Switch Theme:

7th Psychic tests, re-rolls, and you.  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in gb
Snord






So, having not seen it anywhere else, I thought I'd ask.

Chaos have a few artifacts and items that let them re-roll failed psychic tests... does that mean:
a) re-roll any/all of the dice used in a psychic test
b) re-roll any/all dice used in a deny the witch test (as the rule book states that a psychic test must be taken, albeit an altered one)
c) both
d) neither


Just got me new rule book so thought I'd ask before doing something wrong!

Von Chogg

LunaHound wrote:Eldrad was responsible for 911 *disclaimer, because Eldrad is known to be a dick, making dick moves that takes eons to fruit.

tremere47 wrote:
fear leads to anger, anger leads to hate, hate, leads to triple riptide spam
 
   
Made in ca
Mekboy on Kustom Deth Kopta




roll all of them, the test is the number of dice rolled.

 
   
Made in gb
Nurgle Veteran Marine with the Flu






Look at the rules for rerolling under the core rules section. It says pick the dice you wish to reroll except if you're making a 2D6 or 3D6 roll you have to reroll all of the dice.
   
Made in us
Auspicious Daemonic Herald





 Tonberry7 wrote:
Look at the rules for rerolling under the core rules section. It says pick the dice you wish to reroll except if you're making a 2D6 or 3D6 roll you have to reroll all of the dice.

Spell Familal says reroll the test, not reroll the dice.
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





 CrownAxe wrote:
 Tonberry7 wrote:
Look at the rules for rerolling under the core rules section. It says pick the dice you wish to reroll except if you're making a 2D6 or 3D6 roll you have to reroll all of the dice.

Spell Familal says reroll the test, not reroll the dice.

And the test is all the dice in the roll.

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in gb
Nurgle Veteran Marine with the Flu






rigeld2 wrote:
 CrownAxe wrote:
 Tonberry7 wrote:
Look at the rules for rerolling under the core rules section. It says pick the dice you wish to reroll except if you're making a 2D6 or 3D6 roll you have to reroll all of the dice.

Spell Familal says reroll the test, not reroll the dice.

And the test is all the dice in the roll.


So if you roll 4 or more dice, RAW you can pick which ones to re-roll. Non CSM players are bound to disagree but Spell Familars are now well worth taking.
   
Made in us
Auspicious Daemonic Herald





 Tonberry7 wrote:
rigeld2 wrote:
 CrownAxe wrote:
 Tonberry7 wrote:
Look at the rules for rerolling under the core rules section. It says pick the dice you wish to reroll except if you're making a 2D6 or 3D6 roll you have to reroll all of the dice.

Spell Familal says reroll the test, not reroll the dice.

And the test is all the dice in the roll.


So if you roll 4 or more dice, RAW you can pick which ones to re-roll. Non CSM players are bound to disagree but Spell Familars are now well worth taking.

No because a test is all the dice in the roll. So to reroll the test you have to reroll all the dice in the test
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





 Tonberry7 wrote:
rigeld2 wrote:
 CrownAxe wrote:
 Tonberry7 wrote:
Look at the rules for rerolling under the core rules section. It says pick the dice you wish to reroll except if you're making a 2D6 or 3D6 roll you have to reroll all of the dice.

Spell Familal says reroll the test, not reroll the dice.

And the test is all the dice in the roll.


So if you roll 4 or more dice, RAW you can pick which ones to re-roll. Non CSM players are bound to disagree but Spell Familars are now well worth taking.

What? How do you get that from my statement?
The test is all the dice in the roll. Not 3 or less.

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in au
Frenzied Berserker Terminator






Agreed with rigeld2, the Psychic Test is all of the dice in the roll, so a Spell Familiar would force you to re-roll all of the dice (not just the failures).

It's also worth mentioning that Spell Familiars can only be used on failed Psychic Tests, so you can't use one to re-roll a Perils result if it's still a pass.

That all said, it's still a great little piece of wargear, considering the added difficulty in passing a Psychic Test.
   
Made in gb
Nurgle Veteran Marine with the Flu






rigeld2 wrote:
 Tonberry7 wrote:
rigeld2 wrote:
 CrownAxe wrote:
 Tonberry7 wrote:
Look at the rules for rerolling under the core rules section. It says pick the dice you wish to reroll except if you're making a 2D6 or 3D6 roll you have to reroll all of the dice.

Spell Familal says reroll the test, not reroll the dice.

And the test is all the dice in the roll.


So if you roll 4 or more dice, RAW you can pick which ones to re-roll. Non CSM players are bound to disagree but Spell Familars are now well worth taking.

What? How do you get that from my statement?
The test is all the dice in the roll. Not 3 or less.


I get that from the rules for rerolling which are useful if you need to know how to reroll something. Alternatively you can just make up a rule that you have to reroll all the dice no matter how many dice are involved if that works better for you.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/06/29 08:08:02


 
   
Made in us
Ship's Officer





Reading, UK

 Tonberry7 wrote:

I get that from the rules for rerolling which are useful if you need to know how to reroll something. Alternatively you can just make up a rule that you have to reroll all the dice no matter how many dice are involved if that works better for you.
I can't quite tell if you're trying to be sarcastic or not, but I'm afraid you are the one who is misinterpreting the rules.

The rules are very clear that you cannot simply pick and choose the dice you want to re-roll when it comes to re-rolling a test. You must re-roll all of the dice (the same way as if it was a scattering blast). If you roll 4 dice and use a spell familiar, you re-roll 4 dice.

DoW

"War. War never changes." - Fallout

4000pts
3000pts
1000pts
2500pts 
   
Made in gb
Nurgle Veteran Marine with the Flu






 DogOfWar wrote:
The rules are very clear that you cannot simply pick and choose the dice you want to re-roll when it comes to re-rolling a test. You must re-roll all of the dice (the same way as if it was a scattering blast).


I understand your viewpoint and if you could point out some rules to back this up I'd be happy to concede.

Regarding your scattering blast example, they generally scatter 2D6 and the rules for rerolls specifically state that all dice in a 2D6 roll must be rerolled.
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut




 Tonberry7 wrote:
 DogOfWar wrote:
The rules are very clear that you cannot simply pick and choose the dice you want to re-roll when it comes to re-rolling a test. You must re-roll all of the dice (the same way as if it was a scattering blast).


I understand your viewpoint and if you could point out some rules to back this up I'd be happy to concede.

Regarding your scattering blast example, they generally scatter 2D6 and the rules for rerolls specifically state that all dice in a 2D6 roll must be rerolled.



Rerolls.


If you re-roll a 2D6 or 3D6 roll, you must re-roll all of the dice, not just some of them, unless the rules specify otherwise. Any modifiers that applied to the first roll also apply to the re-roll.


Care to cite the rule from the reroll section that lets you only reroll one in the Psy Test ?
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





 Tonberry7 wrote:
rigeld2 wrote:
 Tonberry7 wrote:
rigeld2 wrote:
 CrownAxe wrote:
 Tonberry7 wrote:
Look at the rules for rerolling under the core rules section. It says pick the dice you wish to reroll except if you're making a 2D6 or 3D6 roll you have to reroll all of the dice.

Spell Familal says reroll the test, not reroll the dice.

And the test is all the dice in the roll.


So if you roll 4 or more dice, RAW you can pick which ones to re-roll. Non CSM players are bound to disagree but Spell Familars are now well worth taking.

What? How do you get that from my statement?
The test is all the dice in the roll. Not 3 or less.


I get that from the rules for rerolling which are useful if you need to know how to reroll something. Alternatively you can just make up a rule that you have to reroll all the dice no matter how many dice are involved if that works better for you.

I assume you're getting that from the directives on how to deal with 2d6 and 3d6 rolls, but no "etc" or "more"?
Cite permission to reroll more than a 3d6 roll.

Are you stating that all the dice involved are not a single test? Because the Spell Familiar allows you to reroll a test, not individual dice within a test.

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in us
Fixture of Dakka



Chicago, Illinois

 Tonberry7 wrote:
 DogOfWar wrote:
The rules are very clear that you cannot simply pick and choose the dice you want to re-roll when it comes to re-rolling a test. You must re-roll all of the dice (the same way as if it was a scattering blast).


I understand your viewpoint and if you could point out some rules to back this up I'd be happy to concede.

Regarding your scattering blast example, they generally scatter 2D6 and the rules for rerolls specifically state that all dice in a 2D6 roll must be rerolled.



This is a false dichotomy argument, but anyway here is why you are wrong and the specific rules reason why you are.

Yeah, you reroll all the dice of the psychic test. All the dice in the Psychic Test, not the ones you specifically fail. There's no RAW in order to reroll just your failures as individual failures are not in fact "Psychic tests" but in fact failure to harness warp charge.


Spell Familiar
May Reroll Failed Psychic Tests



Psychic Test
Take Psychic Test

To make a Psychic test, you will first need to expend a number of Warp Charge points; declare how many points you are spending and remove them from your pool. Then, roll a number of D6 equal to the number of Warp Charge points you have expended.

For each individual result of 4+, the Psyker has successfully harnessed one Warp Charge point. If the total number of harnessed Warp Charge points is greater than or equal to the Warp Charge cost stated in the psychic power’s description, the Psychic test is successful. Otherwise, the Psychic test has failed and the power does not manifest.



Individual dice rolls are not in fact "failures", they are "failures atharnessing Warp Charge", with in the game mechanics of Psychic tests. He has not failed a psychic test with in the psychic test rules , he has failed to harness Warp Charge Points


Spell familiar only lets you reroll failed Psychic Tests , not failure of harnessing warp charge dice rolls.

This message was edited 5 times. Last update was at 2014/06/29 14:42:11


If I lose it is because I had bad luck, if you win it is because you cheated. 
   
Made in gb
Nurgle Veteran Marine with the Flu






Hollismason wrote:
 Tonberry7 wrote:
 DogOfWar wrote:
The rules are very clear that you cannot simply pick and choose the dice you want to re-roll when it comes to re-rolling a test. You must re-roll all of the dice (the same way as if it was a scattering blast).


I understand your viewpoint and if you could point out some rules to back this up I'd be happy to concede.

Regarding your scattering blast example, they generally scatter 2D6 and the rules for rerolls specifically state that all dice in a 2D6 roll must be rerolled.



This is a false dichotomy argument, but anyway here is why you are wrong and the specific rules reason why you are.

Yeah, you reroll all the dice of the psychic test. All the dice in the Psychic Test, not the ones you specifically fail. There's no RAW in order to reroll just your failures as individual failures are not in fact "Psychic tests" but in fact failure to harness warp charge.


Spell Familiar
May Reroll Failed Psychic Tests



Psychic Test
Take Psychic Test

To make a Psychic test, you will first need to expend a number of Warp Charge points; declare how many points you are spending and remove them from your pool. Then, roll a number of D6 equal to the number of Warp Charge points you have expended.

For each individual result of 4+, the Psyker has successfully harnessed one Warp Charge point. If the total number of harnessed Warp Charge points is greater than or equal to the Warp Charge cost stated in the psychic power’s description, the Psychic test is successful. Otherwise, the Psychic test has failed and the power does not manifest.



Individual dice rolls are not in fact "failures", they are "failures atharnessing Warp Charge", with in the game mechanics of Psychic tests. He has not failed a psychic test with in the psychic test rules , he has failed to harness Warp Charge Points


Spell familiar only lets you reroll failed Psychic Tests , not failure of harnessing warp charge dice rolls.


I can see what you are trying to say but I don't think you have interpreted the mechanics correctly. The individual rolls still comprise the psychic test and the reroll rules allow you to reroll failures.

As an aside, are you also of the opinion that a GK model with reinforced aegis has to reroll all the dice after failing a DtW roll? By your reasoning failed DtW rolls are actually failed rolls to nullify harnesssed warp charge points and the DtW test is either passed or failed as a whole.
   
Made in us
Screaming Shining Spear





You have permission to re-roll the test. Not part of the test. The whole test. Pretty simple.

4000 points: Craftworld Mymeara 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: