Switch Theme:

Biovores Barrage and missing?  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Blood Angel Terminator with Lightning Claws



Sioux Falls, SD

When Biovores miss they spawn D3 spore mines:
Spore Burst: If, when the final position of the first blast marker in the barrage is determined, there are no models (friend or foe) under it, place D3 Spore Mine models anywhere under the blast marker so that they are in unit coherency and not within impassable terrain or 1" of an enemy model (any that cannot be placed are lost).


When you bring more than 1 biovore fires as part of a squad it becomes a multiple barrage and nothing says if the first blass does not land on target that you do not continue to scatter the blasts. So can you end up with possibly 3D3 spore mines for a squad of 3 biovores(assuming that the scatter doesn't kill any spore mines or hit more squads).

Spoiler:
Multiple Barrages

If a unit fires more than one shot with the Barrage special rule, they fire together, as follows:

• The Barrage weapon closest to the target unit fires first. Place the blast marker over the target, then roll for scatter as described earlier.
• Once the first marker is placed, roll a scatter dice for each other Barrage weapon shot fired by the unit. If an arrow is rolled, place the marker in the direction indicated so that it is next to and touching the edge of the first marker placed (see diagram below).

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2015/01/29 18:42:54


Blood for the bloo... wait no, I meant for Sanguinius!  
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





Incorrect. You place the first marker. If it misses, place d3 spor mines. You have no direction to continue placing markers nor continue placing mines.

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in us
Blood Angel Terminator with Lightning Claws



Sioux Falls, SD

I missed what I wrote you are correct only 1d3 spore mines, but then wouldn't you continue to scatter for the other 2 as neither the barrage rules or the rules for spore mines tell you to stop if the first misses?

Blood for the bloo... wait no, I meant for Sanguinius!  
   
Made in us
Krazed Killa Kan





Denver, Colorado

You'd definitely continue shooting. First shot misses, place spore mines.

Then scatter second shot (based on multiple barrage rules) and repeat as necessary.

I mean, if I fire a lobba battery and first shot misses, it's not like the rest of the shots disappear. Same for biovores.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2015/01/29 19:08:54


"Hope is the first step on the road to disappointment." Words to live by. 
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





Except they do.

You have 2 rules that say what to do after the first marker is placed.
One (BRB) is that you continue to flip.
The other (Codex) is that you place dudes if you miss with no further instructions.

This is a conflict. We know that Codex > BRB in a conflict.

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in au
Road-Raging Blood Angel Biker




Australia

rigeld2 wrote:
Except they do.

You have 2 rules that say what to do after the first marker is placed.
One (BRB) is that you continue to flip.
The other (Codex) is that you place dudes if you miss with no further instructions.

This is a conflict. We know that Codex > BRB in a conflict.


However NOTHING tells him to not continue doing what he was told to already do... It doesn't say if it misses place your mines then do not continue to place blast markers, it just says to place the mine if it misses....

   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





sm3g wrote:
rigeld2 wrote:
Except they do.

You have 2 rules that say what to do after the first marker is placed.
One (BRB) is that you continue to flip.
The other (Codex) is that you place dudes if you miss with no further instructions.

This is a conflict. We know that Codex > BRB in a conflict.


However NOTHING tells him to not continue doing what he was told to already do... It doesn't say if it misses place your mines then do not continue to place blast markers, it just says to place the mine if it misses....

... and then you have no further direction.
BRB: Place first marker. Do nothing special if it missed. Flip for second marker.
Codex: \---- Place dudes. Note that there's no instruction to continue placing markers.

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in au
Road-Raging Blood Angel Biker




Australia

rigeld2 wrote:
sm3g wrote:
rigeld2 wrote:
Except they do.

You have 2 rules that say what to do after the first marker is placed.
One (BRB) is that you continue to flip.
The other (Codex) is that you place dudes if you miss with no further instructions.

This is a conflict. We know that Codex > BRB in a conflict.


However NOTHING tells him to not continue doing what he was told to already do... It doesn't say if it misses place your mines then do not continue to place blast markers, it just says to place the mine if it misses....

... and then you have no further direction.
BRB: Place first marker. Do nothing special if it missed. Flip for second marker.
Codex: \---- Place dudes. Note that there's no instruction to continue placing markers.


There is still absolutely nothing to prevent you to continue placing markers, he has been given permission to do so by the BRB, the codex just allows some mines to appear under the first one (given its distinction of first, the remaining markers probably wouldn't get the mines, but still have a chance to hit some enemies)

   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





sm3g wrote:
rigeld2 wrote:
sm3g wrote:
rigeld2 wrote:
Except they do.

You have 2 rules that say what to do after the first marker is placed.
One (BRB) is that you continue to flip.
The other (Codex) is that you place dudes if you miss with no further instructions.

This is a conflict. We know that Codex > BRB in a conflict.


However NOTHING tells him to not continue doing what he was told to already do... It doesn't say if it misses place your mines then do not continue to place blast markers, it just says to place the mine if it misses....

... and then you have no further direction.
BRB: Place first marker. Do nothing special if it missed. Flip for second marker.
Codex: \---- Place dudes. Note that there's no instruction to continue placing markers.


There is still absolutely nothing to prevent you to continue placing markers, he has been given permission to do so by the BRB, the codex just allows some mines to appear under the first one (given its distinction of first, the remaining markers probably wouldn't get the mines, but still have a chance to hit some enemies)

Please cite allowance to continue with the BRB after placing spores. The codex contains no such instructions.

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in us
Monster-Slaying Daemonhunter






Dimmamar

rigeld2 wrote:

Please cite allowance to continue with the BRB after placing spores. The codex contains no such instructions.


It's a Barrage weapon. We therefore use the Barrage rules. That's a pretty obvious permission.
And since the Tyranid rule contains no restrictions against the BRB procedure, nor permissions contradicting the BRB procedure, we'd continue with the BRB because there is no conflict.
Since there isn't a conflict, the "Codex trumps BRB" doesn't need to be shoehorned in here.
The Spore Mines are an additional step in the standard Barrage procedure. There's no language in the Tyranid rule indicating that you would ignore anything about the normal rules; there is language in the Tyranid rule indicating that you would add a step to the normal rules.

LVO 2017 - Best GK Player

The Grimdark Future 8500 1500 6000 2000 5000


"[We have] an inheritance which is beyond the reach of change and decay." 1 Peter 1.4
"With the Emperor there is no variation or shadow due to change." James 1.17
“Fear the Emperor; do not associate with those who are given to change.” Proverbs 24.21 
   
Made in au
Road-Raging Blood Angel Biker




Australia

 Elric Greywolf wrote:
rigeld2 wrote:

Please cite allowance to continue with the BRB after placing spores. The codex contains no such instructions.


It's a Barrage weapon. We therefore use the Barrage rules. That's a pretty obvious permission.
And since the Tyranid rule contains no restrictions against the BRB procedure, nor permissions contradicting the BRB procedure, we'd continue with the BRB because there is no conflict.
Since there isn't a conflict, the "Codex trumps BRB" doesn't need to be shoehorned in here.
The Spore Mines are an additional step in the standard Barrage procedure. There's no language in the Tyranid rule indicating that you would ignore anything about the normal rules; there is language in the Tyranid rule indicating that you would add a step to the normal rules.


This is exactly what I was trying to say, but you have done a far better job of it!

   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





 Elric Greywolf wrote:
rigeld2 wrote:

Please cite allowance to continue with the BRB after placing spores. The codex contains no such instructions.


It's a Barrage weapon. We therefore use the Barrage rules. That's a pretty obvious permission.
And since the Tyranid rule contains no restrictions against the BRB procedure, nor permissions contradicting the BRB procedure, we'd continue with the BRB because there is no conflict.
Since there isn't a conflict, the "Codex trumps BRB" doesn't need to be shoehorned in here.
The Spore Mines are an additional step in the standard Barrage procedure. There's no language in the Tyranid rule indicating that you would ignore anything about the normal rules; there is language in the Tyranid rule indicating that you would add a step to the normal rules.

There is a procedure conflicting the BRB procedure.
BRB says that if there's no models, do nothing. Start flipping.
Codex says if there's no models, place dudes. No more information.

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in ca
Foolproof Falcon Pilot




Ontario, Canada

The Spore burst rule says "when the final position of the *first* blast marker in the barrage is determined" (emphasis mine).

So regardless of whether or not the barrage continues, only the first blast marker creates spore mines. So you can only ever get D3 spore mines per volley.

EDIT - I think the above part may have already been realized, I just didn't catch it. Ignore me

Regarding whether or not the blasts continue, I believe they do. "No more information" does not mean "cease firing the barrage" it simply means "that is where the effects of this special rule end", and you carry on with the regular procedure.

- Fire a volley of spore mine launchers, no hits
- Codex says if the initial shot doesn't hit anything, place D3 spore mines
- Fire second shot, as per barrage rules, no hits
- Codex says only first shot gets spore mines, so this blast marker simply has no effect
- Fire third shot, as per barrage rules, 1 enemy model hit
- Resolve a single S4 AP4 hit as per the spore mine launcher profile.

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2015/01/30 01:15:14


 
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





Bojazz wrote:
Regarding whether or not the blasts continue, I believe they do. "No more information" does not mean "cease firing the barrage" it simply means "that is where the effects of this special rule end", and you carry on with the regular procedure.

That's your assumption, and I understand why you say that.
But you simply have no instructions to do so.

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in gb
Ultramarine Chaplain with Hate to Spare





rigeld2 wrote:
Bojazz wrote:
Regarding whether or not the blasts continue, I believe they do. "No more information" does not mean "cease firing the barrage" it simply means "that is where the effects of this special rule end", and you carry on with the regular procedure.

That's your assumption, and I understand why you say that.
But you simply have no instructions to do so.


So the game hangs and we all go home? I know we can't continue with the shooting phase as we have no instructions to do so.

Take the Magic: The Gathering 'What Color Are You?' Quiz.

Yes my Colour is Black but not for the reasons stated mainly just because it's slimming... http://imperiusdominatus.blogspot.com 
   
Made in ca
Foolproof Falcon Pilot




Ontario, Canada

rigeld2 wrote:
Bojazz wrote:
Regarding whether or not the blasts continue, I believe they do. "No more information" does not mean "cease firing the barrage" it simply means "that is where the effects of this special rule end", and you carry on with the regular procedure.

That's your assumption, and I understand why you say that.
But you simply have no instructions to do so.


I do, actually, in the barrage rules. It says "if a unit fires more than one shot with the barrage special rule, they fire together as follows", and then lists how i proceed with the additional shots. As spore mine launchers are a barrage weapon, I am told to follow this procedure. I am never told not to follow this procedure, or to stop following this procedure at any time. Spore Burst simply applies an additional effect onto the initial shot, it does not replace the barrage rules.

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2015/01/30 22:40:01


 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: