Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/10/27 01:58:43
Subject: Partially & fully under a blast template clarification
|
 |
Sinewy Scourge
Commoragh (closer to the bottom)
|
So I'm pretty sure I know the answer to this, but when it says " if any model is partially or fully under the blast". It is referring to the base of the model , correct? Not an arm, leg or any other part of the actual model, correct?
|
Wyzilla wrote:Saying the Eldar won the War in Heaven is like saying a child won a fight with a murderer simply because after breaking into his house, shooting his mother and father through the head, the thug took off in a car instead of finishing off the kid.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/10/27 02:07:08
Subject: Partially & fully under a blast template clarification
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
base of model if based, model if not based.
models must come on the bases they are supplied with.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/10/27 02:08:09
Subject: Partially & fully under a blast template clarification
|
 |
Sinewy Scourge
Commoragh (closer to the bottom)
|
Ok thanks, that's what I thought.
|
Wyzilla wrote:Saying the Eldar won the War in Heaven is like saying a child won a fight with a murderer simply because after breaking into his house, shooting his mother and father through the head, the thug took off in a car instead of finishing off the kid.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/10/27 02:08:54
Subject: Partially & fully under a blast template clarification
|
 |
Captain of the Forlorn Hope
|
blaktoof wrote:base of model if based, model if not based.
models must come on the bases they are supplied with.
Its actually either or.
If a part of the model, or a part of the models base is under the marker, that model is hit.
|
"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.
I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!
We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/10/27 02:22:40
Subject: Partially & fully under a blast template clarification
|
 |
Sinewy Scourge
Commoragh (closer to the bottom)
|
If the model has a base, then you use the base. If it doesn't l then you use the model. That's how I'm reading it
|
Wyzilla wrote:Saying the Eldar won the War in Heaven is like saying a child won a fight with a murderer simply because after breaking into his house, shooting his mother and father through the head, the thug took off in a car instead of finishing off the kid.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/10/27 02:44:50
Subject: Partially & fully under a blast template clarification
|
 |
[MOD]
Making Stuff
|
There is no such rule in 7th edition.
That's how it used to work, however.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/10/27 02:59:38
Subject: Partially & fully under a blast template clarification
|
 |
Sinewy Scourge
Commoragh (closer to the bottom)
|
Well some where near where the basic rules are( don't have a page number) it talks about using the base for measurements and determining if it is under the template/ blast. Says use base for all intents and purposes .
|
Wyzilla wrote:Saying the Eldar won the War in Heaven is like saying a child won a fight with a murderer simply because after breaking into his house, shooting his mother and father through the head, the thug took off in a car instead of finishing off the kid.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/10/27 03:06:22
Subject: Partially & fully under a blast template clarification
|
 |
Lieutenant General
|
DaKKaLAnce wrote:Well some where near where the basic rules are( don't have a page number) it talks about using the base for measurements and determining if it is under the template/ blast. Says use base for all intents and purposes .
For measurement, yes. For determining if a model is under a blast marker or template you simply use the model, with a clarification that the base is a part of the model.
|
'It is a source of constant consternation that my opponents cannot correlate their innate inferiority with their inevitable defeat. It would seem that stupidity is as eternal as war.'
- Nemesor Zahndrekh of the Sautekh Dynasty Overlord of the Crownworld of Gidrim |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/10/27 05:09:14
Subject: Partially & fully under a blast template clarification
|
 |
Never Forget Isstvan!
|
What he's saying is that you are "measuring" to see if the blast template hits.
|
JOIN MY CRUSADE and gain 4000 RT points!
http://www.eternalcrusade.com/account/sign-up/?ref_code=EC-PLCIKYCABW8PG |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/10/27 05:33:51
Subject: Partially & fully under a blast template clarification
|
 |
[MOD]
Making Stuff
|
Eihnlazer wrote:What he's saying is that you are "measuring" to see if the blast template hits.
And what he's being told is no, you're not.
You're looking at which models are under a marker. Rules for measuring distances between models have nothing to do with that.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/10/27 13:45:51
Subject: Partially & fully under a blast template clarification
|
 |
The Hive Mind
|
DaKKaLAnce wrote:Well some where near where the basic rules are( don't have a page number) it talks about using the base for measurements and determining if it is under the template/ blast. Says use base for all intents and purposes .
The underlined isn't actually a rule anywhere.
If you still think you're correct, I challenge you to find the rule.
|
My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/10/27 14:08:24
Subject: Partially & fully under a blast template clarification
|
 |
Sinewy Scourge
Commoragh (closer to the bottom)
|
rigeld2 wrote:DaKKaLAnce wrote:Well some where near where the basic rules are( don't have a page number) it talks about using the base for measurements and determining if it is under the template/ blast. Says use base for all intents and purposes .
The underlined isn't actually a rule anywhere.
If you still think you're correct, I challenge you to find the rule.
“A unit takes a hit for each model that is fully, or even partially, underneath the template or blast marker. Remember that a model’s base is counted as being part of the model itself, so all a template or blast marker has to do to cause a hit is to cover any part of the target’s base.”
Excerpt From: Workshop, Games. “Warhammer 40,000 (Interactive Edition).”
Would this work? This is what I'm asking for clarification for.
|
Wyzilla wrote:Saying the Eldar won the War in Heaven is like saying a child won a fight with a murderer simply because after breaking into his house, shooting his mother and father through the head, the thug took off in a car instead of finishing off the kid.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/10/27 14:17:21
Subject: Partially & fully under a blast template clarification
|
 |
Death-Dealing Devastator
Essex, UK
|
How do Jetbikes work in this regard? They are significantly larger than their 'base' size.
The line above regarding 'all a template or blast has to do to cause a hit is cover any part of the target's base' is somewhat confusing.
It also brings in to account the age old argument from 6th about 'weapons and wargear' not counting as part of the model for drawing line of sight. And the actual bike is clearly wargear.
Just wanted to get some solid opinions on this as I cant find anything concrete in the rules myself.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/10/27 14:31:38
Subject: Partially & fully under a blast template clarification
|
 |
Martial Arts Fiday
|
The marker only has to cover a part of the model and the base is considered part of the model for the purpose of blasts/templates. So either the model or base can be covered to cause a hit.
|
"Holy Sh*&, you've opened my eyes and changed my mind about this topic, thanks Dakka OT!"
-Nobody Ever
Proverbs 18:2
"CHEESE!" is the battlecry of the ill-prepared.
warboss wrote:
GW didn't mean to hit your wallet and I know they love you, baby. I'm sure they won't do it again so it's ok to purchase and make up. 
Albatross wrote:I think SlaveToDorkness just became my new hero.
EmilCrane wrote:Finecast is the new Matt Ward.
Don't mess with the Blade and Bolter! |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/10/27 15:59:32
Subject: Partially & fully under a blast template clarification
|
 |
The Hive Mind
|
DaKKaLAnce wrote:rigeld2 wrote:DaKKaLAnce wrote:Well some where near where the basic rules are( don't have a page number) it talks about using the base for measurements and determining if it is under the template/ blast. Says use base for all intents and purposes .
The underlined isn't actually a rule anywhere.
If you still think you're correct, I challenge you to find the rule.
“A unit takes a hit for each model that is fully, or even partially, underneath the template or blast marker. Remember that a model’s base is counted as being part of the model itself, so all a template or blast marker has to do to cause a hit is to cover any part of the target’s base.”
Excerpt From: Workshop, Games. “Warhammer 40,000 (Interactive Edition).”
Would this work? This is what I'm asking for clarification for.
That rule says the opposite - that the hit happens if the model is under the marker, and that a base counts as part of the model... but nothing saying that only the base counts.
|
My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/10/27 17:30:15
Subject: Partially & fully under a blast template clarification
|
 |
Gore-Soaked Lunatic Witchhunter
Seattle
|
Basically, if you have a model... let's say a Ripper Swarm, whose base is larger than the actual figures on top of it, it is hit by the Blast Template if any part of its base falls under the marker.
Conversely, if you have a Space Marine with the Shoulder Pads of Impressive Magnitude and his shoulders stick out half an inch past his base, he, too, is struck by the Blast if his shoulder pads fall under the marker.
|
It is best to be a pessimist. You are usually right and, when you're wrong, you're pleasantly surprised. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/10/27 17:30:22
Subject: Partially & fully under a blast template clarification
|
 |
Death-Dealing Devastator
Essex, UK
|
Just got a bit of clarification, as the 'Bike' part of a Jetbike model is wargear it doesnt count for LoS and being hit much the same as weapons or banner poles.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/10/27 17:45:10
Subject: Partially & fully under a blast template clarification
|
 |
Lieutenant General
|
AlexRae wrote:Just got a bit of clarification, as the 'Bike' part of a Jetbike model is wargear it doesnt count for LoS and being hit much the same as weapons or banner poles.
Do you have an actual rule to back that up?
|
'It is a source of constant consternation that my opponents cannot correlate their innate inferiority with their inevitable defeat. It would seem that stupidity is as eternal as war.'
- Nemesor Zahndrekh of the Sautekh Dynasty Overlord of the Crownworld of Gidrim |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/10/27 20:02:40
Subject: Partially & fully under a blast template clarification
|
 |
[MOD]
Making Stuff
|
DaKKaLAnce wrote:“A unit takes a hit for each model that is fully, or even partially, underneath the template or blast marker. Remember that a model’s base is counted as being part of the model itself, so all a template or blast marker has to do to cause a hit is to cover any part of the target’s base.”
Excerpt From: Workshop, Games. “Warhammer 40,000 (Interactive Edition).”
Would this work? This is what I'm asking for clarification for.
That says that the base counts. It doesn't say that only the base counts.
Automatically Appended Next Post:
AlexRae wrote:It also brings in to account the age old argument from 6th about 'weapons and wargear' not counting as part of the model for drawing line of sight. And the actual bike is clearly wargear.
Again, determining hits from blast markers has nothing whatsoever to do with the LOS rules.
|
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2014/10/27 20:06:19
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/10/28 08:45:00
Subject: Partially & fully under a blast template clarification
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
AlexRae wrote:Just got a bit of clarification, as the 'Bike' part of a Jetbike model is wargear it doesnt count for LoS and being hit much the same as weapons or banner poles.
That isnt actual rules. It is part of the model, so can be hit. Youre thinking of LOS, NOT being covered by blast markers.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/10/28 09:38:36
Subject: Partially & fully under a blast template clarification
|
 |
Ultramarine Chaplain with Hate to Spare
|
It comes down to whether you believe you must measure to see what is beneath the template/marker or simply look. The former interpretation means that only the base counts and not the model however the blast marker and template rules do not mention measuring. The later means if you hold the marker close enough to your eye you hit the entire board.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/10/28 10:41:26
Subject: Partially & fully under a blast template clarification
|
 |
[MOD]
Making Stuff
|
FlingitNow wrote:IThe later means if you hold the marker close enough to your eye you hit the entire board.
Being able to see something through the marker is not the same as something being under the marker.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/10/28 11:51:49
Subject: Partially & fully under a blast template clarification
|
 |
Ultramarine Chaplain with Hate to Spare
|
So are you measuring what is beneath the marker or simply looking to see what is below it?
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/10/28 11:55:53
Subject: Partially & fully under a blast template clarification
|
 |
Confessor Of Sins
|
In terms of RaW interpretation, it could easily be represented as a Cylinder the size of the Blast marker, where any ingress within the cylinder is considered "under" as long as the marker is high enough.
|
DA:80-S+G+M+B++I-Pw40k01++D+++A+++WD100R++T(T)DM+
Roronoa Zoro wrote:When the world shoves you around, you just gotta stand up and shove back. It's not like somebody's gonna save you if you start babbling excuses. - Bring on the hardship. It's preferred in a path of carnage. Manchu wrote:
It's like you take a Space Marine and say "what could make him cooler?" Instead of adding more super-genetic-psycho-organic modification, you take it all away. You have a regular human left in power armor and all the armies of hell at the gates. And she doesn't even flinch. Pure. Badass. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/10/28 11:57:10
Subject: Partially & fully under a blast template clarification
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
FlingitNow wrote:So are you measuring what is beneath the marker or simply looking to see what is below it?
You never measure, you determine if it is beneath the marker. You do not need to be able to physically see the model, nor do you need to measure to the base. It is just "under" the marker that counts.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/10/28 15:48:43
Subject: Partially & fully under a blast template clarification
|
 |
Preacher of the Emperor
|
What about an iron priest with a thunderwolf mount wargear upgrade. the base of the iron priest is hidden, and the only physical part of anything shown is the wolf's head. can someone target that unit?
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/10/28 16:29:21
Subject: Partially & fully under a blast template clarification
|
 |
Captain of the Forlorn Hope
|
deviantduck wrote:What about an iron priest with a thunderwolf mount wargear upgrade. the base of the iron priest is hidden, and the only physical part of anything shown is the wolf's head. can someone target that unit?
if the blast marker lands on the wolf's head then that is a hit.
|
"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.
I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!
We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/10/28 17:03:36
Subject: Partially & fully under a blast template clarification
|
 |
Been Around the Block
|
Just a quick Clarification for everyone, due to the rule and only rule posted in this thread by Dakkalance it is concluded that
Both the model(war gear and all) and the base can both constitute a hit from a blast, regardless of how much is under the template. It is all a hit.
=)
|
Tau 6600
Grey Knights 4600
Orks 4000 |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/10/28 19:32:41
Subject: Partially & fully under a blast template clarification
|
 |
[MOD]
Making Stuff
|
deviantduck wrote:What about an iron priest with a thunderwolf mount wargear upgrade. the base of the iron priest is hidden, and the only physical part of anything shown is the wolf's head. can someone target that unit?
The wolf is part of the model. If part of the model is under the marker, the model is hit. Automatically Appended Next Post: FlingitNow wrote:So are you measuring what is beneath the marker or simply looking to see what is below it?
You are looking to see what is under the marker. That doesn't mean that anything that you can see, anywhere, through the marker is underneath it.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/10/28 19:33:17
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/10/28 21:33:19
Subject: Partially & fully under a blast template clarification
|
 |
Preacher of the Emperor
|
DeathReaper wrote: deviantduck wrote:What about an iron priest with a thunderwolf mount wargear upgrade. the base of the iron priest is hidden, and the only physical part of anything shown is the wolf's head. can someone target that unit?
if the blast marker lands on the wolf's head then that is a hit.
Right, I wasn't clear enough though, I was thinking along the tangent topic lines of a lascanon. If the lascanon can only see the wolf head, is it considered part of the iron priest? or irrelevant wargear like a backpack?
|
|
|
 |
 |
|