Switch Theme:

Living Artillery Node  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Loyal Necron Lychguard





Virginia

Hey guys, so when I originally looked at the Living Artillery Node formation for Tyranids, it said that you "may reroll the scatter dice", so, I took this to mean that you can just reroll all 3 dice. But, Matt from Miniwargaming said that it only works for the actual scatter die itself, not the 2d6. Then I started using that ruling because, I dunno, really. But I'm wondering if that's actually how it works. Because, it says "dice", which means multiple, and normally when you think of scatter dice, you think of the 2d6 as well. So, does it allow the reroll of all 3 dice, or just the scatter die itself?

40k:
8th Edtion: 9405 pts - Varantekh Dynasty  
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





how far it scatters is part of the scatter, so it should be all the dice.

much like twin linking for blasts.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/10/15 23:26:34


 
   
Made in us
Loyal Necron Lychguard





Virginia

blaktoof wrote:
how far it scatters is part of the scatter, so it should be all the dice.


That's what I was thinking, since the rule for Blasts is that if you have any form of reroll, even if it's Preferred enemy, you can reroll the whole thing. But apparently that's not entirely true?

40k:
8th Edtion: 9405 pts - Varantekh Dynasty  
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut




 krodarklorr wrote:
blaktoof wrote:
how far it scatters is part of the scatter, so it should be all the dice.


That's what I was thinking, since the rule for Blasts is that if you have any form of reroll, even if it's Preferred enemy, you can reroll the whole thing. But apparently that's not entirely true?


Or you were listening to someone who had frequent rules errors.. and even humorous videos pointing out his rules errors.
   
Made in us
The Conquerer






Waiting for my shill money from Spiral Arm Studios

MWG are horrible at knowing even some basic rules. You get to reroll all the dice.

Its honestly why I do not watch MWG anymore. They absolutely butcher the rules of every game they play.

Self-proclaimed evil Cat-person. Dues Ex Felines

Cato Sicarius, after force feeding Captain Ventris a copy of the Codex Astartes for having the audacity to play Deathwatch, chokes to death on his own D-baggery after finding Calgar assembling his new Eldar army.

MURICA!!! IN SPESS!!! 
   
Made in ca
Fixture of Dakka




Vanished Completely

Can one be blamed for stating that the Rules define the words 'Scatter Dice' to mean the arrow covered die itself when they literally do just that?

Warhammer 40,000 uses a special dice called a scatter dice (marked with arrows and a Hit! symbol). This dice is mostly used to determine a random direction, most often applied when working out the behaviour of blast weapons, such as mortars and battle cannons.
- Scatter Dice, General Principals

From this point on I will be discussing Authors Intent because I do not know enough to comment on Written:
I don't know anything about this particular Node, the exact wording or even what is being 'scattered' in this situation but I do know this: It is most likely a Blast Weapon being discussed. The section of the book titled "Blast Weapons and Re-rolls" shows clear intent to Re-roll a Scatter Dice and the 2D6 together when it comes to Blast Weapons. This is likely because the Re-Roll Rules do not address a Scatter Die at all, so they needed to ensure there was another Rule that did. In any case, I will also bring the Re-Roll Rules to further support Authors Intent as they make it clear to Re-Roll all dice unless permission to chose one is granted. There is also the possibility of a 'computer error' or 'printing mistake' that comes from lazy editing and lack there of as Re-roll Scatter and Re-Roll Scatter Dice are very similar terminology.

A replace function could of easily slipped the word Dice in when the document was ran it through spell check and no one proof read well enough to notice.

This message was edited 3 times. Last update was at 2014/10/16 03:20:16


8th made it so I can no longer sway Tau onto the side of Chaos, but they will eventually turn aside from their idea of the Greater Good to embrace the Greatest of pleasures.  
   
Made in gb
Tough Tyrant Guard





SHE-FI-ELD

Yeaaaah, in English we do regulary use 'Dice' to reffer to a singular as well as multiple dice - you never hear someone use 'die' really.


From Ox dic

Usage
In modern standard English, the singular die (rather than dice) is uncommon. Dice is used for both the singular and the plural.


So yeah, maybe he isn't wrong =). RAW could actually be either, but based on what Jinx said it's more likely to be the singular dice.

This message was edited 4 times. Last update was at 2014/10/16 07:47:54


It's my codex and I'll cry If I want to.

Tactical objectives are fantastic 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: