| Author |
Message |
 |
|
|
 |
|
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/08/22 09:26:23
Subject: Re:Thinking of trying Deadzone but...
|
 |
[DCM]
Stonecold Gimster
|
Before I try and have a game tonight, can anyone tell me what these 2 counters are for?
I've figured out the rest.
https://www.dropbox.com/s/jz9ogdyivtjmqm5/Counters.jpg
Thanks.
|
Currently most played: Silent Death, Mars Code Aurora, Battletech, Warcrow and Infinity. |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/08/22 09:40:10
Subject: Thinking of trying Deadzone but...
|
 |
Is 'Eavy Metal Calling?
|
I believe they aren't used in the main game. They relate to something in one of the expansions, but I don't know which one.
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/08/22 10:05:22
Subject: Re:Thinking of trying Deadzone but...
|
 |
[DCM]
Stonecold Gimster
|
Ok. Thanks.
I have the 2 expansion books on order so I may find out soon.
Cool.
|
Currently most played: Silent Death, Mars Code Aurora, Battletech, Warcrow and Infinity. |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/08/23 06:13:57
Subject: Thinking of trying Deadzone but...
|
 |
Lone Wolf Sentinel Pilot
|
I have been using them as Rampage counters for the Plague Stage2.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/08/23 08:03:40
Subject: Thinking of trying Deadzone but...
|
 |
[DCM]
Stonecold Gimster
|
Todosi wrote:I have been using them as Rampage counters for the Plague Stage2.
Sounds a good idea as a normal Enrage counter signifies it could drop down a stage of aggression.
Anyway, the wife and I played a small demo game (the deadzone demo tutorial https://www.manticgames.com/SiteData/Root/File/deadzone%20demo%20guide%204-page%20final.pdf) last night.
We did come across only 3 questions - I thought there'd be tons more :-P
1. Frag Grenade.
The Throw Grenade skill has 2 modifiers that we had no idea what they meant (-1 if Indirect weapon at combat range, -2 if Indirect weapon at long range).
The Frag Grenade has Limited Range so it can't go to long range anyway.
We weren't sure what these 2 modifiers were for at all.
2. Frag Grenade (again)
"Survival Wins: target is Pinned as above but unharmed"
If Survival wins, the target is pinned but unharmed. Does that mean it also gets blasted back or not? I wasn't sure what the "as above" was referring to.
Also, if the scatter dice indicates you've been blasted off the board, what happens?
3. The biggy - Fight
if I move a character into my opponents square I can start a Fight.
I roll a Fight test, my opponent chooses either a Fight roll or a Survive roll.
Our big question was, if the defending player uses a Fight test and wins, are they counting in the outcome as "Fight wins/doubles" or is that referring to only the attacker?
If the defending player can hit back and win causing damage (doubles), they could have an extra Fight action of their own. Or worse, move away, into a square with another of my characters and start a fight, which could chain on and on, even though it wasn't that characters activation. They could go on a rampage round the board if enough people were nearby and it wasn't even their activation. Is this right?
Thanks for any help.
Oh, and I was the 5 plague, my wife was the 3 enforcers.
After the 4 rounds, there were 4 dead plague and 1 injured plague left on the board. All 3 enforcers were as healthy as the game began and they had the intel.
/sigh Although I think the success encouraged my wife to want to play more :-)
|
Currently most played: Silent Death, Mars Code Aurora, Battletech, Warcrow and Infinity. |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/08/23 11:48:43
Subject: Thinking of trying Deadzone but...
|
 |
Painting Within the Lines
|
Gimgamgoo wrote:
1. Frag Grenade.
The Throw Grenade skill has 2 modifiers that we had no idea what they meant (-1 if Indirect weapon at combat range, -2 if Indirect weapon at long range).
The Frag Grenade has Limited Range so it can't go to long range anyway.
We weren't sure what these 2 modifiers were for at all.
Grenade launchers and mortars have the Indirect rule (explained in the Nexus Psi book) which uses the throw grenade action. Those modifiers affect Indirect attacks.
Gimgamgoo wrote:
2. Frag Grenade (again)
"Survival Wins: target is Pinned as above but unharmed"
If Survival wins, the target is pinned but unharmed. Does that mean it also gets blasted back or not? I wasn't sure what the "as above" was referring to.
Also, if the scatter dice indicates you've been blasted off the board, what happens?
If survival wins the model isn't moved by the blast. Frag adds damage to the blast rule and if you look at Blast it only has models pinned if they win the survival roll without being moved.
The board edge is treated as a solid wall for models being thrown about so you bounce off the board edge, stay in the same cube and roll for damage from being throw into an obstacle.
Gimgamgoo wrote:
3. The biggy - Fight
if I move a character into my opponents square I can start a Fight.
I roll a Fight test, my opponent chooses either a Fight roll or a Survive roll.
Our big question was, if the defending player uses a Fight test and wins, are they counting in the outcome as "Fight wins/doubles" or is that referring to only the attacker?
If the defending player can hit back and win causing damage (doubles), they could have an extra Fight action of their own. Or worse, move away, into a square with another of my characters and start a fight, which could chain on and on, even though it wasn't that characters activation. They could go on a rampage round the board if enough people were nearby and it wasn't even their activation. Is this right?
The defender took a fight action so counts their outcome as per the Fight action which includes any free actions they generate for winning, and those can in turn generate a move-fight chain of horrible slaughter. So be careful when charging into a melee specialist as it can go terribly, terribly wrong.
|
Those who live by the sword get shot by those who don't |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/08/23 11:56:26
Subject: Thinking of trying Deadzone but...
|
 |
Fixture of Dakka
|
Some future weapons may have the 'Indirect' special rule, and use the 'Throw Grenade' action to do stuff. - It's at that point, those modifiers would come into play.
As the Frag Grenade doesn't have the Indirect special rule listed, just that 'Limited Range' rule you mentioned, basically ignore those modifiers entirely for that weapon.
The board edge counts as a solid wall.
"Pinned as above" just refers to the rules mentioned in the earlier part about how the model is now 'pinned' even if it was enraged, or alert, or surpressed etc.
The Defending player that choses to 'Fight' would count as Fight Wins/Doubles, as he, well, chose to fight.
Please note, there's nothing in the rules that says you HAVE to take a free action if you gain one.
There's some clarifications on Jake Thornton's blog (quirkworthy.com) about Fight Chains. - In short, it's actually a lot less common than you'd think it would be, this is due to the whole 'you can't perform the same free action twice in a row' thing.
So, lets say, someones fought you, lost and you doubled. So you get a Free Move Action to go hit a second enemy, you fight as part of that Move Action, which means, if you completely murderise the second guy immediately, you can't then move on to a third, as that would be you performing 2 Free Move Actions in a row.
So, for the chain to work, you would have had to have Doubled the second guy, Not killed him, giving you a Free Fight Action, THEN killed him, to unlock a second Free Move Action.
I think Jakes blog explains it better with pictures.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/08/24 00:01:37
Subject: Thinking of trying Deadzone but...
|
 |
Painting Within the Lines
|
Compel wrote:
There's some clarifications on Jake Thornton's blog (quirkworthy.com) about Fight Chains. - In short, it's actually a lot less common than you'd think it would be, this is due to the whole 'you can't perform the same free action twice in a row' thing.
That'd be the explanation here http://quirkworthy.com/2014/04/26/deadzone-infinite-fights/
|
Those who live by the sword get shot by those who don't |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/09/03 20:46:09
Subject: Re:Thinking of trying Deadzone but...
|
 |
Fresh-Faced New User
|
Old question but didn't see the answer. It's the "Long Reload" token to mark weapons in a cooling off phase. A model needs to use up a long action to remove it and reuse the weapon. I think it first popped up in the "Nexus Psi" expansion book.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/09/07 11:35:24
Subject: Re:Thinking of trying Deadzone but...
|
 |
[DCM]
Stonecold Gimster
|
Thanks for all the help so far in this thread.
I've had a few games now, me using Plague, the wife using Enforcers and I've got a few more questions...
1. Plague dogs (aka Plague Stage 3D "hellhounds".
Can these climb up a level? Can these pick up items?
I can't find anything in the rules to say they can't, but it just seems a bit out of character for the look of the model. (I realise they can't use range weapons they pick up as they have no range skill though)
- And I'm annoyed my Hellhounds can't use the Acid Breath mutation as well, it would suit them perfectly but they have no range skill :-(
2. Plague Stage 3 figures are weaker than Enforcers, so with the extra figures you have from the lower point cost, I imagined you could try beating Enforcers by moving several into the same square to get the bonus for having friends in the same square, but that's not possible. You move them in 1 at a time, and they die 1 at a time. How do you get the advantage of numbers of weaker figures to work for you?
3. The Plague Stage 1A... My favourite figure of the series so far. But it seems a total waste of points. It moves 1 cube per turn (as it's slow), the Enforcers can move 2 (using sprint) so it can never catch them if the opponent doesn't want catching. And to make it worse, my wife keeps 2 enforcers in the squares together taking up 2/4 spaces and the Stage 1A takes up 3 spaces, so it can never move into their cube to fight them. It can just stand next to them and get itself shot unable to move into their cube. Similarly, I can't move it into the cube where my wife keeps her size 2 Enforcer Captain. So the Stage 1A at size 3 seems a total waste of time. It can't shoot and it can't get into the cubes with the enemy. Are we playing it right for this problem to occur? Seems a mighty waste of points and a cool looking model to not be able to take part in the game other than stand back to use the command actions.
4. If I have a model in a square with an enemy, can I use a "Get Mean" to raise it from alert to enraged? If so, it can't then fight, because Fight is a long action. So can I "move" within the same square, which would then trigger a fight?
5. If a weapon rolls to do 1 damage, but has AP4, and the target has Armour 1 and Tough, we assumed the Armour was negated so the 1 damage would get through, but then the tough would stop that damage. Is that right for an awesome AP4 weapon?
6. (Last question). If my figure is pinned (laying down) and in a cube with a low wall or other cover and I use "get mean" to put it back to alert and on it's feet, can I put it on it's feet anywhere in the cube it's in? ie. Could I pick it up and put it at the other side of the cover to help protect it against any incoming "shoot actions" trying to get a the bonus for a clear shot? Does picking it up onto it's feet into a different place in the cube count as a move as well?
I've enjoyed playing the game so far but seem to take forever flicking through the rules to find answers as we play.
Hopefully, someone can shed light on my above 6 rules queries.
Thanks again folks.
|
Currently most played: Silent Death, Mars Code Aurora, Battletech, Warcrow and Infinity. |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/09/07 11:52:24
Subject: Thinking of trying Deadzone but...
|
 |
Is 'Eavy Metal Calling?
|
1) I believe they can climb, but can't pick up items due to the - shoot stat.
2) I think you're either having terrible rolls or playing something wrong with the S3 versus the Enforcers in CC. Assuming your not talking about Assault Enforcers, the Enforcer is going to have to win by a margin of 3 successes to down a S3 in one round of fighting. In the standard situation of the Plague charging, that means that, without exploding 8s, the Plague has to fail all four of his rolls while the Enforcer passes all his. You can see how this is very unlikely. The next activation you move in another Plague, and get 5 dice (3 base, +1 for support, +1 for charging)
It's also worth trying to pin an Enforcer before you charge in. Given that the S3 are Fast, and can therefore Sprint as a short action, you can Blaze Away and and still charge from 2 cubes out. If you can pin it, you'll get a huge advantage in CC
3) To clarify, the 4-size limit is separate for both sides, so you can have up to a total of size 8 if 4 are on each side.
The S1 is slow, easy to outrun, but to that end you'll want to keep Move cards handy. This can be entirely unexpected and very nasty, as when he hits, he hits hard! It's just a case of planning ahead.
4) When you are engaged with the enemy, all you can do is Fight or Break Off, so no, you can't Get Mean (unless you use a card)
5) That is correct, and why Tough is so great. There was a proposed rule from the designer about giving AP3 or better weapons the ability to ignore Tough as if it were just an extra point of Armour, but nothing official.
6) Not sure, but I think you attend him up where he is.
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/09/07 12:04:00
Subject: Re:Thinking of trying Deadzone but...
|
 |
Fixture of Dakka
|
Hopefully I got the quoting thingy right.
Gimgamgoo wrote:Thanks for all the help so far in this thread.
I've had a few games now, me using Plague, the wife using Enforcers and I've got a few more questions...
1. Plague dogs (aka Plague Stage 3D "hellhounds".
Can these climb up a level? Can these pick up items?
There is nothing stopping a Plague Hound climbing up levels in the rules, you may just be overthinking things there.
However, only models with a 'shoot' value can pick up items. This means that dogs / stage 2's / stage 1's / surveydrones etc cannot pick up items. This is also true for those models with the 'beast' and 'hover' rules.
Gimgamgoo wrote:
2. Plague Stage 3 figures are weaker than Enforcers, so with the extra figures you have from the lower point cost, I imagined you could try beating Enforcers by moving several into the same square to get the bonus for having friends in the same square, but that's not possible. You move them in 1 at a time, and they die 1 at a time. How do you get the advantage of numbers of weaker figures to work for you?
It would be extremely unlikely for a standard Enforcer to kill a Plague Stage 3 in close combat with any great frequency. You can only cause damage in close combat if you choose to 'fight' if you choose to 'survive' you don't land any blows. In this case, that would mean you would have an enforcer needing 6+ on 3 dice normally, whereas a Plague Stage 3 would usually need 5+ on 5 dice (+1 for being enraged, +1 for charging). - In saying that... It's also highly unlikely that even 5 dice would kill an enforcer outright, so this is where the extra 6th dice from having a buddy charging in would help too. Even then, expect it to take a couple of rounds to kill a shooty enforcer.
Gimgamgoo wrote:
3. The Plague Stage 1A... My favourite figure of the series so far. But it seems a total waste of points. It moves 1 cube per turn (as it's slow), the Enforcers can move 2 (using sprint) so it can never catch them if the opponent doesn't want catching. And to make it worse, my wife keeps 2 enforcers in the squares together taking up 2/4 spaces and the Stage 1A takes up 3 spaces
This is why Move cards are so valuable in a Plague card deck. - Keep them back for surprise moves from your big dude. Also, try using 'Command Actions' in games, the Stage 1A is great with them.
The Size limit *ONLY* applies to models on your own team. In other words, you can have a Stage 1A and a Stage 3D in a cube, fighting the Enforcer Captain and 2 normal Enforcers in the same cube.
Gimgamgoo wrote:
4. If I have a model in a square with an enemy, can I use a "Get Mean" to raise it from alert to enraged? If so, it can't then fight, because Fight is a long action. So can I "move" within the same square, which would then trigger a fight?
If you are in the same Cube as an enemy model, the only Actions you can perform are "Fight" or "Break Off" you can not perform a 'Get Mean' action.
Gimgamgoo wrote:
5. If a weapon rolls to do 1 damage, but has AP4, and the target has Armour 1 and Tough, we assumed the Armour was negated so the 1 damage would get through, but then the tough would stop that damage. Is that right for an awesome AP4 weapon?
You would be correct in this case in the original rulebook. However, an optional rule has been added which lets AP3 or AP4 weapons count as having 'irresistible force'
Gimgamgoo wrote:
6. (Last question). If my figure is pinned (laying down) and in a cube with a low wall or other cover and I use "get mean" to put it back to alert and on it's feet, can I put it on it's feet anywhere in the cube it's in? ie. Could I pick it up and put it at the other side of the cover to help protect it against any incoming "shoot actions" trying to get a the bonus for a clear shot? Does picking it up onto it's feet into a different place in the cube count as a move as well?
This is weirder and I can't think of an answer off hand. - I'm pretty sure the answer is 'yeah'
|
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/09/07 12:05:42
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/09/07 14:53:41
Subject: Re:Thinking of trying Deadzone but...
|
 |
[DCM]
Stonecold Gimster
|
Thanks for those answers. It will certainly liven up next weekend's game where my wife can no longer hide 2 enforcers together to avoid my stage 1.
A couple more then to quiz your brains...
1. Can a hellhound (or any figure without shoot skill) open a crate to see what the item is, even if it can't carry or use the item after it's uncovered?
2. If my wife's force has a control or capture mission card. Does she have to be controlling/capturing the xyz until the game ends, or is the xyz token removed if the conditions to capture/control it are met mid game? Last night she was keeping figures at the objective all game to ensure she was holding it when the game ends. Seemed tough with a low amount of enforcer figures.
Thanks again.
|
Currently most played: Silent Death, Mars Code Aurora, Battletech, Warcrow and Infinity. |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/09/07 15:00:23
Subject: Re:Thinking of trying Deadzone but...
|
 |
Fixture of Dakka
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/09/07 15:44:21
Subject: Thinking of trying Deadzone but...
|
 |
Is 'Eavy Metal Calling?
|
And that note, watch out for Enforcers making a mad dash for objectives early on. If you don't move fast, they can pull out a win in the third round or so with a little luck.
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/09/08 00:02:14
Subject: Thinking of trying Deadzone but...
|
 |
Lone Wolf Sentinel Pilot
|
In response to question 6 the answer is you can place them anywhere in the cube you like. This also goes for when you go from Alert to Pinned. So if you get pinned in a spot that you are giving your opponent a Clear Shot, when you place your Pinned model, stick em behind cover!
|
|
|
 |
 |
|
|
|