Switch Theme:

Embarked Models and Special Rules  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut






I'm sorry if this has already been answered, but if a model has a special rule that affects all models within X inches and that model is embarked on a vehicle, does that special rule then affect all models within X inches of the transport or does the special rule cease to be until that model disembarks?

The new rulebook is actually quite clear about psychic powers, but not so clear about other special rules.

I looked through the first several pages of the forum as well as several passes through the new rule book. Couldn't find an answer.

Thanks for your help guys!
   
Made in gb
Executing Exarch






When you need to measure to an embarked unit, measure to the hull of the vehicle ({Edit} Nos nailed it, end of first paragraph of Embarking {/Edit}). This increases the effective range of the 'aura' considerably.
Bear in mind that some effects have additional wording regarding being embarked (Ork Kustom Force Fields and DA e-book Power Field Generators both cease to radiate when in a vehicle.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/10/08 14:27:58


 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




The general transport rules, under Embarked, specify that you measure to the hull if you need to work out a range to an embarked unit.

Page 79 in BRB from memory, 1st or 2nd paragraph under "embarking" which is possibly lower right of the page. Non bold section contains this.
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut






Thanks guys!
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut




Note that that may be changing - see the Orks Kustom Force Field:
If the bearer is embarked in a vehicle, then the vehicle receives a 5+ invulnerable save against any shooting attacks instead.

   
Made in ca
Fixture of Dakka




Vanished Completely

Don't see that as signs of things changing, unique pieces of war-gear and Models that do things slightly different to norm have always existed.
Besides, that Rule does not change the way we measure to Embarked Units, it sidesteps it all by removing the bubble itself.

8th made it so I can no longer sway Tau onto the side of Chaos, but they will eventually turn aside from their idea of the Greater Good to embrace the Greatest of pleasures.  
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




RAWRAIrobblerobble wrote:
Note that that may be changing - see the Orks Kustom Force Field:
If the bearer is embarked in a vehicle, then the vehicle receives a 5+ invulnerable save against any shooting attacks instead.


No, there is no longer any range to measure, so it is not a change to the AoE method for embarked models, as this has no AoE any longer while embarked.
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut




The possible change I was referring to to mean that AOE effects in vehicles may be reduced to just the vehicle. Not a real concern since GW doesn't move quickly or consistently enough to plan around.
   
Made in us
Gore-Soaked Lunatic Witchhunter




Seattle

Hrm, not sure it's going to be a trend. The Ork Codex is fairly recent (for 7th Ed), and the KFF and PFG are the only bits of wargear I can readily recall that works in that manner, rather than extending its effects from the hull to a given distance, like various banners/relics or psychic effects.

It is best to be a pessimist. You are usually right and, when you're wrong, you're pleasantly surprised. 
   
Made in ca
Fixture of Dakka




Vanished Completely

Consider the Space Wolves, for they are also new and I do not recall their "buff banners" have similar restrictions.

8th made it so I can no longer sway Tau onto the side of Chaos, but they will eventually turn aside from their idea of the Greater Good to embrace the Greatest of pleasures.  
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: