Switch Theme:

Hitting models with blast markers  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in se
Been Around the Block




Me and a friend got into an argument the other day about which models I could hit with my large blastmarkers. He had some canoptek wraiths, fairly big units on small bases and he claimed I had to hit the bases with the marker in order to get a hit. Only hitting the actual model didnt count according to him. We looked at the rules and it seemed open for interpretation. Any ideas?

Thanks

   
Made in gb
Ultramarine Chaplain with Hate to Spare





Your friend was correct. Bases are used for measuring for infantry models.

Take the Magic: The Gathering 'What Color Are You?' Quiz.

Yes my Colour is Black but not for the reasons stated mainly just because it's slimming... http://imperiusdominatus.blogspot.com 
   
Made in gb
Executing Exarch






The Blast rules tell you to count any models completely or partially under the marker, making no mention of bases.
The rules for models themselves tell you that the base counts as part of the model - so if you'd hit the base with a marker but not the 'physical' model, it still counts as hitting the model.
However, the line-of-sight rules are written so that you ignore weapons / banners etc. for LoS so that a player is not "penalised for having impressive banners, weaponry, and so on." - basically you shouldn't be at a disadvantage for modelling your models in cool poses and so forth.

So strictly speaking, the Blast rules are clear, hitting the model is all that is required. But if all you've managed to get is the very end of a whip coil, some leeway should be considered (but not automatically assumed - discuss with your opponent).

{Edit} Fling is correct, for all measurements, the base alone is used - is a blast marker a 'measurement'?

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/09/10 09:20:07


 
   
Made in gb
Ultramarine Chaplain with Hate to Spare





Are you measuring which models are under the template? If you don't have the template could you measure a circle using a tape measure (particularly when talking about the larger blast markers like 7" & 10")?

Take the Magic: The Gathering 'What Color Are You?' Quiz.

Yes my Colour is Black but not for the reasons stated mainly just because it's slimming... http://imperiusdominatus.blogspot.com 
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut




 FlingitNow wrote:
Are you measuring which models are under the template? If you don't have the template could you measure a circle using a tape measure (particularly when talking about the larger blast markers like 7" & 10")?


could you? maybe. Would a smart opponent ever let you get away with measuring a blast that way? I certainly hope not.
   
Made in us
Space Marine Scout with Sniper Rifle




Massachussetts

Your friend I think is confusing how you place the blast template before you scatter with how you count hits after it scatters.

When placing the blast template initially, the center hole must be entirely over the base of a model.

However, for counting hits, part of the model itself (not including weapons/accessories and such), is all that needs to be under it for a hit.
   
Made in au
[MOD]
Making Stuff






Under the couch

Yeah, previous editions specified that you need to be over the base to hit the model.

The current edition doesn't say that. The model just has to be at least partially under the marker.

 
   
Made in gb
Tough Tyrant Guard





SHE-FI-ELD

Well, I learnt something new today.

It's my codex and I'll cry If I want to.

Tactical objectives are fantastic 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: