Switch Theme:

Barrage and Wound allocation.  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Stalwart Space Marine




I had a disagreement with some players over the weekend involving how Barrage handles wound allocation.

I used a thunder fire cannon and clipped the corner of a gaunt unit. After doing all the templates and hit/wound rolls, I ended up with 6 wounds in the wound pool.

However my opponents insisted that because the templates only covered 4 models, only 4 should die instead of 6 from the whole unit. The target unit was out in the open, so there were no line of sight issues with the decision.

So, does Barrage only allocate wounds to models under the templates or does it do it to the whole unit?

An additional question for Barrage, if the initial template misses the target due to scatter, but is close enough were the second, third, etc templates can hit a target, does the first miss cause the others to fail automatically so you don't roll the direction of the follow up templates. Or do you continue to roll the direction additional templates to see if they hit?
   
Made in us
Discriminating Deathmark Assassin




Roswell, GA

It should only wounds the ones the template is over.
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




It wounds from the centre of the marker outwards, so ending up hitting models outside the template should only be possible through LOS!, or where you have multiple blasts hitting the same spot.
   
Made in gb
Ultramarine Chaplain with Hate to Spare





Ask your opponent to show you where in the Barrage rules in states wounds can only be allocated to models covered by tge template. If he can't show you that rule (which he won't be able to) then ask him what changes normal wound allocation to prevent wounds being allocated to tye bearest models.

The ONLY thing barrage changes about wound allocation is that wounds count as coming from the centre of the first blast. So not only can wounds be allocated beyond the models hit it is possible for wounds to be allocated to models not under any template first (in the case the first template misses entirely).

Nothing in multiple barrages cares how many hits are caused by a preceding marker before you move onto the next as long as the first marker is on the table.


Automatically Appended Next Post:
 Vash108 wrote:
It should only wounds the ones the template is over.


According to what rules? Or have you just made that up? Or have you posted random guesses on rules you've never read?

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2015/01/05 14:49:34


Take the Magic: The Gathering 'What Color Are You?' Quiz.

Yes my Colour is Black but not for the reasons stated mainly just because it's slimming... http://imperiusdominatus.blogspot.com 
   
Made in us
Been Around the Block




Doesn't Barrage also follow blast rules meaning you generate a wound pool as normal for the unit to take saves against? The Blast markers just act as you hits and the entirety of the unit would have to take the wounds just like a blast or even normal shooting with the only difference being the allocation of wounds starts from the center of the first barrage template.
   
Made in gb
Ultramarine Chaplain with Hate to Spare





Santange11 wrote:
Doesn't Barrage also follow blast rules meaning you generate a wound pool as normal for the unit to take saves against? The Blast markers just act as you hits and the entirety of the unit would have to take the wounds just like a blast or even normal shooting with the only difference being the allocation of wounds starts from the center of the first barrage template.


Correct.

Take the Magic: The Gathering 'What Color Are You?' Quiz.

Yes my Colour is Black but not for the reasons stated mainly just because it's slimming... http://imperiusdominatus.blogspot.com 
   
Made in us
Lone Wolf Sentinel Pilot





Lusiphur wrote:
An additional question for Barrage, if the initial template misses the target due to scatter, but is close enough were the second, third, etc templates can hit a target, does the first miss cause the others to fail automatically so you don't roll the direction of the follow up templates. Or do you continue to roll the direction additional templates to see if they hit?

I'm a bit confused about what you're saying here. When you use something without multiple blasts (thunderfire for example), you place the blast where it can hit the most targets. Roll for scatter, count how many are under it. Then you put the template back where it started and repeat this process 3 more times. So if the first misses, the next one will still fire normally and be set to scatter from the spot that you want it to hit.
   
Made in gb
Ultramarine Chaplain with Hate to Spare





 kingbobbito wrote:
Lusiphur wrote:
An additional question for Barrage, if the initial template misses the target due to scatter, but is close enough were the second, third, etc templates can hit a target, does the first miss cause the others to fail automatically so you don't roll the direction of the follow up templates. Or do you continue to roll the direction additional templates to see if they hit?

I'm a bit confused about what you're saying here. When you use something without multiple blasts (thunderfire for example), you place the blast where it can hit the most targets. Roll for scatter, count how many are under it. Then you put the template back where it started and repeat this process 3 more times. So if the first misses, the next one will still fire normally and be set to scatter from the spot that you want it to hit.



You need to read the multiple barrage rules as what you described is not at all how a TFC fires.

Take the Magic: The Gathering 'What Color Are You?' Quiz.

Yes my Colour is Black but not for the reasons stated mainly just because it's slimming... http://imperiusdominatus.blogspot.com 
   
Made in us
Dark Angels Librarian with Book of Secrets






As stated above, the Template only counts up the number of hits and you roll to wound as normal. Barrage affects it so that wound allocation and cover saves are drawn from the center of the Template. Ergo, it can kill more than just the models it covers, but only the amount of wounds done.

~1.5k
Successful Trades: Ashrog (1), Iron35 (1), Rathryan (3), Leth (1), Eshm (1), Zeke48 (1), Gorkamorka12345 (1),
Melevolence (2), Ascalam (1), Swanny318, (1) ScootyPuffJunior, (1) LValx (1), Jim Solo (1), xSoulgrinderx (1), Reese (1), Pretre (1) 
   
Made in us
Lone Wolf Sentinel Pilot





 FlingitNow wrote:
 kingbobbito wrote:
Lusiphur wrote:
An additional question for Barrage, if the initial template misses the target due to scatter, but is close enough were the second, third, etc templates can hit a target, does the first miss cause the others to fail automatically so you don't roll the direction of the follow up templates. Or do you continue to roll the direction additional templates to see if they hit?

I'm a bit confused about what you're saying here. When you use something without multiple blasts (thunderfire for example), you place the blast where it can hit the most targets. Roll for scatter, count how many are under it. Then you put the template back where it started and repeat this process 3 more times. So if the first misses, the next one will still fire normally and be set to scatter from the spot that you want it to hit.



You need to read the multiple barrage rules as what you described is not at all how a TFC fires.

And that right there is proof that you should never believe what your friend says his gun does and just read the rules instead. I never use them so just assume my opponent knows what his stuff does.
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut




Lusiphur wrote:
An additional question for Barrage, if the initial template misses the target due to scatter, but is close enough were the second, third, etc templates can hit a target, does the first miss cause the others to fail automatically so you don't roll the direction of the follow up templates. Or do you continue to roll the direction additional templates to see if they hit?


Yes you would roll the scatter dice to see if you could potentially get hits.
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: