Switch Theme:

Cover question, when can you claim  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in gb
Longtime Dakkanaut





Would the Riot Grrl on the right be able to claim cover, being in base contact with the scenery, while the one on the left would not when being shot back?


hello 
   
Made in au
Anti-Armour Swiss Guard






Newcastle, OZ

Elevated ONLY grants cover if ALSO prone. So no cover.

If the model was prone, however, NO LoF would be granted because of TOTAL cover.

At least, that's what the pictures say for 2nd ed.

I'm OVER 50 (and so far over everyone's BS, too).
Old enough to know better, young enough to not give a ****.

That is not dead which can eternal lie ...

... and yet, with strange aeons, even death may die.
 
   
Made in gb
Longtime Dakkanaut





 chromedog wrote:
Elevated ONLY grants cover if ALSO prone. So no cover.

If the model was prone, however, NO LoF would be granted because of TOTAL cover.

At least, that's what the pictures say for 2nd ed.

I saw that on the wiki, but are there any rules that actually separate being elevated? (I think the diagram isn't from any of the rulebooks, all of the ones in it look like overhead diagrams)

From the rulebook, I think the mention about the prone model is that if the base can see the enemy, the enemy can see the entire height of the base/model (which would mean it is not obscured so wouldn't benefit from cover) so it needed an exception to treat the prone model as partially obscured. Is there any reason why it would apply over-head (or in two dimensions) and wouldn't vertically (three dimensions)? Was it something lost in the translation?

(overhead diagram)


hello 
   
Made in nz
Camouflaged Zero





Auckland, New Zealand

The base contact to gain cover isn't related to cover from elevation. If there was a raised ledge on the top of the building then ofc the model could move into btb with that, not be prone and have cover. However on platforms without those, the only way to have cover is to be prone.

The situation you've described is analogous to having 2 models on a level surface with a fence in between them. If both aren't in btb contact with it, its simply a fence in between them that doesn't effect the shot. If the elevated situation described was true, then the lower model could also get cover from a higher models shot by being closer to the buildings wall and in base contact with the ground such that the higher model can only see half of the lower model.

http://infinitythegame.wikispot.org/Cover
At the bottom of the above link is a graphic explaining elevated cover instances.

There is a certain extent how much higher the elevated model must be in order to gain cover from being prone. This is normally just greater than the head height of the miniature shooting so about +1" for 'humans' and roughly +2" for tags and dog warriors etc. This can be a bit difficult to ascertain for long distance shots though :/

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/08/02 15:22:31


If your attack is going too well, you have walked into an ambush

The easy way is always mined

 
   
Made in gb
Longtime Dakkanaut





That's the one I saw, and I think it is not interpreting the rulebook correctly both from taking the rules literally and in the sense of visualisation and what is happening.

I mean, also by what measure is something in base contact with the scenery? I don't see any mention in the rules.

In my two diagrams, the 'cover' is equivalent for both, as is the blocking and contact with the scenery. Why does it magically not count when looking vertically as opposed to horizontally? (considering blasts are considered three dimensional, aren't they?)

The thing about prone models seems like a caveat/exception, as you couldn't get cover from the ledge from a prone model normally without it.

Importantly, where in the rules does it make this distinction? I'm couldn't find anything similar to the what's in the wiki in the rulebook. Is it something added later in HS or from the original version and didn't get translated?

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/08/02 16:43:55


hello 
   
Made in nz
Camouflaged Zero





Auckland, New Zealand

The wiki additions are rule clarifications from threads that had a bit of conflict or ambiguity over how the rules worked. There's a thread over in the official forums somewhere that went over it quite a bit.

Whilst physically in base contact, btb generally refers to having the edge of your base touching a vertical scenery element like walls or barrels as in your second diagram. I don't know of any games that explicitly state this, but it's how its mostly interpreted. I haven't seen it done differently in infinity before.

With regards to templates its a bit different. For DTWs there can be shadow zones within the template in situations like this that it cannot reach, but they just correspond to LOS. So if you're higher and prone, a chain rifle grunt can't hit you if he cannot see your base, like normal. Blasts are different again in that the initial target the template is centred on gains cover as usual, but cover for other models in the template is determined by drawing LOS from the target, not the firer.

Either way what's on the wiki is credible enough to be taken as official.

If your attack is going too well, you have walked into an ambush

The easy way is always mined

 
   
Made in us
Zealous Sin-Eater



Chico, CA

You must be in base contact, not standing on the scenery. If you in the open on the ground it would be the same even if you could only see their head, and that is seeing far less then here.

Peter: As we all know, Christmas is that mystical time of year when the ghost of Jesus rises from the grave to feast on the flesh of the living! So we all sing Christmas Carols to lull him back to sleep.
Bob: Outrageous, How dare he say such blasphemy. I've got to do something.
Man #1: Bob, there's nothing you can do.
Bob: Well, I guess I'll just have to develop a sense of humor.  
   
Made in us
Martial Arts Fiday






Nashville, TN

I personally hate this rule. I really hope 3rd has a better way of determining cover. I cannot recall how many times a model could see a very small sliver go the target but it got no cover because it was 1/4" off of a terrain piece.

"Holy Sh*&, you've opened my eyes and changed my mind about this topic, thanks Dakka OT!"

-Nobody Ever

Proverbs 18:2

"CHEESE!" is the battlecry of the ill-prepared.

 warboss wrote:

GW didn't mean to hit your wallet and I know they love you, baby. I'm sure they won't do it again so it's ok to purchase and make up.


Albatross wrote:I think SlaveToDorkness just became my new hero.

EmilCrane wrote:Finecast is the new Matt Ward.

Don't mess with the Blade and Bolter! 
   
 
Forum Index » Corvus Belli (Infinity)
Go to: