Switch Theme:

Can a 60mm Base stop a CCB from reanimating?  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Freaky Flayed One





If a 60mm base is placed on the everliving token can the CCB reanimate? You are allowed 3 inches from the token and the 60mm base centered is just over an inch to its edge. You need one inch between the models so I think it should work. The issue is do you measure the inch apart from the base or the model, and do you place it by the base or by the model on the 3inches. Any help would be great. Thanks.
   
Made in gb
Confessor Of Sins





Newton Aycliffe

I might need to be corrected, but i though the Reanimate rule said "move the minimum distance to place" the model. So the CCB would be placed as close as possible to the token, but will always be placed.

DA:80-S+G+M+B++I-Pw40k01++D+++A+++WD100R++T(T)DM+
Roronoa Zoro wrote:When the world shoves you around, you just gotta stand up and shove back. It's not like somebody's gonna save you if you start babbling excuses. - Bring on the hardship. It's preferred in a path of carnage.
Manchu wrote:
It's like you take a Space Marine and say "what could make him cooler?" Instead of adding more super-genetic-psycho-organic modification, you take it all away. You have a regular human left in power armor and all the armies of hell at the gates. And she doesn't even flinch. Pure. Badass. 
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





 BlackTalos wrote:
I might need to be corrected, but i though the Reanimate rule said "move the minimum distance to place" the model. So the CCB would be placed as close as possible to the token, but will always be placed.

You're mistaken. They have to be placed within 3", and 1" away from enemy models. So you can stop them from coming back.

The main issue is that the size of the Everliving token is never defined, so many people just use the base of the CCB. a 60mm base won't be within an inch of the entire edge of a 3" circle from the CCB base.

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in us
Lone Wolf Sentinel Pilot





rigeld2 wrote:
You're mistaken. They have to be placed within 3", and 1" away from enemy models. So you can stop them from coming back.

The main issue is that the size of the Everliving token is never defined, so many people just use the base of the CCB. a 60mm base won't be within an inch of the entire edge of a 3" circle from the CCB base.

Couldn't it be argued that those 3" come from the center of the token, not from it's edge? You could get TFG that uses a token twice the size of it, and if we use your method there's no rule preventing that.

Honestly though I'd be fine with either way of doing it if the guy I was playing was being reasonable about everything else going on.
   
Made in gb
Confessor Of Sins





Newton Aycliffe

 kingbobbito wrote:
rigeld2 wrote:
You're mistaken. They have to be placed within 3", and 1" away from enemy models. So you can stop them from coming back.

The main issue is that the size of the Everliving token is never defined, so many people just use the base of the CCB. a 60mm base won't be within an inch of the entire edge of a 3" circle from the CCB base.

Couldn't it be argued that those 3" come from the center of the token, not from it's edge? You could get TFG that uses a token twice the size of it, and if we use your method there's no rule preventing that.

Honestly though I'd be fine with either way of doing it if the guy I was playing was being reasonable about everything else going on.


But then you could say that specifically putting a 60mm base where the model was is not really on the "responsible" side either

DA:80-S+G+M+B++I-Pw40k01++D+++A+++WD100R++T(T)DM+
Roronoa Zoro wrote:When the world shoves you around, you just gotta stand up and shove back. It's not like somebody's gonna save you if you start babbling excuses. - Bring on the hardship. It's preferred in a path of carnage.
Manchu wrote:
It's like you take a Space Marine and say "what could make him cooler?" Instead of adding more super-genetic-psycho-organic modification, you take it all away. You have a regular human left in power armor and all the armies of hell at the gates. And she doesn't even flinch. Pure. Badass. 
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





 kingbobbito wrote:
rigeld2 wrote:
You're mistaken. They have to be placed within 3", and 1" away from enemy models. So you can stop them from coming back.

The main issue is that the size of the Everliving token is never defined, so many people just use the base of the CCB. a 60mm base won't be within an inch of the entire edge of a 3" circle from the CCB base.

Couldn't it be argued that those 3" come from the center of the token, not from it's edge?

Please attempt to argue it. The rules that I can see don't support that argument but go ahead and try to make it.

You could get TFG that uses a token twice the size of it, and if we use your method there's no rule preventing that.

Correct! Now - find a rule preventing that. It doesn't exist. Saying it's poor behavior doesn't change that fact.

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in gb
Longtime Dakkanaut




Honestly I kinda consider keeping characters from reanimating via positioning verging on poor sportsmanship. Winning not by fighting, but by preventing room for the model.

Same with most things along these lines.
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





changemod wrote:
Honestly I kinda consider keeping characters from reanimating via positioning verging on poor sportsmanship. Winning not by fighting, but by preventing room for the model.

Same with most things along these lines.

Because you didn't have to fight to kill the model in the first place?

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in us
Lone Wolf Sentinel Pilot





rigeld2 wrote:
 kingbobbito wrote:
rigeld2 wrote:
You're mistaken. They have to be placed within 3", and 1" away from enemy models. So you can stop them from coming back.

The main issue is that the size of the Everliving token is never defined, so many people just use the base of the CCB. a 60mm base won't be within an inch of the entire edge of a 3" circle from the CCB base.

Couldn't it be argued that those 3" come from the center of the token, not from it's edge?

Please attempt to argue it. The rules that I can see don't support that argument but go ahead and try to make it.

It's an ambiguous rule. There's nothing saying you should use a token the size of a penny, or one the size of a frisbee. Meaning that there is no argument in any direction other than "there is no rule". You'd have a friendly chat with your opponent about what is reasonable, and go from there. As I can't recall the size of the model, I'd have to look at it and the terrain and from there we'd decide if it works. Argument isn't meant to be a battle of who's right and wrong, it's about finding something you can agree on with your opponent.


changemod wrote:Honestly I kinda consider keeping characters from reanimating via positioning verging on poor sportsmanship. Winning not by fighting, but by preventing room for the model.

Same with most things along these lines.

The only reason I'm okay with denying reanimation is that that same necron player would be perfectly happy using precision shot from a deathmark to pick off my apothecary, my assault cannon, etc.

And I'd look at it from the fluff perspective of double tapping them, shooting them in the head if they try to stand back up. Execution of the dying.
   
Made in gb
Longtime Dakkanaut




 kingbobbito wrote:
And I'd look at it from the fluff perspective of double tapping them, shooting them in the head if they try to stand back up. Execution of the dying.


That would be the main reason that Reanimation doesn't work if the unit is wiped: No pressing threat to distract you from keeping them down.

Ever Living is the "I'm a named character so I get to try anyway" version. Or the much better self repair systems for being a noble version.
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





 kingbobbito wrote:
rigeld2 wrote:
 kingbobbito wrote:
rigeld2 wrote:
You're mistaken. They have to be placed within 3", and 1" away from enemy models. So you can stop them from coming back.

The main issue is that the size of the Everliving token is never defined, so many people just use the base of the CCB. a 60mm base won't be within an inch of the entire edge of a 3" circle from the CCB base.

Couldn't it be argued that those 3" come from the center of the token, not from it's edge?

Please attempt to argue it. The rules that I can see don't support that argument but go ahead and try to make it.

It's an ambiguous rule. There's nothing saying you should use a token the size of a penny, or one the size of a frisbee. Meaning that there is no argument in any direction other than "there is no rule". You'd have a friendly chat with your opponent about what is reasonable, and go from there. As I can't recall the size of the model, I'd have to look at it and the terrain and from there we'd decide if it works. Argument isn't meant to be a battle of who's right and wrong, it's about finding something you can agree on with your opponent.

I underlined what you were supposed to argue. That question has literally nothing to do with the size of the token.
And the model in question has a large flying base, so about a 60mm base.
But please - argue that you measure from the center of the token.

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in us
Lone Wolf Sentinel Pilot





rigeld2 wrote:
I underlined what you were supposed to argue. That question has literally nothing to do with the size of the token.
And the model in question has a large flying base, so about a 60mm base.
But please - argue that you measure from the center of the token.

Where I'm from we call that a rhetorical question, something I used to prove a point. Because no one can argue this question in any direction. There's no argument that makes any sense other than "the rule doesn't say _____". The only way to decide how this works is to talk to the person you're playing when this issue comes up. If I really wanted I could place the model anywhere on the table if I used a big enough token. But that goes against common sense. Common sense tells me that you'd measure from the center because that's how we measure objectives. It's a valid argument, but not how everyone plays it. I'd then ask you how would you play it?

And just so you know, a good way to make an argument isn't "prove me wrong". All it does it makes people less likely to agree with you, as they can say "well prove me wrong". I'd genuinely like to see anyone argue this point without saying "the rules don't specify". The only solution to the question is to discuss it with your opponent.
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





 kingbobbito wrote:
rigeld2 wrote:
I underlined what you were supposed to argue. That question has literally nothing to do with the size of the token.
And the model in question has a large flying base, so about a 60mm base.
But please - argue that you measure from the center of the token.

Where I'm from we call that a rhetorical question, something I used to prove a point. Because no one can argue this question in any direction.

Incorrect. It's absolutely possible to argue, using the rules, that you measure from the edge.
It's not possible to argue, using the rules, that you measure from the center.

There's no argument that makes any sense other than "the rule doesn't say _____". The only way to decide how this works is to talk to the person you're playing when this issue comes up. If I really wanted I could place the model anywhere on the table if I used a big enough token. But that goes against common sense. Common sense tells me that you'd measure from the center because that's how we measure objectives. It's a valid argument, but not how everyone plays it. I'd then ask you how would you play it?

The underlined is incorrect. And I play it as measuring from the base of the CCB.

And just so you know, a good way to make an argument isn't "prove me wrong". All it does it makes people less likely to agree with you, as they can say "well prove me wrong". I'd genuinely like to see anyone argue this point without saying "the rules don't specify". The only solution to the question is to discuss it with your opponent.

It is a good way to make an argument when the statement is "The rules state X. Prove me wrong, using rules."
Perhaps you just skipped the "Measuring distances" section of the rulebook?
Spoiler:
Distances between models and all other objects (which can be other models, terrain features and so on) are always measured from the closest point on one base to the closest point on the other base.

Spoiler:
For example, if any part of a model’s base is within 6" of the base of an enemy model, the two models are said to be within 6" of each other.

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in us
Lone Wolf Sentinel Pilot





A "token" is not a model, and thus does not have a base. Said token would be like the tokens used for objectives, which WE always measure from the center.


Automatically Appended Next Post:
An objective marker can be any size depending on who you play, so the safest way to make a uniform game is to measure from the center. Bigger or smaller objective markers drastically change how the game turns out.

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2015/01/19 18:16:04


 
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





 kingbobbito wrote:
A "token" is not a model, and thus does not have a base. Said token would be like the tokens used for objectives, which WE always measure from the center.

That's fair - I misread what you said. So you take one house rule, and because of that hose rule you invent ambiguity in other rules. Awesome.


An objective marker can be any size depending on who you play, so the safest way to make a uniform game is to measure from the center. Bigger or smaller objective markers drastically change how the game turns out.

Correct. Which is why the actual rules tell you (along with so many other things) to determine with your opponent on where to measure from.

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in us
Legendary Master of the Chapter






Well you dont consolidate off a CCB so you would need to have a BUNCH of 60mm bases (TWC) to block it.

There is no set size for a "token" so you could bring a giant plate for all they care and reanimate off of that (though im pretty sure no one would actually try)

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2015/01/19 19:03:57


 Unit1126PLL wrote:
 Scott-S6 wrote:
And yet another thread is hijacked for Unit to ask for the same advice, receive the same answers and make the same excuses.

Oh my god I'm becoming martel.
Send help!

 
   
Made in us
Freaky Flayed One





 Desubot wrote:
Well you dont consolidate off a CCB so you would need to have a BUNCH of 60mm bases (TWC) to block it.)



What do you mean they don't consolidate. Isn't it just a normal assault and they go 1d6 inches?
   
Made in us
Legendary Master of the Chapter






You do not ever get a consolidate off a vehicle.

the chariot rules let the chariot it self consolidate after but they forgot the other half of that rule that lets the infantry also consolidate.


(Same case with walkers iirc)

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2015/01/19 19:38:03


 Unit1126PLL wrote:
 Scott-S6 wrote:
And yet another thread is hijacked for Unit to ask for the same advice, receive the same answers and make the same excuses.

Oh my god I'm becoming martel.
Send help!

 
   
Made in us
Freaky Flayed One





 Desubot wrote:
You do not ever get a consolidate off a vehicle.

the chariot rules let the chariot it self consolidate after but they forgot the other half of that rule that lets the infantry also consolidate.


(Same case with walkers iirc)


That is awesome, that solves the whole issue. Can you point me to the right page numbers by chance. I am going to need backing.
   
Made in us
Legendary Master of the Chapter






Do your homework

Read up on how consolidate works in assault / vehicle section / then check the chariot rules.

Edit: its on page 78 somewhere.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2015/01/19 21:01:59


 Unit1126PLL wrote:
 Scott-S6 wrote:
And yet another thread is hijacked for Unit to ask for the same advice, receive the same answers and make the same excuses.

Oh my god I'm becoming martel.
Send help!

 
   
Made in us
Freaky Flayed One





Awesome Thanks
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: