Switch Theme:

Legion of the Damned in Drop Pods?  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in ca
Fixture of Dakka




Vanished Completely

Johnnytorrance,
What Rule states that the Drop Pod and Legion of the Damned are one Unit?

8th made it so I can no longer sway Tau onto the side of Chaos, but they will eventually turn aside from their idea of the Greater Good to embrace the Greatest of pleasures.  
   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

Arriving by Deep Strike is sometimes called Deep Strike Reserve Correct?

LoTD are in Deep Strike Reserve when embarked on a Drop Pod Correct?
Deployment:
Pg 74 Codex Space Wolves:
"Drop Pods and units embarked upon them must be held in Deep Strike Reserves"

Conclusion:
LotD are Arriving by Deep Strike if they are embarked in a pod.

"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
Made in ca
Fixture of Dakka




Vanished Completely

DeathReaper,
So you plan to place one of the Models and Scatter like required in the Deep Strike Rules?

8th made it so I can no longer sway Tau onto the side of Chaos, but they will eventually turn aside from their idea of the Greater Good to embrace the Greatest of pleasures.  
   
Made in us
Never Forget Isstvan!






There is no question that "if" you could stick the legion of the damned in a drop pod, they would still count as being in deep strike reserve.

The problem is, they absolutely must arrive using deep strike as per their special rule. They cant be inside a pod, because then they themselves would not be deep striking (re-rollable scatter roll included).


Units in a pod are in deep strike reserve, and are disembarking from a deep striking transport, but they themselves are not doing any deep striking. They never place a model on the table nor roll scatter.

JOIN MY CRUSADE and gain 4000 RT points!
http://www.eternalcrusade.com/account/sign-up/?ref_code=EC-PLCIKYCABW8PG 
   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

JinxDragon wrote:
DeathReaper,
So you plan to place one of the Models and Scatter like required in the Deep Strike Rules?

If the rules for being embarked didn't over ride those rules, yes...

"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




 DeathReaper wrote:
JinxDragon wrote:
DeathReaper,
So you plan to place one of the Models and Scatter like required in the Deep Strike Rules?

If the rules for being embarked didn't over ride those rules, yes...

Where do they specifically state that you dont have to place the model?

Something like "instead of placing one model, ...."

Page and graph, specific rules please.

As to your hypotheticals - no, arriving by DS is not equal to DSR. To arrive by DS you do not HAVE to be in DSR (ref: GoI, VoD, Skies of Blood) initially.
   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

nosferatu1001 wrote:
 DeathReaper wrote:
JinxDragon wrote:
DeathReaper,
So you plan to place one of the Models and Scatter like required in the Deep Strike Rules?

If the rules for being embarked didn't over ride those rules, yes...

Where do they specifically state that you dont have to place the model?

Something like "instead of placing one model, ...."

Page and graph, specific rules please.

As to your hypotheticals - no, arriving by DS is not equal to DSR. To arrive by DS you do not HAVE to be in DSR (ref: GoI, VoD, Skies of Blood) initially.


Being embarked and having no permission to disembark and place the initial model.

Also Arriving by DS is equal to DSR...

"When placing the unit in Reserve, you must tell your opponent that it will be arriving by Deep Strike (sometimes called Deep Strike Reserve)" (Special Rules chapter, Deep Strike section).

Arriving by Deep Strike = Deep Strike Reserve.

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2014/09/05 07:27:48


"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




So no specific rule overriding the requirement then?

You dont have to disembark - remember it is a rule to place a model where you want the unit to arrive.

If you say that s overridden, then you havent also scattered the unit - just the pod. And so on.

You cannot complete ANY DS rule.

So a one way dependence is now two way? Arriving by DS -> DSR. NOT DSR = Arriving by DS, otherwise you have the excluded middle fallacy.
   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

Does not need a specific rule overriding the requirement, the unit is embarked, it can not be placed where you want the unit to arrive as it is embarked.

arriving by Deep Strike is called Deep Strike reserve.

The rules equate the two terms.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/09/05 07:40:55


"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




Ah, so specific vs general doesnt work here?

The unit hasnt arrived by DS, as it has failed to comply with any of the arrival via DS rules, and you have no specific rule stating it is exempt

Your "cant comply" only works if you try to claim it has arrived by DS. Its a tautology.
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





Oceanic

No where in the rules for LOTD does it say they have to arrive by deep strike. RAW doesn't state that. RAW says some units have to arrive by deep strike.

https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCiJ5Xnv1ClgVcGmmb-zQBlw

Perils of the Wallet - YouTube Channel 
   
Made in us
Never Forget Isstvan!






Johnnytorrance wrote:
No where in the rules for LOTD does it say they have to arrive by deep strike. RAW doesn't state that. RAW says some units have to arrive by deep strike.



Where are you pulling this flat lie from?


The "aid unlooked for" special rule that all LotD possess says they must all be placed in and enter the field from deep strike reserve.

JOIN MY CRUSADE and gain 4000 RT points!
http://www.eternalcrusade.com/account/sign-up/?ref_code=EC-PLCIKYCABW8PG 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





aid unlooked for states

they always start the game in reserve and always arrive by deepstrike


deep strike states

Some units must arrive by Deep Strike. They always begin the game in reserve and always arrive by Deep Strike.

Arriving by Deep Strike
Roll for the arrival of all deep striking units as specified in the rules for Reserves and then deploy them as follows: First, place one model from the unit anywhere on the table, in the position where you would like it to arrive,


from the section on reserves

When a Reserves unit arrives, it must move fully onto the table from the controlling player’s own table edge (maps and diagrams illustrate table edges for the different deployment methods). Models that are arriving by Deep Strike or Outflank deploy using their special rules.



so.

the LOTD always start the game in reserve, and always arrive by deepstrike.

so we put them in reserves, check rules for reserves.

they arrive when they arrive, so it must arrive by deepstrike. the reserves rule tells us to deploy as per the rules in deepstrike.

when we look under "arriving by deepstrike" we see there is the wording "deploy them as follows first place one model.."

failure to follow this sequence means they have not arrived by deepstrike.

so no, you cannot put LoTD into an allied drop pod, because they do not "deploy as per deep strike" which as stated under reserves is how they must deploy if they arriving by deepstrike. as LoTD ALWAYS arrive by deepstrike, they must ALWAYS do this. if they are in a drop pod they are not doing this.

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2014/09/05 14:27:13


 
   
Made in us
Dakka Veteran




Anacortes

Plus how did they embark on the drop pod from the
Space wolves when the LOD are coming in from the warp and the pods not in the warp.

If they where meant to have a choice it would be in their options to take a drop pod. 8 pages of trying to convince people your right isn't a grey area. It's just silly, and shame shame shame.

In a dog eat dog be a cat. 
   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

Lungpickle wrote:
Plus how did they embark on the drop pod from the
Space wolves when the LOD are coming in from the warp and the pods not in the warp.

You realize that is just fluff and not actual rules right?

"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





Oceanic

Eihnlazer wrote:
Johnnytorrance wrote:
No where in the rules for LOTD does it say they have to arrive by deep strike. RAW doesn't state that. RAW says some units have to arrive by deep strike.



Where are you pulling this flat lie from?


The "aid unlooked for" special rule that all LotD possess says they must all be placed in and enter the field from deep strike reserve.


I'm not lying, this is the rule for Aid Unlooked for:

Aid Unlooked For:
In order for a unit to be able to Deep Strike, all models in the unit must have the Deep Strike special rule and must start the game in reserve. When placing the unit in reserves, you must tell your opponent that it is arriving by Deep Strike (sometimes called Deep Strike Reserve). Some units must arrive by deep strike. They always start the game in reserve and always
arrive by Deep Strike.

"Some units must arrive by deep strike" "they always start in reserves and must arrive by deep strike" it literally doesn't say LOTD has to arrive by deep strike.
So I concede it's rule as intended. But rule as written...no

By the way, I'm going off of the Aid Unlooked for rule in their codex, not the Space Marine Codex.

The LOTD Codex has a different Aid Unlooked for special rule and in it they lost the ability to re-roll scatter

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/09/06 12:54:45


https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCiJ5Xnv1ClgVcGmmb-zQBlw

Perils of the Wallet - YouTube Channel 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





Oceanic

Can't figure out how to add a spoiler for the photo

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2014/09/06 13:08:09


https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCiJ5Xnv1ClgVcGmmb-zQBlw

Perils of the Wallet - YouTube Channel 
   
Made in us
Been Around the Block




nosferatu1001 wrote:
Conclusion: you have failed, despite repeated requests to do so, to show actual, written rules that state what you claim and every argument has been rebutted.


NOOOOO I HAVE FAILED IN NOSFERATU'S EYES!!!!!

pg 135:
"Similarily you must specify if any units in Reserve are embarked upon any Transport Vehicles in Reserve in which case they will arrive together."

Did the Drop Pod arrive by deep strike? YES
Do the Pod and Embark Unit arrive TOGETHER? YES
Then they ARRIVE BY DS TOGETHER.


This is RAW
   
Made in us
Powerful Phoenix Lord





Buffalo, NY

Except they did not arrive by deep strike, they arrived by deep striking transport.

Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




xAndurilx wrote:
nosferatu1001 wrote:
Conclusion: you have failed, despite repeated requests to do so, to show actual, written rules that state what you claim and every argument has been rebutted.


NOOOOO I HAVE FAILED IN NOSFERATU'S EYES!!!!!

pg 135:
"Similarily you must specify if any units in Reserve are embarked upon any Transport Vehicles in Reserve in which case they will arrive together."

Did the Drop Pod arrive by deep strike? YES
Do the Pod and Embark Unit arrive TOGETHER? YES
Then they ARRIVE BY DS TOGETHER.


This is RAW


Cool. So you think a unit embarked on a flyer can arrive zooming?

Arriving together does not mean you have arrived by the same method. This is actual language....
   
Made in ru
Been Around the Block





 DeathReaper wrote:
*snip*
Also Arriving by DS is equal to DSR...

"When placing the unit in Reserve, you must tell your opponent that it will be arriving by Deep Strike (sometimes called Deep Strike Reserve)" (Special Rules chapter, Deep Strike section).

Arriving by Deep Strike = Deep Strike Reserve.

That passage only says what you should do if you are going to use Deep Strike. It does not mean that whenever you do those actions it's about Deep Striking.

Logical fallacy.
"X happens if Y" doesn't mean "X only happens when Y".

I claim it on the basis that you're looking at paragraph that is specifically dedicated to explaining how to play Deep Strike. Whatever is written there may or may not be exclusive to deep striking.

Also I would like someone to confirm that "Deep Strike Reserve" is actual game term that is defined, used or referenced in the rulebook.

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2014/09/09 11:03:53


 
   
Made in gb
Confessor Of Sins





Newton Aycliffe

I was about to confirm "Deep Strike Reserve" for you but had a scrutiny reading of the Reserves and Deep strike, and the only reference is above (sometimes called Deep Strike Reserve).

So only "tell your opponent that it will be arriving by Deep Strike" is RaW, and kind of solves the entire debate in another way:
Can the unit Deep Strike? Yes/No
If Yes, declare upon Reserves.
Unit Deep Strikes.

Clearly, embarked passengers may not have the Deep Strike rule, and if they do, they are not Deep Striking (folowing placement rules) only their transport is.

DA:80-S+G+M+B++I-Pw40k01++D+++A+++WD100R++T(T)DM+
Roronoa Zoro wrote:When the world shoves you around, you just gotta stand up and shove back. It's not like somebody's gonna save you if you start babbling excuses. - Bring on the hardship. It's preferred in a path of carnage.
Manchu wrote:
It's like you take a Space Marine and say "what could make him cooler?" Instead of adding more super-genetic-psycho-organic modification, you take it all away. You have a regular human left in power armor and all the armies of hell at the gates. And she doesn't even flinch. Pure. Badass. 
   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

The embarked unit is in Deep Strike Reserve, and as such will be arriving by Deep Strike, because arriving by Deep Strike is sometimes called Deep Strike Reserve.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/09/09 15:43:53


"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
Made in gb
Confessor Of Sins





Newton Aycliffe

The embarked unit is not in Deep Strike Reserve because it is not Deep Striking.
You cannot declare to your opponent it is Deep Striking.
You cannot declare it is Deep Striking if it does not have the Deep Strike Rule.
You cannot Deep Strike the Unit because it is embarked.

You can declare to your opponent the vehicle (transport) is Deep Striking.
You can declare it is Deep Striking because it has the Deep Strike Rule.

Also, the rule quote is " it will be arriving by Deep Strike (sometimes called Deep Strike Reserve)".
"Sometimes" is not a quantifiable RaW rule. Because i could tell you that i have no idea and never heard the term "Deep Strike Reserve" and still follow RaW perfectly. This would be because the term "Deep Strike Reserve" is sometimes non-existent (by RaW)

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2014/09/10 09:27:26


DA:80-S+G+M+B++I-Pw40k01++D+++A+++WD100R++T(T)DM+
Roronoa Zoro wrote:When the world shoves you around, you just gotta stand up and shove back. It's not like somebody's gonna save you if you start babbling excuses. - Bring on the hardship. It's preferred in a path of carnage.
Manchu wrote:
It's like you take a Space Marine and say "what could make him cooler?" Instead of adding more super-genetic-psycho-organic modification, you take it all away. You have a regular human left in power armor and all the armies of hell at the gates. And she doesn't even flinch. Pure. Badass. 
   
Made in us
Powerful Phoenix Lord





Buffalo, NY

 BlackTalos wrote:
The embarked unit is not in Deep Strike Reserve because it is not Deep Striking.



Except the rules for Drop Pods clearly state the embarked unit is in Deep Strike Reserves. It is because of this Grey Knights from the Strike Force can still benefit from one of their Command Traits when arriving via SW Drop Pod.

Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia 
   
Made in gb
Confessor Of Sins





Newton Aycliffe

 Happyjew wrote:
 BlackTalos wrote:
The embarked unit is not in Deep Strike Reserve because it is not Deep Striking.



Except the rules for Drop Pods clearly state the embarked unit is in Deep Strike Reserves. It is because of this Grey Knights from the Strike Force can still benefit from one of their Command Traits when arriving via SW Drop Pod.


This rule: Pg 74 Codex Space Wolves:
"Dop Pods and units embarked upon them must be held in Deep Strike Reserves".

However as Barrogh pointed out, "Deep Strike Reserves" is not actually defined in a Rulebook. It is a term sometimes used by players. As i pointed out, i can simply ignore it by stating "i'm not part of the sometimes"

The only existing RaW for Deep Strike is that "you must tell your opponent that it will be arriving by Deep Strike"
Can you tell your opponent that the Unit is arriving by Deep Strike when it is embarked?

DA:80-S+G+M+B++I-Pw40k01++D+++A+++WD100R++T(T)DM+
Roronoa Zoro wrote:When the world shoves you around, you just gotta stand up and shove back. It's not like somebody's gonna save you if you start babbling excuses. - Bring on the hardship. It's preferred in a path of carnage.
Manchu wrote:
It's like you take a Space Marine and say "what could make him cooler?" Instead of adding more super-genetic-psycho-organic modification, you take it all away. You have a regular human left in power armor and all the armies of hell at the gates. And she doesn't even flinch. Pure. Badass. 
   
Made in us
Powerful Phoenix Lord





Buffalo, NY

 BlackTalos wrote:
 Happyjew wrote:
 BlackTalos wrote:
The embarked unit is not in Deep Strike Reserve because it is not Deep Striking.



Except the rules for Drop Pods clearly state the embarked unit is in Deep Strike Reserves. It is because of this Grey Knights from the Strike Force can still benefit from one of their Command Traits when arriving via SW Drop Pod.


This rule: Pg 74 Codex Space Wolves:
"Dop Pods and units embarked upon them must be held in Deep Strike Reserves".

However as Barrogh pointed out, "Deep Strike Reserves" is not actually defined in a Rulebook. It is a term sometimes used by players. As i pointed out, i can simply ignore it by stating "i'm not part of the sometimes"

The only existing RaW for Deep Strike is that "you must tell your opponent that it will be arriving by Deep Strike"
Can you tell your opponent that the Unit is arriving by Deep Strike when it is embarked?


Your claim was that the unit was not in Deep Strike Reserves. I pointed out that you were in error as the rules specifically state they are in Deep Strike Reserves.

Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia 
   
Made in gb
Confessor Of Sins





Newton Aycliffe

I did indeed claim so, by "When placing the unit in Reserve, you must tell your opponent that it will be arriving by Deep Strike"
So with a Unit of Grey Hunters in a Space Wolf Drop Pod, by RaW i can claim:

Grey Hunters do not have the Deep Strike Special Rule, "it will be arriving by Deep Strike" is impossible. The unit cannot be in Deep Strike Reserves.
"Dop Pods and units embarked upon them must be held in Deep Strike Reserves". The unit must be in Deep Strike Reserves.

Contradictory but both RaW.

Luckily for us Deep Strike Reserves is a term sometimes not used, so the contradiction doesn't matter.

DA:80-S+G+M+B++I-Pw40k01++D+++A+++WD100R++T(T)DM+
Roronoa Zoro wrote:When the world shoves you around, you just gotta stand up and shove back. It's not like somebody's gonna save you if you start babbling excuses. - Bring on the hardship. It's preferred in a path of carnage.
Manchu wrote:
It's like you take a Space Marine and say "what could make him cooler?" Instead of adding more super-genetic-psycho-organic modification, you take it all away. You have a regular human left in power armor and all the armies of hell at the gates. And she doesn't even flinch. Pure. Badass. 
   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

 BlackTalos wrote:
The embarked unit is not in Deep Strike Reserve because it is not Deep Striking.


100% incorrect, as such the rest of your post holding to this premise is false.

"When placing the unit in Reserve, you must tell your opponent that it will be arriving by Deep Strike (sometimes called Deep Strike Reserve)" (Special Rules chapter, Deep Strike section).

Arriving by Deep Strike = called Deep Strike Reserve.

"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





 DeathReaper wrote:
 BlackTalos wrote:
The embarked unit is not in Deep Strike Reserve because it is not Deep Striking.


100% incorrect, as such the rest of your post holding to this premise is false.

"When placing the unit in Reserve, you must tell your opponent that it will be arriving by Deep Strike (sometimes called Deep Strike Reserve)" (Special Rules chapter, Deep Strike section).

Arriving by Deep Strike = called Deep Strike Reserve.


the LOTD always start the game in reserve, and always arrive by deepstrike.

so we put them in reserves, check rules for reserves.

they arrive when they arrive, so it must arrive by deepstrike. the reserves rule tells us to deploy as per the rules in deepstrike.

when we look under "arriving by deepstrike" we see there is the wording "deploy them as follows first place one model.."

failure to follow this sequence means they have not arrived by deepstrike.

so no, you cannot put LoTD into an allied drop pod, because they do not "deploy as per deep strike" which as stated under reserves is how they must deploy if they arriving by deepstrike. as LoTD ALWAYS arrive by deepstrike, they must ALWAYS do this. if they are in a drop pod they are not doing this.


arriving by deepstrike requires that you deploy as per the rules for arriving by deepstrike, a unit embarked in a deep striking transport is not doing this so they are not "arriving by deep strike" the transport is. There is no where that says the unit also counts as being deployed as per arriving by deep strike, so the unit embarked is not arriving by deepstrike.
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: