Switch Theme:

Dreadnaught Drop Pod, do I get to assault out of it?  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in ca
Dakka Veteran




Canada

Title says it all. Your opinions on assaulting out of a dreadnought drop pod. Yay or Nay?

(60) Successful Trades With: coffinofstone (x2), Mike94656, kungfujew, LOS Not Needed, Uriels_Flame (x3), redthirst, Lehnsherr, VostroyanFirstClass (x4), midget_overlord, Timofeo, Makutsu, Eclipseone (x2), Krug001, JHall, Neomagicwarrior, Vygoth, Eldarain (x5), Green is Best!, Acardia, Exalbaru, ephrael, MadCowCrazy, pretre, kusanagi68, Theevilone, bd1085, wreeper007, Soccerlfb6, bagelboy71, Masakik, xghostmakerx, Mecha_buddha, Grimwulfe, saleen302 (2), thormar, manvas, iStompya, Farboozle, GearheadXII (x2), Spartan289, marcus.iscariat, Sannaga, Spikes, Gamerely, Catfiish, Physh, skavenmatt

YouTube channel for new batreps and other content: https://www.youtube.com/c/TheBasementCollective
Like us on Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/TBMCV 
   
Made in gb
Stalwart Veteran Guard Sergeant




Turn 1, you arrive, you don't have to disembark, but you cannot assault.

Turn 2, you can assault away, even if embarked as the pod is open topped
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut





Deep Strike...
In that turn’s Assault phase, however, these units cannot charge. This also applies to units that have disembarked from Transports that arrived by Deep Strike that turn.


Nope. There is/was a forgeworld one for 50 points that let you explicitly assault out of one, but definitely not the regular ones.
   
Made in us
Trigger-Happy Baal Predator Pilot






No. A unit that arrives from reserves cannot assault, even if the vehicle they're disembarking from is an assault vehicle.

If the question was about the forgeworld pod, the answer is still no on the turn it arrives. The compulsory disembark isn't present on the larger fw pod, so you can stay in it for a turn then disembark and charge on the next turn.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/09/19 00:55:48


 
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut




The exception I was specifically referring to was the Dreadnaught Assault pod which, as I understood it, explicitly allowed you to assault T1 after deepstriking and disembarking:
http://www.bolterandchainsword.com/topic/267788-forgeworld-awesomeness/


   
Made in au
[MOD]
Making Stuff






Under the couch

RAWRAIrobblerobble wrote:
The exception I was specifically referring to was the Dreadnaught Assault pod which, as I understood it, explicitly allowed you to assault T1 after deepstriking and disembarking:
http://www.bolterandchainsword.com/topic/267788-forgeworld-awesomeness/

It used to. Now it just lets you stay in the pod on the turn you arrive and disembark and assault next turn.

 
   
Made in us
Fixture of Dakka



Chicago, Illinois

I'd have to dig through stuff but I was like sure there was a Chaos Drop Pod that allowed a first turn assault.

If I lose it is because I had bad luck, if you win it is because you cheated. 
   
Made in us
Auspicious Daemonic Herald





Hollismason wrote:
I'd have to dig through stuff but I was like sure there was a Chaos Drop Pod that allowed a first turn assault.

Its rules have been updated, now it's just a flyer with the assault rule
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




Hollismason wrote:
I'd have to dig through stuff but I was like sure there was a Chaos Drop Pod that allowed a first turn assault.

The dreadclaw has never allowed turn one assault, as it never had drop pod assault, so required a reserves roll.
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: