Switch Theme:

Question regarding mixed units and character sniping  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Pile of Necron Spare Parts




I’m about to play a small (500 pt.) game against an empire player, and I have a question regarding a tactic that I plan on using.

If I cast Spirit Leech on the horse his captain is riding on, killing it, while his captain is in a unit of Knights, what happens to that unit?
Does it become a mixed unit? Does it loose the movement bonus of the other horses?
Will it force his captain out of the unit like I'm hoping so I can tag team him with my Black Knights and mounted Vampire?

Cheers
   
Made in us
[DCM]
Tzeentch's Fan Girl






Southern New Hampshire

You can't kill the horse. Mounts with only 1 wound on their profile (generally classed as War Beasts) cannot be targeted separately from their riders.

She/Her

"There are no problems that cannot be solved with cannons." - Chief Engineer Boris Krauss of Nuln

Kid_Kyoto wrote:"Don't be a dick" and "This is a family wargame" are good rules of thumb.


DR:80S++G++M--B+IPwhfb01#+D+++A+++/fWD258R++T(D)DM+++
 
   
Made in us
Dusty Skeleton




New Hampshire, USA

 Manfred von Drakken wrote:
You can't kill the horse. Mounts with only 1 wound on their profile (generally classed as War Beasts) cannot be targeted separately from their riders.

Totally correct, however, just to clarify, it's because he is considered Cavalry that the horse can't be targeted, not because it has one wound (that's how it was worded in previous editions). You also can't pick out the mount in a Monstrous Cavalry unit- so if the OP's opponent fields Demigryph knights, he can't pick off a Demigryph and make a knight walk...

The OP's tactic would work against TK though, if a King/Prince riding a chariot was joined with a unit of chariots.

   
Made in us
Pile of Necron Spare Parts




Do you think targeting his Caption will be as effective?
   
Made in us
Dusty Skeleton




New Hampshire, USA

It depends on what kind of Vampire you're using. If it's a Vampire Lord, then yeah, it's a good idea, since you'll have a significantly higher Ld (10) than his Captain (8). If it's a regular hero Vampire, then you're more likely to fail, since his Ld is higher than your Ld7. In that case, you're probably better off sniping a unit champ in a different unit (since Empire units usually have Ld7, which makes it a roll off).

Note that per the FAQ (page 6), "unmodified Leadership" in the Spirit Leech spell means your opponent can't benefit from his general's Inspiring Presence (unless the general happens to be in the unit you're Leeching).

   
Made in us
Cold-Blooded Saurus Warrior




Here is the relevant FAQ section:

Q: When taking a Leadership test, sometimes you have to take it on
your unmodified Leadership. What is your unmodified Leadership?
(p10)
A: Your unmodified Leadership is the highest Leadership
characteristic in the unit. So the Leadership from any
characters in the unit itself (but not from outside the
unit, from Inspiring Presence for example) with a higher

I suggest you don't believe anything posted by thedarkavenger unless confirmed by other regular posters here at Dakka. He has shown he is incapable of basic English comprehension.
 
   
Made in us
Courageous Silver Helm





Actually from the FAQ:

Q: Do units benefit from their General’s Inspiring Presence for
the purposes of spells that use Leadership, such as Spirit Leech or
Okkam’s Mindrazor? (p107)
A: Yes.

Confusing I know...


Automatically Appended Next Post:
There are conflicting FAQs on this one so it is usually ruled at tournies I go to.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/12/08 17:10:58


 
   
Made in us
Cold-Blooded Saurus Warrior




I remember them doing that, but assumed they had fixed it. Seriously, GW, conflicting FAQ answers from within the same FAQ. Brilliant.

I suggest you don't believe anything posted by thedarkavenger unless confirmed by other regular posters here at Dakka. He has shown he is incapable of basic English comprehension.
 
   
Made in us
Loyal Necron Lychguard





St. Louis, MO

They don't really conflict. Mindrazor and spirit leech are not leadership tests, so the faq answer that applies to ld tests has nothing to do with those spells.

Now, does it make sense to rule it that way and is it consistent? Lol, no....no it does not .

11,100 pts, 7,000 pts
++ Heed my words for I am the Herald and we are the footsteps of doom. Interlopers, do we name you. Defilers of our
sacred earth. We have awoken to your primative species and will not tolerate your presence. Ours is the way of logic,
of cold hard reason: your irrationality, your human disease has no place in the necrontyr. Flesh is weak.
Surrender to the machine incarnate. Surrender and die.
++

Tuagh wrote: If you won't use a wrench, it isn't the bolt's fault that your hammer is useless.
 
   
Made in us
Cold-Blooded Saurus Warrior




It can be argued that the FAQ defines unmodified leadership for all situations. " What is your unmodified Leadership? (p10) " vs What is your unmodified Leadership for the purposes of these spells? is a pretty big difference.

It all depends on if you want to take it as a definition of Unmodified Leadership, or a contextual definition within leadership tests.

I suggest you don't believe anything posted by thedarkavenger unless confirmed by other regular posters here at Dakka. He has shown he is incapable of basic English comprehension.
 
   
 
Forum Index » The Old World & Legacy Warhammer Fantasy Discussion
Go to: