Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/06/16 20:57:14
Subject: Dreadnaught stunned from overwatch fire. Does it still make it's assault?
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
My friend and I ran into this in a game. He tried to charge my Riptide with a dreadnought and I stunned it with overwatch fire. He said it was pretty obvious that the assault couldn't be made since a charge move is still movement and I eventually agreed but not before seeing if it's covered in the rule book. I couldn't find anything and was wondering if I missed it (very possible since I'm still getting used to the 7th book) or if it just isn't specifically covered.
Stunned says the model cannot "move" and we assumed charging was still "moving" as the model is changing position on the table. I know it's bad to try to apply logic to 40k but we couldn't find anything else in the rules.
We also noticed that the stunned result meant the dreadnought was stunned for more than a full game turn which we didn't realize was possible. It said it lasted until the end of it's next turn so that meant his assault phase, my entire turn, and then his entire turn after that.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/06/16 21:08:34
Subject: Dreadnaught stunned from overwatch fire. Does it still make it's assault?
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
You declare a charge move, the enemy overwatches, you get immobilized, the BRB says that an immobilized vehicle cannot move "at all".
Charging is literally called a Charge Move  You move the charger into base contact etc. Basically the entire paragraph talks explicitely about moving.
So yes, being Immobilized causes your charge to fail and to stand around playing sitting duck
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/06/16 21:13:19
Subject: Dreadnaught stunned from overwatch fire. Does it still make it's assault?
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Immobilized should stop the charge. Not sure about stunned. The section Walkers and Assaults spells out specific effects for vehicle damage table results.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/06/16 21:31:30
Subject: Dreadnaught stunned from overwatch fire. Does it still make it's assault?
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Same vehicle damage table as for regular vehicles. Stunned: If the vehicle is not a zooming flyer, it cannot move or pivot until the end of the next turn. So, same as above - can't charge.
|
This message was edited 4 times. Last update was at 2014/06/16 21:33:29
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/06/17 03:54:36
Subject: Dreadnaught stunned from overwatch fire. Does it still make it's assault?
|
 |
Focused Fire Warrior
Rockwood, TN
|
Aren't walkers immune to shaken and stunned results? Or am I confusing this with 6th edition?
Noc
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/06/17 03:55:58
Subject: Dreadnaught stunned from overwatch fire. Does it still make it's assault?
|
 |
Captain of the Forlorn Hope
|
Nocturus wrote:Aren't walkers immune to shaken and stunned results? Or am I confusing this with 6th edition?
Noc
Some are, like Death Company Dreadnoughts, or Imperial Knights, but not all walkers are immune to shaken or stunned results. It was the same way in 6th ed.
|
"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.
I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!
We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/06/17 04:27:54
Subject: Dreadnaught stunned from overwatch fire. Does it still make it's assault?
|
 |
Sinewy Scourge
|
Isn't this like when a unit gets pinned by overwatch? They still get in though.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/06/17 04:31:44
Subject: Dreadnaught stunned from overwatch fire. Does it still make it's assault?
|
 |
Lone Wolf Sentinel Pilot
|
Pinning causes charges to fail automatically.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/06/17 04:33:48
Subject: Dreadnaught stunned from overwatch fire. Does it still make it's assault?
|
 |
Sinewy Scourge
|
Does it? Not something I've ever come across on a game to be honest.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/06/17 04:56:58
Subject: Dreadnaught stunned from overwatch fire. Does it still make it's assault?
|
 |
Lone Wolf Sentinel Pilot
|
Shingen wrote:Does it? Not something I've ever come across on a game to be honest.
I'd venture that the number of instances this actually occurred was extremely low, but yeah I just looked it up. No harm no fowl of course, as I had no idea either until I looked at it
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/06/17 07:29:19
Subject: Dreadnaught stunned from overwatch fire. Does it still make it's assault?
|
 |
Boom! Leman Russ Commander
|
You're not allowed to move. Regardless of whether or not you were able to when you declared the action.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/06/17 10:02:00
Subject: Dreadnaught stunned from overwatch fire. Does it still make it's assault?
|
 |
Powerful Phoenix Lord
|
No it doesn't.
Going to Ground causes a charge to auto fail, however, Overwatch cannot cause Morale checks or Pinning tests.
|
Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia |
|
 |
 |
|