Switch Theme:

N3 LoF  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in ca
Regular Dakkanaut



Canada

On page 19 it has an example where a tag block LoF between two S2 models. The text says that it's because the has a "higher template" than the alguacil. Can we infer from this that the cylinder created by the silhouette will block LoF? So two models with the same silhouette will only block LoF to a third model with the same silhouette other if they're perfectly lined up?
   
Made in us
Dakka Veteran





Chesapeake Beach, Maryland

From page 18

The troop must be able to see, at least, a part of the volume
of its target with the size of the target’s head, or a minimum
size of approximately 3x3mm (the size of the black squares
on the Silhouette Templates).

   
Made in ca
Regular Dakkanaut



Canada

Ok, but that doesn't say anything about other silhouettes blocking said line of fire.
   
Made in us
Dakka Veteran





Chesapeake Beach, Maryland

Henshini wrote:
Ok, but that doesn't say anything about other silhouettes blocking said line of fire.


What I posted gave you the answer. Volume is the area the silhouette represents and since to draw LoF, your model has to be able to draw a straight line from its volume to the enemy volume then per your scenario, no the third model could not be targeted.

Now like I posted if the second target isn't perfectly aligned behind the primary target and the attacker can get a bead on at least a head sized portion in his volume, then he is fair game.


And just to prove I am not making up the volume thing This is also on page 18

LOF AND SILHOUETTE TEMPLATES
Infinity miniatures have some very dynamic poses that can sometimes
make it tricky to decide whether there is LoF. To make
LoF judgments easier, Infinity provides Silhouette Templates
with which to determine the actual in-game volume of a figure.

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2014/12/16 21:23:53


   
Made in nz
Camouflaged Zero





Auckland, New Zealand

Agree with NM, however I would add that you probably shouldnt try to squeeze shots off at slivers. It does of course depend on your area, but here at least it would probably be seen as poor gaming etiquette. Its never that cool when someone appears to be stretching the rules to their upmost extent. For example in our situations we normally just state that we are moving a model up to a point on a corner where X model can or can't see them. I imagine that quite a number of cases where we've said there was no LOS in the past would have been different if a silhouette was used. But I've preferred doing it the way we have so I don't particularly desire to start using silhouettes at all.

If your attack is going too well, you have walked into an ambush

The easy way is always mined

 
   
 
Forum Index » Corvus Belli (Infinity)
Go to: