| Author |
Message |
 |
|
|
 |
|
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/09/05 22:14:23
Subject: Vargard O'Byron
|
 |
Discriminating Deathmark Assassin
|
Can Vargard O'Byron start in reserve and then deep strike in during turn one using Zandrekh's Phased Reinforcements, bringing his unit (none of whome have the deep strike rule themselves) with him, since his deep strike ability works on everyone in his unit?
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/09/05 22:39:22
Subject: Vargard O'Byron
|
 |
Land Raider Pilot on Cruise Control
|
Kholzerino wrote:Can Vargard O'Byron start in reserve and then deep strike in during turn one using Zandrekh's Phased Reinforcements, bringing his unit (none of whome have the deep strike rule themselves) with him, since his deep strike ability works on everyone in his unit?
Obyron cannot Deep Strike as he does not possess the Deep Strike special rule.
|
If I sound like I'm being a condescending butthole, I'm not. Read my reply as neutrally as possible, please and thank you. |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/09/05 22:47:45
Subject: Vargard O'Byron
|
 |
Pyro Pilot of a Triach Stalker
|
Ond Angel wrote:Kholzerino wrote:Can Vargard O'Byron start in reserve and then deep strike in during turn one using Zandrekh's Phased Reinforcements, bringing his unit (none of whome have the deep strike rule themselves) with him, since his deep strike ability works on everyone in his unit?
Obyron cannot Deep Strike as he does not possess the Deep Strike special rule.
Phased reinforcements only requires that you be able to arrive via deep strike. It doesn't require the Deep Strike rule. And any unit including a VoD or Ghostwalk mantle is able to do so.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/09/05 22:57:45
Subject: Vargard O'Byron
|
 |
Powerful Phoenix Lord
|
NecronLord3 wrote: Ond Angel wrote:Kholzerino wrote:Can Vargard O'Byron start in reserve and then deep strike in during turn one using Zandrekh's Phased Reinforcements, bringing his unit (none of whome have the deep strike rule themselves) with him, since his deep strike ability works on everyone in his unit?
Obyron cannot Deep Strike as he does not possess the Deep Strike special rule.
Phased reinforcements only requires that you be able to arrive via deep strike. It doesn't require the Deep Strike rule. And any unit including a VoD or Ghostwalk mantle is able to do so.
Except in order to use a Veil of Darkness or Gjsotwalk Mantle, the model must first be on the table. Unless the e-codex changed the wording to allow it to be used to come in from reserves.
|
Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/09/05 23:00:26
Subject: Vargard O'Byron
|
 |
Land Raider Pilot on Cruise Control
|
NecronLord3 wrote: Ond Angel wrote:Kholzerino wrote:Can Vargard O'Byron start in reserve and then deep strike in during turn one using Zandrekh's Phased Reinforcements, bringing his unit (none of whome have the deep strike rule themselves) with him, since his deep strike ability works on everyone in his unit?
Obyron cannot Deep Strike as he does not possess the Deep Strike special rule.
Phased reinforcements only requires that you be able to arrive via deep strike. It doesn't require the Deep Strike rule. And any unit including a VoD or Ghostwalk mantle is able to do so.
I'm failing to see this.
All I see is that Obyron (or a model with a Veil of Darkness) is able to remove itself from the tabletop and be placed again using the Deep Strike rules.
It doesn't actually give them the Deep Strike rule. To me this reads as unless they've actually moved from the tabletop they cannot deep strike back onto it.
If I'm wrong, that's fair enough.
Just my interpretation.
|
If I sound like I'm being a condescending butthole, I'm not. Read my reply as neutrally as possible, please and thank you. |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/09/05 23:13:23
Subject: Vargard O'Byron
|
 |
Lieutenant General
|
Happyjew wrote:Except in order to use a Veil of Darkness or Gjsotwalk Mantle, the model must first be on the table. Unless the e-codex changed the wording to allow it to be used to come in from reserves.
From the Codex Necrons FAQ v1.1 (6th edition)
Q: Can a veil of darkness be used instead of moving onto the board when a unit arrives from reserve? (p84)
A: Yes
This is not in the 7th edition FAQ, so we're stuck with the question if this was deliberately removed from the FAQ, was it an accidental omission or is it a change that's in the digital edition of the codex and not the dead tree version.
|
'It is a source of constant consternation that my opponents cannot correlate their innate inferiority with their inevitable defeat. It would seem that stupidity is as eternal as war.'
- Nemesor Zahndrekh of the Sautekh Dynasty Overlord of the Crownworld of Gidrim |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/09/06 12:52:47
Subject: Vargard O'Byron
|
 |
Discriminating Deathmark Assassin
|
It's really annoying what they have done / ommited with the FAQs. I guess it's something I need to check with the TO on before submitting a list...
|
|
|
 |
 |
|
|