Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/12/21 05:41:16
Subject: Independent character forced out of a unit?
|
 |
Painlord Titan Princeps of Slaanesh
|
In 6th edition, the independent character rule mentioned something about what happens if, after casualty removal, an independent character is no longer within 2" of anyone in the squad - he effectively is separated and becomes a separate unit at the end of the phase.
In 7th, I can't find mention of that occurrence, the rules simply stating that the ONLY time an IC can leave a unit is voluntarily, during the owning player's movement phase.
Is the rule gone? Are you always staying attached through the entire enemy turn, even if a slew of Look Out Sirs clears every single model from within a 6" radius of the IC within his unit?
|
40k Armies I play:
Glory for Slaanesh!
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/12/21 05:50:19
Subject: Independent character forced out of a unit?
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
whatsup
|
5000+ pts. Eldar 2500pts
"The only thing that match's the Eldar's firepower, is their arrogance".
8th General at Alamo GT 2011.
Tied 2nd General Alamo GT 2012
Top General Lower Bracket Railhead 2011
Top General Railhead 2012
# of Local Tournaments Won: 4
28-9-1 In Tournaments As Eldar.
Maintained a 75% Win Ratio As Eldar in 5th Edition GT's.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/12/21 06:03:11
Subject: Independent character forced out of a unit?
|
 |
Painlord Titan Princeps of Slaanesh
|
Um.....asking a question about rules, in the rules forum.... PMs are best for contacting me directly, mate.
|
40k Armies I play:
Glory for Slaanesh!
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/12/21 06:36:31
Subject: Independent character forced out of a unit?
|
 |
Fixture of Dakka
Vanished Completely
|
The only thing close to the Rule is thus: If an Independent Character joins a unit, and all other models in that unit are killed, he again becomes a unit of one model at the start of the following phase. - Independent Characters, Joining and Leaving a Unit
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/12/21 06:37:26
8th made it so I can no longer sway Tau onto the side of Chaos, but they will eventually turn aside from their idea of the Greater Good to embrace the Greatest of pleasures. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/12/21 07:41:44
Subject: Re:Independent character forced out of a unit?
|
 |
Battlewagon Driver with Charged Engine
|
BRB page 166 states the IC may only leave a unit during the movement phase. He is just out of coherency in this case. During the following movement phase, he can "move" out of the unit, even if no models actually move. Only then has he left the unit.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/12/21 08:32:12
Subject: Independent character forced out of a unit?
|
 |
Painlord Titan Princeps of Slaanesh
|
So what happens if you shoot a unit of "chaos marines with chaos lord joined" and all the chaos marines die - can you charge the lord? He's a separate unit now.
|
40k Armies I play:
Glory for Slaanesh!
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/12/21 22:24:43
Subject: Independent character forced out of a unit?
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
Minneapolis, MN
|
To answer the OP's question: yeah, it looks like this is a subtle change from 6th edition. If the intervening models die, the IC remains part of the unit (just out of coherence). On the next turn, the IC can either just leave the unit, or attempt to move back into coherence.
Spellbound wrote:So what happens if you shoot a unit of "chaos marines with chaos lord joined" and all the chaos marines die - can you charge the lord? He's a separate unit now.
He's not, though - you are charging the combined marine+lord unit, so the chaos lord remains are valid target.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/12/21 22:25:13
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/12/21 22:46:06
Subject: Re:Independent character forced out of a unit?
|
 |
Hellish Haemonculus
|
Related question- if the unit had a Soul Blaze marker in it, or a positive/negative modifier on it, would it disappear at the beginning of the movement phase when the IC ceases being a unit of Chaos Marines and reverts to being a Chaos Lord?
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/12/21 23:00:20
Subject: Re:Independent character forced out of a unit?
|
 |
Furious Fire Dragon
|
Jimsolo wrote:Related question- if the unit had a Soul Blaze marker in it, or a positive/negative modifier on it, would it disappear at the beginning of the movement phase when the IC ceases being a unit of Chaos Marines and reverts to being a Chaos Lord?
No, he would still have a Soul Blaze marker (provided it didn't go out at the end of the previous turn). Buffs and debuffs are shared by ICs and the units they are joined to and if an IC leaves, the buffs/debuffs go with them. Important to note that an IC cannot 'carry' a buff/debuff from one unit into another; only the IC will continue to be affected AND an IC cannot gain a buff/debuff by joining a unit that already has a buff/debuff in effect. This rule was also in 6th, but matters less now because movement precedes the Psychic Phase.
This is all in the BRB, p 166, right column, last subsection.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/12/21 23:04:23
Subject: Independent character forced out of a unit?
|
 |
Fixture of Dakka
Vanished Completely
|
I disagree, DanielBeaver.
The Independent Character Rule informs us that the Independent Character counts as part of the Joined Unit for all Rule Purposes. If the Rule was to create a 'Combined Unit' then instructions telling us to count the Independent Character as a member of the Joined Unit does not make any sense, we would instead have instructions specific to this 'Combined Unit.' We would also require instructions specific to the Non-Independent Character Models looking to complete this process. Without such instructions they lack the ability to leave their original Units, let alone a way to become members of this Combined Unit. The Rule quoted goes on to state the Independent Character again becomes a unit of one model at the start of the Phase, further informing us that the Model returns to it's original Unit when this Rule triggers.
Probably not intended by the Authors but the Lord would return to the 'Chaos Lord Unit' before the Charge against the 'Chaos Marine Unit' is announced....
|
8th made it so I can no longer sway Tau onto the side of Chaos, but they will eventually turn aside from their idea of the Greater Good to embrace the Greatest of pleasures. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/12/21 23:07:36
Subject: Independent character forced out of a unit?
|
 |
Captain of the Forlorn Hope
|
DanielBeaver wrote:To answer the OP's question: yeah, it looks like this is a subtle change from 6th edition. If the intervening models die, the IC remains part of the unit (just out of coherence). On the next turn, the IC can either just leave the unit, or attempt to move back into coherence.
Spellbound wrote:So what happens if you shoot a unit of "chaos marines with chaos lord joined" and all the chaos marines die - can you charge the lord? He's a separate unit now.
He's not, though - you are charging the combined marine+lord unit, so the chaos lord remains are valid target.
Yes he is a separate unit.
He was joined to a unit of chaos marines, and when an IC is joined he counts as part of the unit for all rules purposes.
So the unit you shot at is no longer there, as the IC is a different unit
Same goes for soulblaze.
|
"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.
I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!
We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/12/21 23:09:53
Subject: Re:Independent character forced out of a unit?
|
 |
Executing Exarch
|
I agree with Jinx, although it's not HIWPI and possibly not RAI (it smells like a loophole), RAW the Chaos Lord becomes a different unit at the start of the next phase, and is therefore not the unit that was shot at.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/12/22 00:07:40
Subject: Independent character forced out of a unit?
|
 |
Tough Tyrant Guard
|
DeathReaper wrote: DanielBeaver wrote:To answer the OP's question: yeah, it looks like this is a subtle change from 6th edition. If the intervening models die, the IC remains part of the unit (just out of coherence). On the next turn, the IC can either just leave the unit, or attempt to move back into coherence.
Spellbound wrote:So what happens if you shoot a unit of "chaos marines with chaos lord joined" and all the chaos marines die - can you charge the lord? He's a separate unit now.
He's not, though - you are charging the combined marine+lord unit, so the chaos lord remains are valid target.
Yes he is a separate unit.
He was joined to a unit of chaos marines, and when an IC is joined he counts as part of the unit for all rules purposes.
So the unit you shot at is no longer there, as the IC is a different unit
Same goes for soulblaze.
In regards to ongoing effects (like soulblaze) IC rules state the ongoing effect continues to be suffered if the IC leaves the unit. Soulblaze is actually one of the examples. Iirc blind is the other example (which is model not unit based, like soulblaze).
|
This message was edited 3 times. Last update was at 2014/12/22 00:10:22
It's my codex and I'll cry If I want to.
Tactical objectives are fantastic |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/12/22 00:59:12
Subject: Independent character forced out of a unit?
|
 |
Captain of the Forlorn Hope
|
Nem wrote: DeathReaper wrote: DanielBeaver wrote:To answer the OP's question: yeah, it looks like this is a subtle change from 6th edition. If the intervening models die, the IC remains part of the unit (just out of coherence). On the next turn, the IC can either just leave the unit, or attempt to move back into coherence.
Spellbound wrote:So what happens if you shoot a unit of "chaos marines with chaos lord joined" and all the chaos marines die - can you charge the lord? He's a separate unit now.
He's not, though - you are charging the combined marine+lord unit, so the chaos lord remains are valid target.
Yes he is a separate unit.
He was joined to a unit of chaos marines, and when an IC is joined he counts as part of the unit for all rules purposes.
So the unit you shot at is no longer there, as the IC is a different unit
Same goes for soulblaze.
In regards to ongoing effects (like soulblaze) IC rules state the ongoing effect continues to be suffered if the IC leaves the unit. Soulblaze is actually one of the examples. Iirc blind is the other example (which is model not unit based, like soulblaze).
That is correct, I forgot about that tidbit in the IC rules.
|
"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.
I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!
We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/12/22 20:43:03
Subject: Re:Independent character forced out of a unit?
|
 |
Annoyed Blood Angel Devastator
|
I ran into a similar situation during a game this weekend; I was playing a game with my friend, who fielded Canis Wolfborn and Harald Deathwolf as part of a unit of Fenrisisan Wolves. Canis and Harald were located on opposite ends of a long line of wolves, which I proceeded to largely wipe out during the shooting phase. I then assaulted Canis, who was now separated from the unit by a good 4-6", but my buddy said that he could use his pile in moves to bring Harald and the rest of the wolves in, which resulted in my Dreadnoughts and Assault Marines getting the crap stomped out of them. Was this entirely kosher?
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/12/22 20:43:35
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/12/22 20:58:33
Subject: Re:Independent character forced out of a unit?
|
 |
Furious Fire Dragon
|
BrokenRecord wrote:I ran into a similar situation during a game this weekend; I was playing a game with my friend, who fielded Canis Wolfborn and Harald Deathwolf as part of a unit of Fenrisisan Wolves. Canis and Harald were located on opposite ends of a long line of wolves, which I proceeded to largely wipe out during the shooting phase. I then assaulted Canis, who was now separated from the unit by a good 4-6", but my buddy said that he could use his pile in moves to bring Harald and the rest of the wolves in, which resulted in my Dreadnoughts and Assault Marines getting the crap stomped out of them. Was this entirely kosher?
Seems to be fairly dissimilar to me. However: Once assaulted, the thinned out unit (because you can't be 'shot out of' a unit' unless the entire unit, save the character, is gone) will get a 3" pile in at initiative and another 3" pile in at the end of the combat.
Now, if there's a character in a conga-line of a lot of models with a character on one end, and every model in between the character and the last model is killed, and then the one surviving model from the unit (not the character) is assaulted, and after the pile in moves (all of them), the last model is dead but the character is not in base-to-base, then, yes, the character will have been 'assaulted out of the unit'.
Not sure if this helps much.
|
|
 |
 |
|