.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/06/15 16:33:26
Subject: Re:on force modifiers and combined arms detachments
|
 |
Hellish Haemonculus
|
Check the FAQs for each character. Some will have had their rule re-worded to say detachment rather than army. (Baron Sathonyx and Urien Rakarth, for example.)
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/06/15 16:40:24
Subject: Re:on force modifiers and combined arms detachments
|
 |
Lieutenant General
|
Jimsolo wrote:Check the FAQs for each character. Some will have had their rule re-worded to say detachment rather than army. (Baron Sathonyx and Urien Rakarth, for example.)
Azrael says primary detachment in the codex that I have seen.
|
'It is a source of constant consternation that my opponents cannot correlate their innate inferiority with their inevitable defeat. It would seem that stupidity is as eternal as war.'
- Nemesor Zahndrekh of the Sautekh Dynasty Overlord of the Crownworld of Gidrim |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/06/15 16:58:12
Subject: on force modifiers and combined arms detachments
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Lobomalo wrote:gealgain wrote:Hello again, dakka, another question for the masses.
So if I were to take an hq that lets me take something else as a troops choice (force modifier) does that benefit carry over from the primary detachment to any combined arms detachment? Assuming its all same codex?
Ex- take azrael in my primary, can I now take ravenwing and deathwing as troops in my combined detachments?
Yes.
He would be the Warlord of the entire army.
Example. You bring Azrael as your Warlord with the 6th company of DA which actually has no DW or RW in them. Azrael allows those as troop choices. You then bring in your CaD 1st Company, DW and 2nd Company, RW
In my copy he states detachment. Detachment isn't the same, always, as army.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/06/15 17:18:28
Subject: on force modifiers and combined arms detachments
|
 |
Sneaky Lictor
|
nosferatu1001 wrote: Lobomalo wrote:gealgain wrote:Hello again, dakka, another question for the masses.
So if I were to take an hq that lets me take something else as a troops choice (force modifier) does that benefit carry over from the primary detachment to any combined arms detachment? Assuming its all same codex?
Ex- take azrael in my primary, can I now take ravenwing and deathwing as troops in my combined detachments?
Yes.
He would be the Warlord of the entire army.
Example. You bring Azrael as your Warlord with the 6th company of DA which actually has no DW or RW in them. Azrael allows those as troop choices. You then bring in your CaD 1st Company, DW and 2nd Company, RW
In my copy he states detachment. Detachment isn't the same, always, as army.
Yeah noticed that. Needs an FAQ though as the example I provided would technically work as they are all DA. Kind of weird but whatever.
|
In the works
Warhammer 40k. Enjoy it or go play something else. Life is too short to complain.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/06/15 17:33:06
Subject: on force modifiers and combined arms detachments
|
 |
Lieutenant General
|
Lobomalo wrote:nosferatu1001 wrote: Lobomalo wrote:gealgain wrote:Hello again, dakka, another question for the masses.
So if I were to take an hq that lets me take something else as a troops choice (force modifier) does that benefit carry over from the primary detachment to any combined arms detachment? Assuming its all same codex?
Ex- take azrael in my primary, can I now take ravenwing and deathwing as troops in my combined detachments?
Yes.
He would be the Warlord of the entire army.
Example. You bring Azrael as your Warlord with the 6th company of DA which actually has no DW or RW in them. Azrael allows those as troop choices. You then bring in your CaD 1st Company, DW and 2nd Company, RW
In my copy he states detachment. Detachment isn't the same, always, as army.
Yeah noticed that. Needs an FAQ though as the example I provided would technically work as they are all DA. Kind of weird but whatever.
IIRC, only the CAD that the Warlord is in is considered the primary detachment.
|
'It is a source of constant consternation that my opponents cannot correlate their innate inferiority with their inevitable defeat. It would seem that stupidity is as eternal as war.'
- Nemesor Zahndrekh of the Sautekh Dynasty Overlord of the Crownworld of Gidrim |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/06/15 18:24:46
Subject: on force modifiers and combined arms detachments
|
 |
Three Color Minimum
|
the force modifiers are not addressed in the FAQ, so therefore we have the old classic gap between editions. RAW vs RAI
RAW: only the first detachment with the dark angels book can be modified, as all 3 force modifiers (belial, azrael, and sammael) say explicitly "primary detachment"
RAI: in 6th edition "primary detachment" was wording to indicate that you can't use a force modifier if you take it as an ally.
|
Dark angels 70/100 of deathwing, 50/100 ravenwing, 80-100 3rd company
IG +6k pts
and a sampling of different armies
warmachine, 40-50 points of:
protectorate, legion, and convergence armies |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/06/15 19:43:33
Subject: on force modifiers and combined arms detachments
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Lobomalo wrote:nosferatu1001 wrote: Lobomalo wrote:gealgain wrote:Hello again, dakka, another question for the masses.
So if I were to take an hq that lets me take something else as a troops choice (force modifier) does that benefit carry over from the primary detachment to any combined arms detachment? Assuming its all same codex?
Ex- take azrael in my primary, can I now take ravenwing and deathwing as troops in my combined detachments?
Yes.
He would be the Warlord of the entire army.
Example. You bring Azrael as your Warlord with the 6th company of DA which actually has no DW or RW in them. Azrael allows those as troop choices. You then bring in your CaD 1st Company, DW and 2nd Company, RW
In my copy he states detachment. Detachment isn't the same, always, as army.
Yeah noticed that. Needs an FAQ though as the example I provided would technically work as they are all DA. Kind of weird but whatever.
No, it would not technically work. Your primary detachment is not the same as any other detachment. Even if they are the same faction, they are not the same detachment, by definition, and so cannot benefit from rules that specify the primary alone
|
|
|
 |
 |
|
|