| Author |
Message |
 |
|
|
 |
|
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/11/12 14:24:58
Subject: Daemon Summoning and ICs
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
In order to join a unit, an Independent Character simply has to move so that he is within the 2" unit coherency distance of a friendly unit at the end of their Movement phase. If the Independent Character is within 2" of more than one unit at the end of its Movement phase, the player must declare which unit it is joining. If an Independent Character does not intend to (or cannot) join a unit, it must (where possible) remain more than 2" away from it at the end of the Movement phase. This is to make clear whether they have joined a unit or not. Note that, after an Independent Character joins a unit, that unit can move no further that Movement phase.
If you DeepStrike (no scatter thanks to Cursed Earth) a Tzeentch Herald within 2" of a Screamer Unit, isn't he joined to that unit automatically ?
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/11/12 14:36:33
Subject: Re:Daemon Summoning and ICs
|
 |
Confessor Of Sins
|
Question is: Do you move when you Deep Strike?
Main issue with Deep Striking: You "count as" moving but the models never move...
|
DA:80-S+G+M+B++I-Pw40k01++D+++A+++WD100R++T(T)DM+
Roronoa Zoro wrote:When the world shoves you around, you just gotta stand up and shove back. It's not like somebody's gonna save you if you start babbling excuses. - Bring on the hardship. It's preferred in a path of carnage. Manchu wrote:
It's like you take a Space Marine and say "what could make him cooler?" Instead of adding more super-genetic-psycho-organic modification, you take it all away. You have a regular human left in power armor and all the armies of hell at the gates. And she doesn't even flinch. Pure. Badass. |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/11/12 14:55:39
Subject: Daemon Summoning and ICs
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
No, an IC can only join and leave a unit during the movement phase. The IC is created during the psychic phase and missed its chance at joining a unit that turn.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/11/12 15:38:45
Subject: Daemon Summoning and ICs
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Indeed, the movement phase seals the deal.
Thanks xera32.
He cannot join or leave during any other phase
This prevents any discussion on the "their movement phase".
|
|
This message was edited 3 times. Last update was at 2014/11/12 15:42:00
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/11/12 17:33:23
Subject: Daemon Summoning and ICs
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Doesn't matter if DSing is movement.
at the end of the movement phase any IC within 2" of a unit is joined to it. there is no actual requirement to move.
No other option to join at other times.
|
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/11/12 17:33:49
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/11/12 17:36:32
Subject: Daemon Summoning and ICs
|
 |
Fixture of Dakka
Vanished Completely
|
Blaktoof,
In order to join a unit, an Independent Character simply has to move so...
- Joining and Leaving a Unit
|
8th made it so I can no longer sway Tau onto the side of Chaos, but they will eventually turn aside from their idea of the Greater Good to embrace the Greatest of pleasures. |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/11/12 18:00:13
Subject: Daemon Summoning and ICs
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
JinxDragon wrote:Blaktoof,
In order to join a unit, an Independent Character simply has to move so...
- Joining and Leaving a Unit
the .... has some more stuff. Which you should have kept reading.
In order to join a unit, an Independent Character simply has to move so that he is within the 2" unit coherency distance of a friendly unit at the end of their Movement phase.
If an Independent Character does not intend to (or cannot) join a unit, it must (where possible) remain more than 2" away from it at the end of the Movement phase. This is to make clear whether they have joined a unit or not. Note that, after an Independent Character joins a unit, that unit can move no further that Movement phase.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/11/12 18:01:33
Subject: Daemon Summoning and ICs
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Yes, it does have more.
The requirement is still: has to move.
If you do not move, have you complied with the requirement to move? Yes or No.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/11/12 18:03:06
Subject: Daemon Summoning and ICs
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
the point of my statement for those that want to argue instead of read it, is it does not matter if DSing is movement or not.
because in the case of summoning daemons here, it doesnt happen in the movement phase so the IC cannot join since joining is done at the end of the movement phase.
Doesn't matter if DSing is movement.
at the end of the movement phase any IC within 2" of a unit is joined to it. there is no actual requirement to move.
No other option to join at other times.
doesnt matter if DSing is movement.
because in the case of summoning it happens after movement so you cannot join the herald to the unit.
|
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/11/12 18:03:40
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/11/12 18:09:18
Subject: Daemon Summoning and ICs
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
blaktoof wrote:Doesn't matter if DSing is movement.
at the end of the movement phase any IC within 2" of a unit is joined to it. there is no actual requirement to move.
No other option to join at other times.
We read your argument, it is just the BOLD assertion you made has no basis in rules.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/11/12 18:12:35
Subject: Daemon Summoning and ICs
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
nosferatu1001 wrote:blaktoof wrote:Doesn't matter if DSing is movement.
at the end of the movement phase any IC within 2" of a unit is joined to it. there is no actual requirement to move.
No other option to join at other times.
We read your argument, it is just the BOLD assertion you made has no basis in rules.
while I appreciate your ever need to comment on things not germaine to the topic.
If the Independent Character is within 2" of more than one unit at the end of its Movement phase, the player must declare which unit it is joining.
this statement states plainly in written rules that if the IC is within 2" of more than one unit at the end of its movement phae, you must declare which you are joining.
IN this instance there is no requirement to move, and this is a basis in the actual rules.
IE IC does not move, 2 units move within 2" (all legal)
end of movement phase you must declare which the IC has joined.
|
|
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2014/11/12 18:16:43
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/11/12 18:20:42
Subject: Daemon Summoning and ICs
|
 |
Daemonic Dreadnought
|
What if the model is moved? For instance, the model is tank shocked and that puts it into an inch of a friendly unit?
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/11/12 18:28:39
Subject: Daemon Summoning and ICs
|
 |
Lieutenant General
|
techsoldaten wrote:What if the model is moved? For instance, the model is tank shocked and that puts it into an inch of a friendly unit?
If successfully Tank Shocked, the model is falling back and can't join/be joined due to the Independent Character rules. If unsuccessful, the model is moved through as if it was not there and therefore did not 'move'.
|
'It is a source of constant consternation that my opponents cannot correlate their innate inferiority with their inevitable defeat. It would seem that stupidity is as eternal as war.'
- Nemesor Zahndrekh of the Sautekh Dynasty Overlord of the Crownworld of Gidrim |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/11/12 19:33:14
Subject: Daemon Summoning and ICs
|
 |
Fixture of Dakka
Vanished Completely
|
blaktoff, The point of my post, and why the rest was irrelevant, was to highlight that the Rule contains instructions stating that the Independent Character moves as part of the process. One can be free to argue that they believed the Author Intended for the Joining rule to trigger, regardless of Movement, but the actual Written Rule contains the word move and that can not be waved away. From nothing but a Written Rule perspective, if a Model does not Move it can never trigger any Rule which requires Movement as part of it's instructions. In order to do it in reverse, have a different Unit move into coherency with the Independent Character and trigger Joining, we would need instructions stating that is a legal way to Join a Unit.
|
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/11/12 19:34:12
8th made it so I can no longer sway Tau onto the side of Chaos, but they will eventually turn aside from their idea of the Greater Good to embrace the Greatest of pleasures. |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/11/12 19:44:50
Subject: Daemon Summoning and ICs
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
JinxDragon wrote:blaktoff,
The point of my post, and why the rest was irrelevant, was to highlight that the Rule contains instructions stating that the Independent Character moves as part of the process. One can be free to argue that they believed the Author Intended for the Joining rule to trigger, regardless of Movement, but the actual Written Rule contains the word move and that can not be waved away. From nothing but a Written Rule perspective, if a Model does not Move it can never trigger any Rule which requires Movement as part of it's instructions.
In order to do it in reverse, have a different Unit move into coherency with the Independent Character and trigger Joining, we would need instructions stating that is a legal way to Join a Unit.
If the Independent Character is within 2" of more than one unit at the end of its Movement phase, the player must declare which unit it is joining
the above is a rule as written, and does not require the character to move to resolve the must.
regardless outside of the two unit situation I agree that the rules state the character moves to within 2"
and regardless of all of the above, joining doesn't happen when the character moves into 2" it happens at the end of the movement phase if they end up moved within 2" of a unit they are eligible to join. Which is why you cannot summon a Herald into 2" range and join it as that is in the psychic phase, not the end of the movement phase.
|
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/11/12 19:45:21
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/11/12 20:04:08
Subject: Daemon Summoning and ICs
|
 |
Fixture of Dakka
Vanished Completely
|
Two things:
1) This Rule is also conflicting, how can the Model ever be within coherency with two Units if it is restricted from ever being within 2 inches of a Unit it did not intend to Join?
B) That sentence has been isolated and presented as a stand alone Rule, I state it is a clause directly related to the instructions that require the Independent Character to Move.
|
8th made it so I can no longer sway Tau onto the side of Chaos, but they will eventually turn aside from their idea of the Greater Good to embrace the Greatest of pleasures. |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/11/12 20:27:39
Subject: Daemon Summoning and ICs
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
B) above is correct - it is not an isolated concept, it is still predicated on the initial requirement that the IC has moved.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/11/13 10:08:16
Subject: Re:Daemon Summoning and ICs
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
What are you even discussing ?
In the rule itself, after all the lines you have quoted, is the line that I quoted:
He cannot join or leave during any other phase
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/11/13 14:01:52
Subject: Daemon Summoning and ICs
|
 |
Fixture of Dakka
Chicago, Illinois
|
No, because it clearly states that it happens at the end of the movement phase.
The same exact answer for " If a character runs to with in 2 of a unit does he join it?
|
If I lose it is because I had bad luck, if you win it is because you cheated. |
|
|
 |
 |
|
|