Switch Theme:

can you assault after using gate of infinity?  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in gb
Thinking of Joining a Davinite Loge





Somewhere in the dark...

The general consensus on dakka seem to be that GoI uses the rules for deep strike when placing the models but that it isn't actually deep striking. If that is the case then i can't see anything in the wording of the power that would preclude the unit from being able to assault after gating somewhere on the board. Is this correct or do you think you cannot assault after using it?



 
   
Made in ca
Resolute Ultramarine Honor Guard






Vancouver, BC

It arrives (or re-arrive, I suppose)on the board using the rules for deep strike, which would include the limitation on launching an assault.

 warboss wrote:
Is there a permanent stickied thread for Chaos players to complain every time someone/anyone gets models or rules besides them? If not, there should be.
 
   
Made in gb
Thinking of Joining a Davinite Loge





Somewhere in the dark...

Are you sure about that? The limitation is for units arriving from reserves via deep strike. Models using gate are not deep striking, nor are they arriving from reserve.

I would normally play rules as what I believe to be RAI myself but in this instance i think the only intention was for the rule to tell us how to place the models and they chose the deep strike mechanic...

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2015/01/09 14:06:45




 
   
Made in us
Shas'ui with Bonding Knife





If they are not deep striking, what rules are you using to move them across the board and possibly scatter?
   
Made in im
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw





Liverpool

 ColdSadHungry wrote:
Are you sure about that? The limitation is for units arriving from reserves via deep strike.
No, the restriction is part of the "Arriving from Deep Strike" part of the Deep Strike rules.
This is the rule that the unit is moving by. Without using that rule, all you're doing is removing the unit from the table as per GOI, not putting them back.
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





although GoI is not arriving from deepstrike reserves, they are being placed on the table using deep strike rules.

It then immediately arrives anywhere on the board using the rules for Deep Strike.
- from GoI

there is nothing in the rules for GoI telling us that they do not count as deep striking.

as such they would have to use the rules for deep strike for placement, mishaps, and any restrictions- including may not assault the turn they are deep striking.

In that turn’s Assault phase, however, these units cannot charge.


without a specific rule in GoI telling us that they can ignore the restrictions of deep strike, or may assault- the units have no actual permission to do so.

if the above isn't enough for you, the example of conjuration brings which creates new units, that arrive via deep strike even though they are not arriving from deepstrike reserves they still may not assault that turn.

ere' we go for orks, veil of darkness, also do not allow models to assault on the turn they use them and are arriving on the board using deepstrike.


   
Made in gb
Nurgle Veteran Marine with the Flu






FYI Conjured units are explicity described as arriving from reserves for all rules purposes. I don't think this is stated for gating units.
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





 Tonberry7 wrote:
FYI Conjured units are explicity described as arriving from reserves for all rules purposes. I don't think this is stated for gating units.


You are correct.

That is stated after it states:

When the power is resolved, the new unit then arrives via Deep Strike, within the power’s maximum range;


which is why demons can not assault the turn they arrive.

   
Made in gb
Thinking of Joining a Davinite Loge





Somewhere in the dark...

blaktoof wrote:
although GoI is not arriving from deepstrike reserves, they are being placed on the table using deep strike rules.

It then immediately arrives anywhere on the board using the rules for Deep Strike.
- from GoI

there is nothing in the rules for GoI telling us that they do not count as deep striking.

as such they would have to use the rules for deep strike for placement, mishaps, and any restrictions- including may not assault the turn they are deep striking.

In that turn’s Assault phase, however, these units cannot charge.


without a specific rule in GoI telling us that they can ignore the restrictions of deep strike, or may assault- the units have no actual permission to do so.

if the above isn't enough for you, the example of conjuration brings which creates new units, that arrive via deep strike even though they are not arriving from deepstrike reserves they still may not assault that turn.

ere' we go for orks, veil of darkness, also do not allow models to assault on the turn they use them and are arriving on the board using deepstrike.




Based on some of the stuff I've read on dakka, i was under the impression that they are not actually deep striking because they are not arriving from reserves. Furthermore, if they mishap and go into ongoing reserves they walk on to the table on their turn - they don't deep strike back in.

It does look to me that the only part of the deep strike mechanic is the placement and since they are not being deployed onto the table via deep strike, they can assault after using GoI...

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2015/01/09 21:54:25




 
   
Made in us
Shas'ui with Bonding Knife





If I recall, you can deep strike out of Ongoing Reserves.
   
Made in gb
Thinking of Joining a Davinite Loge





Somewhere in the dark...

Yes you can deep strike out of ongoing reserves but they don't after using GoI because they never deep striked in the first place which is why they walk on from ongoing reserves after a mishap.



 
   
Made in us
Shas'ui with Bonding Knife





I'm reading through the digital edition and it says they arrive using the rules for Deep Strike, then it goes on to list all of the rules for deep striking. Since they are using the Deep Strike rules, we are told that they can't Assault since that rule is listed in the rules for deep striking, not from arriving from reserves.
   
Made in gb
Thinking of Joining a Davinite Loge





Somewhere in the dark...

Oh well that seals it then. I don't have a version that lists the deep strike rules with GoI so i wasn't aware of that. Thanks for the info.



 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: