| Author |
Message |
 |
|
|
 |
|
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/09/21 11:07:44
Subject: Can I take a lord of war from another faction?
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
Using: http://www.forgeworld.co.uk/Downloads/Product/PDF/L/lordsofwar.pdf
It has the restrictions for the lords of war forgeworld choices. They generally follow the tone of for example:
IMPERIAL ARMOUR VOLUME 2 – 2ND EDITION LORDS OF WAR
The new edition of Imperial Armour 2 uses stamps to indicate which models are classed as Lords of War. The indicated models may be taken if your primary
detachment is from Codex: Space Marines, Codex: Blood Angels, Codex: Dark Angels, Codex: Grey Knights or Codex: Space Wolves
So lets say I take a primary detachment of the grey knight strike formation, and take a fellblade. I then take a CAD IG detachment. Can i take another fellblade? Since my primary detachment is from GK?
Would it work the other way round? If my primary is an IG detachment and I take a baneblade, if I then take a grey knight strike formation could I take another one? because my primary detachment is from IG?
Thanks!
|
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/09/21 16:01:33
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/09/21 11:10:37
Subject: Can I take 2 of the same lords of war?
|
 |
Auspicious Daemonic Herald
|
LoW aren't special. They are just another force org slot like Elite or Fast Attack. You can take duplicate fast attack and such can't you? So why not duplicate LoW?
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/09/21 13:30:28
Subject: Can I take 2 of the same lords of war?
|
 |
Loyal Necron Lychguard
Netherlands
|
You can take multiple of the same unit unless they are unique.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/09/21 14:56:48
Subject: Can I take 2 of the same lords of war?
|
 |
The Conquerer
Waiting for my shill money from Spiral Arm Studios
|
As long as they aren't characters or have the unique type then yes you can duplicate them.
|
Self-proclaimed evil Cat-person. Dues Ex Felines
Cato Sicarius, after force feeding Captain Ventris a copy of the Codex Astartes for having the audacity to play Deathwatch, chokes to death on his own D-baggery after finding Calgar assembling his new Eldar army.
MURICA!!! IN SPESS!!! |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/09/21 16:02:49
Subject: Can I take a lord of war from another faction?
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
I mis worded the titled.
What I meant was, can I take a low from another faction? If you read my example in the OP:
I take IG primary. Baneblade as LOW slot.
I ally in a GK strike formation. Due to the rules linked above, by RAW can I take another Baneblade in their LOW slot?
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/09/21 16:06:15
Subject: Can I take a lord of war from another faction?
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
All units within the faction must be from the same faction.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/09/21 16:56:36
Subject: Can I take a lord of war from another faction?
|
 |
Fixture of Dakka
Vanished Completely
|
It depends the Formation or Detachments allowing access to the Lord of War in question. To date, we have yet to see a Detachment which does not contain the Restriction 'One Faction Only' or 'X Faction Only' and formations have specific Unit requirements to make them a non-issue.
|
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/09/21 16:57:58
8th made it so I can no longer sway Tau onto the side of Chaos, but they will eventually turn aside from their idea of the Greater Good to embrace the Greatest of pleasures. |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/09/21 17:07:13
Subject: Can I take a lord of war from another faction?
|
 |
The Conquerer
Waiting for my shill money from Spiral Arm Studios
|
It must be the same faction as the detachment it is in OR be specifically allowed to be taken by that faction.
For example, all the new FW knights say they are a LoW choice for any Imperial faction. So GKs, SM, IG, etc... can all take them in their LoW slot.
I believe Baneblades are IG only LoW.
|
Self-proclaimed evil Cat-person. Dues Ex Felines
Cato Sicarius, after force feeding Captain Ventris a copy of the Codex Astartes for having the audacity to play Deathwatch, chokes to death on his own D-baggery after finding Calgar assembling his new Eldar army.
MURICA!!! IN SPESS!!! |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/09/21 19:17:30
Subject: Can I take a lord of war from another faction?
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
Grey Templar wrote:It must be the same faction as the detachment it is in OR be specifically allowed to be taken by that faction.
For example, all the new FW knights say they are a LoW choice for any Imperial faction. So GKs, SM, IG, etc... can all take them in their LoW slot.
I believe Baneblades are IG only LoW.
But where does it say what faction forgeworld units are?
For example, all the malcador are IG allowed too. But the Typhon for example does not say explicitly what faction it is.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/09/21 19:23:51
Subject: Can I take a lord of war from another faction?
|
 |
Fixture of Dakka
Vanished Completely
|
Forgeworld is working on some Frequently Asked Question to bring their books up to 7th Edition, are they not? I recommend emailing them if the lack of specific factions if that is a great concern.
|
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/09/21 19:43:03
8th made it so I can no longer sway Tau onto the side of Chaos, but they will eventually turn aside from their idea of the Greater Good to embrace the Greatest of pleasures. |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/09/21 19:40:05
Subject: Can I take a lord of war from another faction?
|
 |
Lieutenant General
|
Jpr wrote: Grey Templar wrote:It must be the same faction as the detachment it is in OR be specifically allowed to be taken by that faction.
For example, all the new FW knights say they are a LoW choice for any Imperial faction. So GKs, SM, IG, etc... can all take them in their LoW slot.
I believe Baneblades are IG only LoW.
But where does it say what faction forgeworld units are?
For example, all the malcador are IG allowed too. But the Typhon for example does not say explicitly what faction it is.
The Forge World Lords of War are listed HERE.
The Typhon is a Legion Astartes vehicle for 30K.
|
'It is a source of constant consternation that my opponents cannot correlate their innate inferiority with their inevitable defeat. It would seem that stupidity is as eternal as war.'
- Nemesor Zahndrekh of the Sautekh Dynasty Overlord of the Crownworld of Gidrim |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/09/21 20:28:54
Subject: Can I take a lord of war from another faction?
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
Ghaz it is also listed at the bottom:
IMPERIAL ARMOUR VOLUME 2 – 2ND EDITION LORDS OF WAR
The new edition of Imperial Armour 2 uses stamps to indicate which models are classed as Lords of War. The indicated models may be taken if your primary
detachment is from Codex: Space Marines, Codex: Blood Angels, Codex: Dark Angels, Codex: Grey Knights or Codex: Space Wolves. They may also be used
in the following Imperial Armour army lists: Tyrant’s Legion from Imperial Armour Volume 9, and the Space Marine Siege Assault Vanguard from Imperial
Armour Volume 10.
The Typhon is in Imperial armour 2 2nd ed with a LOW stamp.
|
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/09/21 20:29:06
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/09/21 22:05:25
Subject: Can I take a lord of war from another faction?
|
 |
The Conquerer
Waiting for my shill money from Spiral Arm Studios
|
Jpr wrote: Grey Templar wrote:It must be the same faction as the detachment it is in OR be specifically allowed to be taken by that faction.
For example, all the new FW knights say they are a LoW choice for any Imperial faction. So GKs, SM, IG, etc... can all take them in their LoW slot.
I believe Baneblades are IG only LoW.
But where does it say what faction forgeworld units are?
For example, all the malcador are IG allowed too. But the Typhon for example does not say explicitly what faction it is.
In their rules. And the link Ghaz provided.
For example, the Knight Castigator's experimental rules say "A Cerastus Knight-Castigator may be taken as a Lords of War choice for any faction that is a part of the Armies of the Imperium (see the Warhammer 40,000 rulebook)"
|
Self-proclaimed evil Cat-person. Dues Ex Felines
Cato Sicarius, after force feeding Captain Ventris a copy of the Codex Astartes for having the audacity to play Deathwatch, chokes to death on his own D-baggery after finding Calgar assembling his new Eldar army.
MURICA!!! IN SPESS!!! |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/09/22 00:47:09
Subject: Can I take a lord of war from another faction?
|
 |
Fixture of Dakka
Vanished Completely
|
Permission to be selected as part of a Detachment does not mean the Unit belongs to the Detachments Faction, it just means they can be selected to fill a Battlefield Role within the Detachment. In my opinion, as they do not list which Faction they belong to they must therefore be "Factionless" and are only selectable for a Battlefield Role as they have specific Rules for such.
|
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/09/22 00:48:23
8th made it so I can no longer sway Tau onto the side of Chaos, but they will eventually turn aside from their idea of the Greater Good to embrace the Greatest of pleasures. |
|
|
 |
 |
|
|