Switch Theme:

Percision shots and re rolls  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





Hi guys, this came up in a game yesterday at another table and I left before I heard it resolved. The argument stemmed from a guy who had the precision shots special rule rolled a successful hit, however then proceeded to claim that he could re roll the dice to try and get a precision shot because it was a different kind of shot and therefore he could try and save the character that you wanted to. As far as I'm aware if you roll a hit you cannot re roll it, is that not correct?

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/07/12 13:58:23


19th Krieg Siege Army 7500pts.
40k/HH Night Lords 5000pts.
Orks Waaaghmacht Spearhead 2500pts.
 
   
Made in gb
Fixture of Dakka




I'd say so yes.

tremere47-fear leads to anger, anger leads to hate, hate, leads to triple riptide spam  
   
Made in us
Never Forget Isstvan!






I cant think of any methods of Twin linked or rerolls to hit that allow you to reroll the dice when you successfully hit the first time except for the case of scatter rolls.

JOIN MY CRUSADE and gain 4000 RT points!
http://www.eternalcrusade.com/account/sign-up/?ref_code=EC-PLCIKYCABW8PG 
   
Made in gb
Executing Exarch






It depends on the rule giving the re-roll.

Prescience, for example, only allows re-rolls on "failed To Hit rolls." Shooting with BS>6 only allows re-rolls on a "1" To Hit. etc.

Which rule specifically was he using?
   
Made in us
Fate-Controlling Farseer





Fort Campbell

Eldar Guide allows you to reroll any to hit roll. So I'd say if the unit was guided, then they could do that, as an example.

Full Frontal Nerdity 
   
Made in nl
Confessor Of Sins






Guide only works on failed rolls too. You're confused with the previous codex.

Cratfworld Alaitoc (Gallery)
Order of the Red Mantle (Gallery)
Grand (little) Army of Chaos, now painting! (Blog
   
Made in us
Fate-Controlling Farseer





Fort Campbell

 Shandara wrote:
Guide only works on failed rolls too. You're confused with the previous codex.


The book has two seperate entries for it. One says failed to hit rolls, one says all rolls. I guess the more conservative one is the best to go with.

Full Frontal Nerdity 
   
Made in us
Lieutenant General





Florence, KY

 djones520 wrote:
 Shandara wrote:
Guide only works on failed rolls too. You're confused with the previous codex.


The book has two seperate entries for it. One says failed to hit rolls, one says all rolls. I guess the more conservative one is the best to go with.

The one that just says 'rolls' is in the reference section of the book. The actual rule always takes precedence over the reference.

'It is a source of constant consternation that my opponents
cannot correlate their innate inferiority with their inevitable
defeat. It would seem that stupidity is as eternal as war.'

- Nemesor Zahndrekh of the Sautekh Dynasty
Overlord of the Crownworld of Gidrim
 
   
Made in nl
Confessor Of Sins






Hmm, the psychic cards I have say 'failed rolls'.. bad QC I guess?

Cratfworld Alaitoc (Gallery)
Order of the Red Mantle (Gallery)
Grand (little) Army of Chaos, now painting! (Blog
   
Made in gb
Roarin' Runtherd




Neath, UK

yeah most rolls state "may re-roll any failed [...] rolls"

so I think as a universal rule a re-roll is only valid against failed rolls - unless it's a re-roll on a table.

Gashrakk Da Flash's Split Grin Bad Moon Orks - 1,850 pts
Ghazghkull's Waaagh - 6000pts 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: