Switch Theme:

Challenges: one vs. many  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Grey Knight Purgator firing around corners



Ohio

If my Dreadknight is assaulted by a squad whose sergeant is wielding a power fist, and I declare a challenge to make sure my Dreadknight's attacks are allocated to the sergeant first, can the rest of his unit attack my Dreadknight on that first turn of the challenge, or do they have to wait until the second round to attack him? The rules seem ambiguous to me.
   
Made in ca
Fixture of Dakka




Vanished Completely

They attack like normal, allocating Wounds to the Dreadknight as it is the closest Model in Base to Base contact to their Unit.
In 6th Edition there where a few Rule interactions which ensured that Models in a Challenge never could be allocated Wounds from models outside of the Challenge, but they are no longer present in 7th.

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2014/08/04 20:27:52


8th made it so I can no longer sway Tau onto the side of Chaos, but they will eventually turn aside from their idea of the Greater Good to embrace the Greatest of pleasures.  
   
Made in nl
Regular Dakkanaut




Netherlands

I dunno JinxDragon. The rulebook states:

"Whilst the challenge is ongoing, other models locked in the combat can only allocate Wounds to the models involved in the challenge after all other enemy models that are locked in that combat (if any) have been removed as casualties, even if the models fighting in the challenge are the closest models."

In order to allocate Wounds one must have been able to make wounds at first. Note that this rule clearly does not include anything about To Hit or attack and that the Assault Phase bit has Allocating Wounds after hits are made.
   
Made in us
Annoyed Blood Angel Devastator



Thornton Colorado

Well First of all your dreadnought cannot issue or be issued a challenge unless it is a characte. But to answer your question no they will not be able to attack your dreadnought.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/08/04 21:10:47


10000
1250
Check out my Blog for local events and other 40K things
http://lightofterra.blogspot.com
 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




Yes, allocating is after you have rolled to hit etc. I am in base with a unit, I can attack it - nothing in the challenge rules prevents this, so the general allowance to attack remains

Oh, and where are you seeing that the dreadknight is a character?
   
Made in nl
Regular Dakkanaut




Netherlands

nosferatu1001 wrote:
Yes, allocating is after you have rolled to hit etc. I am in base with a unit, I can attack it - nothing in the challenge rules prevents this, so the general allowance to attack remains.


Well I'll be damned. You know I read over that part completely expecting it to be pretty much the same but that is a welcome change.
   
Made in ca
Fixture of Dakka




Vanished Completely

I am a little confused when you state:
In order to allocate Wounds one must have been able to make wounds at first.

Wounds are generated during the To Wound step in the sequence, which occurs before we get to the instructions telling us how to Allocate said Wounds. There is no permission to go back a step in the sequence in order to undo the Step completely, even if there was an issue with the final resolution, so the Wounds will be generated regardless and they must be Allocated. This is also why there are numerous Rules which exist to do nothing more then 'empty the Wound pool' in situations where there are no longer valid Models to Allocate a Wound to.

In any case, notice how it has that (if any) there.
If there are no other Models in the combat, the does this clause even trigger?


Sorry for the slow response time, work and all that.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/08/04 21:54:38


8th made it so I can no longer sway Tau onto the side of Chaos, but they will eventually turn aside from their idea of the Greater Good to embrace the Greatest of pleasures.  
   
Made in nl
Regular Dakkanaut




Netherlands

JinxDragon wrote:
I am a little confused when you state:
In order to allocate Wounds one must have been able to make wounds at first.

Wounds are generated during the To Wound step in the sequence, which occurs before we get to the instructions telling us how to Allocate said Wounds. There is no permission to go back a step in the sequence in order to undo the Step completely, even if there was an issue with the final resolution, so the Wounds will be generated regardless and they must be Allocated. This is also why there are numerous Rules which exist to do nothing more then 'empty the Wound pool' in situations where there are no longer valid Models to Allocate a Wound to.

In any case, notice how it has that (if any) there.
If there are no other Models in the combat, the does this clause even trigger?


Sorry for the slow response time, work and all that.


No you get me wrong. In the previous edition the rules of challenges specifically said that the two challengers were in combat with just the two of them. This would result in the "there can be no wound allocation, since no wounds can be generated from attacking the challenger". This edition changed those rules by removing the above rule and thus does not prevent outsiders attacking the challenges once all other combatants have been slain. Thus, I agree with nosferatu1001 that you can attack lone challengers with a squad.
   
Made in ca
Fixture of Dakka




Vanished Completely

Hence the sorry for the slow response, your conversation with nosferatu1001 was unseen when I typed that up.

8th made it so I can no longer sway Tau onto the side of Chaos, but they will eventually turn aside from their idea of the Greater Good to embrace the Greatest of pleasures.  
   
Made in us
Grey Knight Purgator firing around corners



Ohio

I'm not sure we're all on the same page. My question was in regards to the following rules:

"Whilst the challenge is ongoing, other models locked in the combat can only allocate Wounds to the models involved in the challenge after all other enemy models that are locked in that combat (if any) have been removed as casualties, even if the models fighting in a challenge are the closest models" (CR103)

The reference to the Dreadknight (not Dreadnought) was an attempt at an illustration for the question. 6th Edition made it a Character, and I assumed it still was one in 7th, though I haven't found the rule yet.

To illustrate it another way. If I had Draigo attached to a squad of Purifiers and assaulted a lone character wielding an AP3 weapon, and I declared a challenge with Draigo to absorb all the opponents attacks, would the Purifiers be allowed to attack that lone character in the first round of combat because there are no opposing forces outside the challenge in that close combat?

I think so, but I was hoping that if there were a rule preventing this, that someone would post the page number so I would know for my next game.
   
Made in au
[MOD]
Making Stuff






Under the couch

Yes, if there is nobody else for them to attack, they will attack the lone character.

 
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut




All characters who are 'engaged' with the opponent get to make attacks. 'Engaged' is defined as in base to base, or within 2" of a model that is in base to base. Nothing about challenges changes this fact. Therefor all models will get to attack, and since there are no models outside the challenge to soak up wounds first, all the successful wounds from those attacks will be allocated to the lone challenging character.
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut




Hate to bring back something that is kinda old. But I have a question concerning challenges aswell....

the scenerio is this:

A fight consists of a Hive Tyrant locked in a challenge with a Ork Warboss, while 6 termagaunts are also in the same fight, fighting with 8 Warbikers.

When the Warbikers swing off, they inflict 11 wounds to the Termagaunts, killing all 6 and leaving 5 wounds in the wound pool.

Does the Hive Tyrant then take these wounds? even though they were inflicted swiging away on toughness 3 models and not toughness 6?
   
Made in ca
Fixture of Dakka




Vanished Completely

Correct,
The Rule cares not which Toughness the Wounds where tested against, any remaining Wounds are Allocated to the only Model left in combat.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/08/15 16:34:25


8th made it so I can no longer sway Tau onto the side of Chaos, but they will eventually turn aside from their idea of the Greater Good to embrace the Greatest of pleasures.  
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut




that makes me sad, think they need to fix this.
   
Made in us
Never Forget Isstvan!






actually, in the above situation the wounds would not go to the tyrant. Tyrants are not IC's and are thus not attatched to the gaunts. They are a seperate unit completely, and thus attacks and wounds allocated to them cannot carry over to the tyrant.

JOIN MY CRUSADE and gain 4000 RT points!
http://www.eternalcrusade.com/account/sign-up/?ref_code=EC-PLCIKYCABW8PG 
   
Made in ca
Fixture of Dakka




Vanished Completely

Eihnlazer,
Good catch, thought it was one of those 'joined at the start of the game' things that the Nid's do.

8th made it so I can no longer sway Tau onto the side of Chaos, but they will eventually turn aside from their idea of the Greater Good to embrace the Greatest of pleasures.  
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: