| Author |
Message |
 |
|
|
 |
|
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/12/10 12:32:54
Subject: Transport with Outflank - can it bring passengers?
|
 |
Pulsating Possessed Space Marine of Slaanesh
|
The way I understood the wording of Outflank it's enough if one model in the unit has this, and they can bring their transport. But what if it's the other way around, the Vehicle has Outflank - can it bring it's squad
A) if it's a dedicated transport
B) if it's a separate selection with a Transport capacity.
I'm thinking yes to at least A.
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/12/10 13:00:26
Subject: Transport with Outflank - can it bring passengers?
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
In both instances the passengers NOT Having Outflank has no bearing on the vehicles ability to outflank with them.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/12/10 16:19:28
Subject: Transport with Outflank - can it bring passengers?
|
 |
Pulsating Possessed Space Marine of Slaanesh
|
nosferatu1001 wrote:In both instances the passengers NOT Having Outflank has no bearing on the vehicles ability to outflank with them.
I'm sorry, can you word that in a way less prone to misunderstanding? Do you mean that it can outflank with them in both cases? Based on what rule/wording?
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/12/10 16:49:39
Subject: Re:Transport with Outflank - can it bring passengers?
|
 |
Executing Exarch
|
There is no part of the Outflank rule that means a vehicle looses it if another unit embarks upon it. Therefore, it doesn't lose it.
You are deploying, you declare that Vehicle A is Outflanking (as per the Outflank rule, p168) and you also declare that Infantry Unit B is embarked upon vehicle A (as per Combined Reserve Units, p135). When they arrive, you make a single roll (Combined Reserve Units) and vehicle A comes in from a side table edge (Outflank).
A similar case is Scout, which specifically mentions that the vehicle doesn't lose the special rule if a non-Scout unit embarks - but since there is no default "transports lose rules when units embark", this extra text is a reminder rather than something unique to Scout.
This does not hold true for Infiltrate however, as you would need to declare the non-Infiltrate unit as either "embarked in a transport within it's deployment zone" or "in reserve" (Deployment, p132). The transport with Infiltrate isn't on the board yet, and there is no option to wait for it.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/12/10 17:16:15
Subject: Transport with Outflank - can it bring passengers?
|
 |
Pulsating Possessed Space Marine of Slaanesh
|
Great, thank you Quanar!
For anyone interested, the reason i asked is the new legacies of ruin in IA13, sort of VoTLW upgrades for vehicles. One of them, called Maelstrom Raider, grants Outflank to the Vehicle.
|
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/12/10 17:17:25
|
|
|
 |
 |
|
|