Switch Theme:

Chaos Typhon and it's siege cannon.  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in gb
Agile Revenant Titan






I'm new to super heavy tanks, and have some questions specifically regarding the typhon. The weapon says 24" range if moved, 48 if it didn't. But the rules in the BRB for super heavy tanks is that they always count as remaining stationary. So does this mean it's always a 48" range? On that same vein, does that mean it can move at cruising speed and still fire the big boom gun?

Thanks in advance.

You sought to cower behind your walls, weakling? Instead, by the will of Khorne, you shall die behind them  
   
Made in us
Daemonic Dreadnought





Eye of Terror

No. The tank has to remain stationary to fire at 48 inches.

   
Made in gb
Longtime Dakkanaut




But I think it can move 12 and shoot 24" so 36" threat range.

Its a great tank.

DFTT 
   
Made in gb
Agile Revenant Titan






Even though the BRB specifically states "When a super heavy vehicle makes a shooting attack, it is ALWAYS treated as if it had remained STATIONARY in the movement phase (even if it actually moved)... "

Emphasis mine.

You sought to cower behind your walls, weakling? Instead, by the will of Khorne, you shall die behind them  
   
Made in gb
Confessor Of Sins





Newton Aycliffe

 Khaine's Wrath wrote:
Even though the BRB specifically states "When a super heavy vehicle makes a shooting attack, it is ALWAYS treated as if it had remained STATIONARY in the movement phase (even if it actually moved)... "

Emphasis mine.

Yes, because if you move (and count as stationary), did you move? Yes or No?

Counting as stationary means you can fire a certain number of guns, etc, but it does not completely replace the fact that you moved. The same applies for artillery rules.


Automatically Appended Next Post:
http://www.dakkadakka.com/dakkaforum/posts/list/90/582966.page#6619153

for a previous thread on a similar situation.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2015/01/29 13:35:29


DA:80-S+G+M+B++I-Pw40k01++D+++A+++WD100R++T(T)DM+
Roronoa Zoro wrote:When the world shoves you around, you just gotta stand up and shove back. It's not like somebody's gonna save you if you start babbling excuses. - Bring on the hardship. It's preferred in a path of carnage.
Manchu wrote:
It's like you take a Space Marine and say "what could make him cooler?" Instead of adding more super-genetic-psycho-organic modification, you take it all away. You have a regular human left in power armor and all the armies of hell at the gates. And she doesn't even flinch. Pure. Badass. 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut






No. Its pretty clear in the BRB. When a Super-heavy vehicle makes a shooting attack, it is always treated as if it had remained stationary in the Movement phase (even if it actually moved). In this case the weapon will always fire at its maximum range.

The problem is this tank is a Forge World tank. When Apocalypse was re-released in July of 2013 it changed the rules for how super heavy vehicles fire, specifically adding the line about being treated as having remained stationary. This tank is from Imperial Armour 2 2nd Ed. published just 5 months later. Its very likely the rules for this tank where written with the pre-6th edition Apocalypse super heavy rules in mind and 7th edition uses the newer rules. To my knowledge forge world has done nothing to update or correct this problem. So right now RAW the weapon fire 48" all them time. RAI is should only fire 48" if it actually did not move.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2015/01/29 23:45:44


 
   
Made in im
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw





Liverpool

The RAI on this is pretty clear though, since the weapon is exclusive to Super-Heavies.
If a rule is made entirely redundant, it's a good indication that something isn't right...
   
Made in gb
Agile Revenant Titan






 grendel083 wrote:
The RAI on this is pretty clear though, since the weapon is exclusive to Super-Heavies.
If a rule is made entirely redundant, it's a good indication that something isn't right...


That was my logical thinking. But RAW there is definite conflict. And serious ambiguity. I'm happy that we pretty much all agree that RAI is that if it moves, it's only a 24" range. That's good enough for me, and how I'll play it until there's an official update that says otherwise.

You sought to cower behind your walls, weakling? Instead, by the will of Khorne, you shall die behind them  
   
Made in au
Road-Raging Blood Angel Biker




Australia

Forgeworld are actually not too bad at replying to emails for clarification if you give it a go - I daresay we know what the answer will be (and that is you can only fire it 24")

   
Made in se
Snord





Stockholm

The Typhon has its own rules. Specific-> General.

 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: