Switch Theme:

Multiple Orbital Bombardment from 2 Chapter Masters in the Same Unit  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Been Around the Block




If you have two Chapter Masters in the same unit firing their Orbital Bombardment weapon (so 2 shots), does this count as using multiple barrage rules where the 2nd shot flips off of the 1st?

For reference, the 1st sentence under multiple barrage is as follows:

If a unit fires more than one shot with the Barrage special rule, they fire together, as follows

Thanks!

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/09/30 05:07:51


 
   
Made in us
Never Forget Isstvan!






Yes.

JOIN MY CRUSADE and gain 4000 RT points!
http://www.eternalcrusade.com/account/sign-up/?ref_code=EC-PLCIKYCABW8PG 
   
Made in ca
Fixture of Dakka




Vanished Completely

The Model is part of the Unit for all Rule purposes, such as this one.

8th made it so I can no longer sway Tau onto the side of Chaos, but they will eventually turn aside from their idea of the Greater Good to embrace the Greatest of pleasures.  
   
Made in us
Screaming Shining Spear





Same goes for a CM attached to a TFC

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/09/28 22:09:32


4000 points: Craftworld Mymeara 
   
Made in pr
Longtime Dakkanaut




Minneapolis, MN

 extremefreak17 wrote:
Same goes for a CM attached to a TFC

Would it? They have different weapon profiles.
   
Made in us
Screaming Shining Spear





 DanielBeaver wrote:
 extremefreak17 wrote:
Same goes for a CM attached to a TFC

Would it? They have different weapon profiles.


Doesnt matter. As long as you fire the TFC first, you get to "flip" the OB.

4000 points: Craftworld Mymeara 
   
Made in au
Hoary Long Fang with Lascannon




Armageddon, Pry System, Armageddon Sector, Armageddon Sub-sector, Segmentum Solar.

It's exactly like using a mortar to guide the MoO barrage .
   
Made in us
Powerful Phoenix Lord





Buffalo, NY

 extremefreak17 wrote:
 DanielBeaver wrote:
 extremefreak17 wrote:
Same goes for a CM attached to a TFC

Would it? They have different weapon profiles.


Doesnt matter. As long as you fire the TFC first, you get to "flip" the OB.


Except it does, as first you would do all of the TFC, then after resolving it, you would do OB.

 Bausk wrote:
It's exactly like using a mortar to guide the MoO barrage .


Except for the fact that the MoO Artillery Bombardment specifically says it is resolved separately.

Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia 
   
Made in ca
Fixture of Dakka




Vanished Completely

HappyJew,
The problem is this wording: If a unit fires more than one shot with the Barrage special rule, they fire together, as follows:

Nothing in the Rule states that it only applies to Shots from a single 'Weapon Group,' which opens the door for it being applicable to all Shots regardless of Weapon Group. This is made more problematic because it is an Advanced Rule while the line stating to Resolve one Weapon Group before nominating another Weapon is part of the Basic sequence. Now it is possible to state that both Rules can be obeyed without being broken, but that leads to a scenario where a Unit can only ever fire one Weapon Group with the Barrage Special Rule. Resolving the second grouping would mean that a group of Shots did not obey the requirement to be 'flipped' based off the Marker of the Firing Model closest to the Target.

Of course, it is a poorly worded Rule so we shouldn't be surprised if it causes that sort of outcome.
Technically we wouldn't even know if the Unit was going to fire multiple Barrage Shots till after the first Weapon is resolved anyway....

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2014/09/29 01:35:23


8th made it so I can no longer sway Tau onto the side of Chaos, but they will eventually turn aside from their idea of the Greater Good to embrace the Greatest of pleasures.  
   
Made in au
Hoary Long Fang with Lascannon




Armageddon, Pry System, Armageddon Sector, Armageddon Sub-sector, Segmentum Solar.

Ah yes, forgot they did that with the MoO. The fact GW love SM so much is probably why they don't have something similar added to the CMs OB....that's basically free...along with being near fearless without the negatives.....also basically for free.....
   
Made in au
[MOD]
Making Stuff






Under the couch

JinxDragon wrote:
HappyJew,
The problem is this wording: If a unit fires more than one shot with the Barrage special rule, they fire together, as follows:

Nothing in the Rule states that it only applies to Shots from a single 'Weapon Group,' which opens the door for it being applicable to all Shots regardless of Weapon Group. This is made more problematic because it is an Advanced Rule while the line stating to Resolve one Weapon Group before nominating another Weapon is part of the Basic sequence. Now it is possible to state that both Rules can be obeyed without being broken, but that leads to a scenario where a Unit can only ever fire one Weapon Group with the Barrage Special Rule. Resolving the second grouping would mean that a group of Shots did not obey the requirement to be 'flipped' based off the Marker of the Firing Model closest to the Target.

Of course, it is a poorly worded Rule so we shouldn't be surprised if it causes that sort of outcome.
Technically we wouldn't even know if the Unit was going to fire multiple Barrage Shots till after the first Weapon is resolved anyway....

I strongly suspect that they didn't consider the possibility that a unit could be firing multiple barrages that consisted of different weapons when they wrote that rule, as it breaks the game when it comes time to resolves wounds and saves.

As such, I would apply that rule to individual weapon groups, rather than lumping all Barrage together.


 
   
Made in ca
Fixture of Dakka




Vanished Completely

Insaniak,
Given the amount of times I have ranted because the Authors 'create Rules in vacuum,' using as few variables as possible to explain the Rule, and the problem it has when complicated interactions occur....

8th made it so I can no longer sway Tau onto the side of Chaos, but they will eventually turn aside from their idea of the Greater Good to embrace the Greatest of pleasures.  
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: