Switch Theme:

Perils of the Warp and Re-Rolling.  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Sneaky Sniper Drone




Hazelwood, MO

"If two or more 6s are rolled, the Psyker suffers Perils of the Warp, which is resolved immediately." -7th Edition Rulebook p.24 Manifesting Psychic Powers Sequence
So if I read this correctly, does that mean that re-rolls won't save you from perils? That could be a big deal....

Valhallan Guard vs Tau. v  
   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

Ventiscogreen wrote:
"If two or more 6s are rolled, the Psyker suffers Perils of the Warp, which is resolved immediately." -7th Edition Rulebook p.24 Manifesting Psychic Powers Sequence
So if I read this correctly, does that mean that re-rolls won't save you from perils? That could be a big deal....


Re-rolls save you from Perils, and things like Gets hot etc...

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/06/17 04:03:13


"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
Made in us
Sneaky Sniper Drone




Hazelwood, MO

I'm not seeing anything that specifically says perils are effected by re-rolls in 7th Codex. Gets hot specifically lists the effect of re-rolls in its special rules entry on page 164. Nothing regarding re-rolls indicates that the re-roll would somehow negate the perils.

Valhallan Guard vs Tau. v  
   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

Ventiscogreen wrote:
I'm not seeing anything that specifically says perils are effected by re-rolls in 7th Codex. Gets hot specifically lists the effect of re-rolls in its special rules entry on page 164. Nothing regarding re-rolls indicates that the re-roll would somehow negate the perils.


The Re-roll rule covers it.

"The second roll counts, even if it means a worse result than the first" (General Principles section).

So you count the second roll, not the first.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/06/17 04:33:40


"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
Made in us
Sneaky Sniper Drone




Hazelwood, MO

"If two or more 6s are rolled, the Psyker suffers Perils of the Warp, which is resolved immediately."
Immediately means you resolve the Perils before any other action. That means if double 6s are rolled in the first test, they resolve and then you may reroll the test (if it failed), or at least that is my understanding of the sequence. Is there a flaw in that logic?

Valhallan Guard vs Tau. v  
   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

Ventiscogreen wrote:
"If two or more 6s are rolled, the Psyker suffers Perils of the Warp, which is resolved immediately."
Immediately means you resolve the Perils before any other action. That means if double 6s are rolled in the first test, they resolve and then you may reroll the test (if it failed), or at least that is my understanding of the sequence. Is there a flaw in that logic?


Yes, the re-rolls says that "The second roll counts, even if it means a worse result than the first" meaning the first roll does not count, so chronologically would have to be taken into account before immediately.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/06/17 04:33:49


"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
Made in us
Lone Wolf Sentinel Pilot





Fort Benning, Georgia

Well I'd argue that the re-rolling action is done at the same time as the first roll for all intents and purposes. The word immediately just means before you take any other actions (which in my mind excludes re rolling rolls)
   
Made in us
Sneaky Sniper Drone




Hazelwood, MO

That however isn't clarified. This leaves, DUN DUN DUN, rules in conflict. I personally hold that RAI the same as you guys, but I chose to let the galaxy burn a bit, since RAW is sketchy here. I think that a FAQ is required for this, due to a lack of clarity in writing despite the evident intent that re-rolls should negate perils. I think they weren't expecting people to read it any other way, since 6th edition always saw that effect of negating perils. Dear GW, let me take an editing pass before you publish. Then again, this is the only conflict I've found so far, and the intent isn't hard to pry forth.

Valhallan Guard vs Tau. v  
   
Made in us
Lone Wolf Sentinel Pilot





Fort Benning, Georgia

Some people just want to watch the world burn...

There is nothing in the rule that says you ignore re rolls, so you are allowed to take them. Immediately means at the conclusion of the act of evaluating the roll to determine a successful psychic test.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/06/17 04:55:48


 
   
Made in us
Sneaky Lictor





Actually this is easy to clear up.

Must comes before may.

You roll double 6's you must take a Perils of the Warp. Re-rolls are optional, optional things never take precedence over a rule when it comes to timing issues. Least not in any game I've played in the last twenty or so years.

In the works

Warhammer 40k. Enjoy it or go play something else. Life is too short to complain.
 
   
Made in us
Tzeentch Aspiring Sorcerer Riding a Disc






Battle Barge Impossible Fortress

So if a Chaos Marines character rolls "Spawn" on the Boon chart, and he has the re-roll Boons Warlord Trait, he's turned into a Spawn anyway even if he re-rolls it?

Not following that "immediate" stuff. If you Perils and can re-roll it somehow (Spell Familiar? Fateweaver?), you don't count the first result.
   
Made in us
Hellish Haemonculus






Boskydell, IL

If someone said this at the table, I'd laugh, under the assumption that it was a joke.

I think I'd be aghast if someone tried to seriously pick a nit on this.

Yes, a re-roll will save you from Perils.

Welcome to the Freakshow!

(Leadership-shenanigans for Eldar of all types.) 
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





 Lobomalo wrote:
Actually this is easy to clear up.

Must comes before may.

You roll double 6's you must take a Perils of the Warp. Re-rolls are optional, optional things never take precedence over a rule when it comes to timing issues. Least not in any game I've played in the last twenty or so years.

Most re-rolls are not optional, actually.

Edit: If you perils, resolve it, re-roll and don't get perils, is playing using the result of the perils ignoring the first result as you're required to?

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/06/17 12:29:53


My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in us
Ship's Officer





Reading, UK

Ventiscogreen wrote:
That however isn't clarified. This leaves, DUN DUN DUN, rules in conflict. I personally hold that RAI the same as you guys, but I chose to let the galaxy burn a bit, since RAW is sketchy here. I think that a FAQ is required for this, due to a lack of clarity in writing despite the evident intent that re-rolls should negate perils. I think they weren't expecting people to read it any other way, since 6th edition always saw that effect of negating perils. Dear GW, let me take an editing pass before you publish. Then again, this is the only conflict I've found so far, and the intent isn't hard to pry forth.
A FAQ is not needed for this as it's plainly clear to 99.9% of the gaming population. A very tiny group of people will try and find fault or loophole with any possible rule (I'm looking at you "eyeless models can't shoot" guy!) even if it's illogical or unnecessary to do so.

A re-roll happens, for all intents and purposes, at the same time as the initial roll. It happens before any other events take place (especially those that are decided by that roll) because it replaces the initial roll. Models immediately suffer wounds if they fail their armour saves, do you claim that the ability to re-roll armour saves has no effect?

I'm of the position that the RAW isn't sketchy in the slightest and you're grasping at straws for an unknown reason (boredom?). There are plenty of unclear rules in 7th 40k—re-rolling blasts, generating warp charges from ICs in units, etc.— and I don't think we need to make it worse by confusing the issue on very straightforward rules.

DoW

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/06/17 12:50:31


"War. War never changes." - Fallout

4000pts
3000pts
1000pts
2500pts 
   
Made in us
Heroic Senior Officer





Woodbridge, VA

 Lobomalo wrote:
Actually this is easy to clear up.

Must comes before may.

You roll double 6's you must take a Perils of the Warp. Re-rolls are optional, optional things never take precedence over a rule when it comes to timing issues. Least not in any game I've played in the last twenty or so years.


So you just started 40K, huh? GW rules are kinda wonky sometimes.

Re-rolls first, then you immediately resolve any perils once you determine if there are any using the results of the second roll.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/06/17 12:45:23


Don "MONDO"
www.ironfistleague.com
Northern VA/Southern MD 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: