Switch Theme:

MoW - Discarding Tactical Objective cards...  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Rampaging Furioso Blood Angel Dreadnought





Boston, MA

I searched and found a similar topic but not quite what I was looking; this question came up in the General forum:

On page 137, we have the rule: "Discarding Tactical Objectives", that reads;
Spoiler:
Once a Tactical Objective has been achieved, it is discarded. After all Tactical Objectives that have been achieved are discarded, the player whose turn it is can select one of his remaining Active Tactical Objectives (if any) and choose to discard it ...etc...


So, can we always (per turn) discard one of our remaining cards, if any exist? Or must we first 'achieve' an objective, to gain this option? ...is it conditional? -- Does achieving 'zero' objectives alter this?

I have so far assumed that you could ALWAYS discard one per turn; and we've been playing this way... but I can also understand the other interpretation.

Further - on page 124, we have the Tactical Traits, see #1 "Tactical Genius"; which says "...you can discard up to 2 Active Tactical Objectives at the end of your turn instead of only 1". Which to me confirms that you can indeed always discard one - but the ambiguity remains.

Thoughts?


Please check out my photo blog: http://atticwars40k.blogspot.com/ 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut




Indiana

Have you achieved zero objectives? then you discard zero cards, so all acheived objectives have been discarded.

You may now discard another card

People who stopped buying GW but wont stop bitching about it are the vegans of warhammer

My Deathwatch army project thread  
   
Made in us
Plummeting Black Templar Thunderhawk Pilot





Equestria/USA

I read it as you can always discard one, You turn in completed objectives at the end of your turn(discarding in a way) the 2nd part to me just clarifies that"discarding" completed objectives is not the same as discarding a not completed objective, which lets you just do one, unless a rule overrides this, such as "Tactical genius"

Black Templars 4000 Deathwatch 6000
 
   
Made in de
Repentia Mistress





Santuary 101

I agree with Leth and conker. Thought it was pretty clear but....this is YMDC so you never know what can happen. :p

DS:70+S+G+M-B--IPw40k94-D+++A++/wWD380R+T(D)DM+

Avatar scene by artist Nicholas Kay. Give credit where it's due! 
   
Made in us
Rampaging Furioso Blood Angel Dreadnought





Boston, MA

 milkboy wrote:
I agree with Leth and conker. Thought it was pretty clear but....this is YMDC so you never know what can happen. :p


Hah I agree, on ALL counts... but it did come up which is why I asked.

Please check out my photo blog: http://atticwars40k.blogspot.com/ 
   
Made in us
Sneaky Lictor





It comes down to two questions.

1. Do all players consider zero to be a valid numerical unit? Meaning, can you legitimately achieve zero objectives.

2. The interpretation, that is the literal understanding and analysis of the words being used.

Number 1, for most people zero is valid, but as there is no such thing as rolling zero dice for example within the rules, one could make the argument that you cannot achieve zero objectives.

Number 2, the literal meaning of the rules informs you that you have to achieve something to discard something, but many on these forums won't see that for obvious reasons in other threads. They need to be told explicitly what they can or cannot do.

Best solution and one I have done, ask people who have been around longer that have nothing to do with these forums. It's the only way you'll get an unbiased opinion.

Or, do what I did when I had people read the rulings on Witchfire Powers and Psychic Shriek after I read the thread that closed a while back. Find someone who doesn't even play, but someone who understands simple English, has critical thinking skills and really doesn't care one way or another. You would be quite surprised at which side their answers generally fall on.

Or you could ask your LGS and see what they say. I have a minor hobby shop near me that says you can discard but a handful of larger ones and GW ones who say you need to actually achieve an objective.

Or you could houserule it.

Coming to YMDC for a legitimate answer won't work no matter how you slice it. It'll just end up in another argument with people getting all hot and bothered.

In the works

Warhammer 40k. Enjoy it or go play something else. Life is too short to complain.
 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: