| Author |
Message |
 |
|
|
 |
|
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/11/18 23:31:55
Subject: Suffer's a wound, and look out sir
|
 |
Sneaky Sniper Drone
|
Ran into this argument the other day, Ill try to present it how it was presented to me
when a model ''Suffers" one or more wounds, that model cannot make a lookout sir roll.
A model "suffers a wound" after it fails its armor save.
Under Types of saving Throws-
"If the result is lower than the Armour Save value, the armour fails to protect its wearer and it suffers a Wound. This means that, unlike most characteristics, an Armour Save is better if it is a lower number."
Suffering a wound happens after wound allocation and thus after you are able to look out sir
From Look Out Sir
When a Wound is allocated to one of your non-vehicle characters, and there is another model from the same unit within 6", he is allowed a Look Out, Sir attempt.
The only thing that can happen to a model/unit that "suffers a wound" is an invuln save
From Invulnerable Saves
Invulnerable saves are different to armour saves because they may always be taken whenever the model suffers a Wound or, in the case of vehicles, suffers a penetrating or glancing hit – the Armour Piercing value of attacking weapons has no effect on an invulnerable save.
Idk... when i tried to find a problem with it i couldn't, but it sounds a bit strange
this has some big implications if its true
|
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/11/18 23:34:49
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/11/18 23:37:13
Subject: Suffer's a wound, and look out sir
|
 |
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw
|
Look out sir! happens when a wound is allocated to the model.
This is before saves are rolled.
If it's suffered a wound, you've already passed the stage you LOS!
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/11/18 23:44:38
Subject: Suffer's a wound, and look out sir
|
 |
Fixture of Dakka
Vanished Completely
|
|
8th made it so I can no longer sway Tau onto the side of Chaos, but they will eventually turn aside from their idea of the Greater Good to embrace the Greatest of pleasures. |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/11/18 23:47:33
Subject: Suffer's a wound, and look out sir
|
 |
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw
|
They, they really shouldn't have said you can take an invul when you "suffer a wound" that's bad rules writitng.
It's taken in place of an Armour save, and should be taken when a wound is allocated, not when it's suffered.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/11/18 23:48:34
Subject: Suffer's a wound, and look out sir
|
 |
Sneaky Sniper Drone
|
Yea saw that post, wasnt sure if it was to old, to post in, and no one, from what i could see, outlined things like I have here.
I'm curious if someone can see a valid hole in the above reading of the rules
|
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/11/18 23:49:43
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/11/18 23:51:06
Subject: Suffer's a wound, and look out sir
|
 |
Fixture of Dakka
Vanished Completely
|
Indeed, Long and short of it is... we do not know 100% what the Author Intended thanks to the misuse of the words 'suffer' in a few Rules which directly relate to Allocation. Rule as Written is at least easily answered, being black and white as it is: Look Out, Sir! triggers immediately after a Wound is Allocated.
|
|
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2014/11/18 23:52:44
8th made it so I can no longer sway Tau onto the side of Chaos, but they will eventually turn aside from their idea of the Greater Good to embrace the Greatest of pleasures. |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/11/19 09:12:14
Subject: Suffer's a wound, and look out sir
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
What specific example do you have in mind ?
|
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/11/19 09:14:47
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/11/19 10:48:44
Subject: Suffer's a wound, and look out sir
|
 |
Fighter Pilot
|
I have had people insist on resolving the wound on a high T boss, (to reduce the chance of a wound being inflicted in the first place) THEN do the "Look out Sir" .
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/11/19 10:56:33
Subject: Suffer's a wound, and look out sir
|
 |
Auspicious Daemonic Herald
|
scommy wrote:I have had people insist on resolving the wound on a high T boss, (to reduce the chance of a wound being inflicted in the first place) THEN do the "Look out Sir" .
Thats not how the rules work. When you roll to wound you roll against majority toughness, not the toughness of the model being allocated to.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/11/19 10:57:59
Subject: Suffer's a wound, and look out sir
|
 |
Experienced Maneater
|
scommy wrote:I have had people insist on resolving the wound on a high T boss, (to reduce the chance of a wound being inflicted in the first place) THEN do the "Look out Sir" .
Aren't wounds resolved on the majority of T inside a unit?
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/11/19 11:00:30
Subject: Suffer's a wound, and look out sir
|
 |
Stealthy Space Wolves Scout
|
grendel083 wrote:They, they really shouldn't have said you can take an invul when you "suffer a wound" that's bad rules writitng.
It's taken in place of an Armour save, and should be taken when a wound is allocated, not when it's suffered.
Maybe we've all been playing it wrong... Maybe when a terminator takes a 2+ and rolls a 1, he then gets to try to roll a 5++
|
DR:80-S++G+M-B---I+Pw40k#10++D+A++++/cWD-R+++T(T)DM+
(Grey Knights 4500+) (Eldar 4000+ Pts) (Tyranids 3000 Pts) (Tau 3000 Pts) (Imperial Guard 3500 Pts) (Doom Eagles 3000 Pts) (Orks 3000+ Pts) (Necrons 2500 Pts) (Daemons 2000) (Sisters of Battle 2000) (2 Imperial Knights) |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/11/19 11:06:58
Subject: Suffer's a wound, and look out sir
|
 |
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw
|
Pyeatt wrote: grendel083 wrote:They, they really shouldn't have said you can take an invul when you "suffer a wound" that's bad rules writitng.
It's taken in place of an Armour save, and should be taken when a wound is allocated, not when it's suffered.
Maybe we've all been playing it wrong... Maybe when a terminator takes a 2+ and rolls a 1, he then gets to try to roll a 5++
The "Models with more than one save" cover that, you may only ever take one save.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/11/19 12:36:22
Subject: Suffer's a wound, and look out sir
|
 |
Noise Marine Terminator with Sonic Blaster
|
If the armor saves of the unit and the leader are the same, I am fine with LOS rolls being done after the armor saves. The end result is the same.
However, if it is a terminator captain with marines, you absolutely cannot take the termie saves, then when you fail it, try to LOS it off.
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/11/19 17:13:55
Subject: Suffer's a wound, and look out sir
|
 |
Fixture of Dakka
Vanished Completely
|
Morgoth, If the result is lower than the Armour Save value, the armour fails to protect its wearer and it suffers a Wound. The above line is the second use of the words Suffers a Wound, the first was in Psychic Phase to inform us a Psyker manifest a power even when suffering a Wound even if it removes the Model as a Casualty. Both of these uses inform us that Suffering a Wound occurs after the Saving process. However, right after it is the good old Invulnerability Save and the fact its timing is outside of the correct point in the Sequence. This error has even led someone here to wonder if we where doing Invulnerability Saves wrong all this time, though more precise Rules highlight that it was a typo and nothing more. This is a direct example of the terminology "Suffers a Wound" occurring after Allocation, which is when Look out, Sir! rolls are taken, and then an example of them using it in a completely different way a few paragraphs down. Then there are Rules like Get's Hot, which uses the terminology 'Suffers a Wound' then straight after informing us that these Wounds can not be Looked out, Sir!-ed away. It is inclusion of things like this in the book which have made a lot of people think they can Look out Sir anything away anything which reduces the Wound characteristic, unless specifically informed not to. This is clearly not correct as Look out Sir only occurs when a Wound is Allocated, not every time a Wound is Suffered, as a reduced Wound Characteristic can occur through many non-Allocating means. Such things include: Dangerous Terrain Perils of the Warp Anything that skips the default Wounding process entirely Anything that resolves against a specific Model, such as focused Witchfires and more once you crack open a codex....
|
|
This message was edited 4 times. Last update was at 2014/11/20 08:20:55
8th made it so I can no longer sway Tau onto the side of Chaos, but they will eventually turn aside from their idea of the Greater Good to embrace the Greatest of pleasures. |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/11/19 17:42:56
Subject: Suffer's a wound, and look out sir
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Hanskrampf wrote: scommy wrote:I have had people insist on resolving the wound on a high T boss, (to reduce the chance of a wound being inflicted in the first place) THEN do the "Look out Sir" .
Aren't wounds resolved on the majority of T inside a unit?
the roll to wound is done with the majority toughness, but you use the models toughness when the wound is applied for things like ID.
unrelated to the above..,
there is only permission to LoS! allocated wounds, suffered wounds are past the allocation step.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/11/20 07:33:28
Subject: Re:Suffer's a wound, and look out sir
|
 |
Implacable Black Templar Initiate
|
I agree that "suffers" is not "allocation" and therefore can't be LOS. Try explaining that everytime you fire a Focussed Witchfire that is about to finish your opponent's character off.
I would pay $200 for a BRB if it was written by a technical writer.
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
|
|