Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/01/29 19:44:41
Subject: Rite of Teleportation and attached allies
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
So of course I'm bringing the Draigo/Gravturion star with Tigirius attached.
can they all arrive together on turn one? or does every unit have to have the deep strike rule?
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/01/29 19:48:27
Subject: Rite of Teleportation and attached allies
|
 |
Monster-Slaying Daemonhunter
|
For a unit to be in Deep Strike Reserve, all the models must have the Deep Strike rule.
Draigo has Gate of Infinity.
Just deploy and then Gate to wherever you want to go.
|
LVO 2017 - Best GK Player
The Grimdark Future 8500 1500  6000 2000 5000
"[We have] an inheritance which is beyond the reach of change and decay." 1 Peter 1.4
"With the Emperor there is no variation or shadow due to change." James 1.17
“Fear the Emperor; do not associate with those who are given to change.” Proverbs 24.21 |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/01/29 20:10:20
Subject: Re:Rite of Teleportation and attached allies
|
 |
Implacable Black Templar Initiate
|
Agree with Greywolf, you can't place them in DS Reserve since Draigo is the only model with DS. With Draigo I wouldn't put them in Reserves anyways since they might not come in on turn one for sure. You should check with your TO to see what the official stance on how GoI works for things like teleporters and intercept rule since there is some contention concerning that.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/01/29 20:28:36
Subject: Rite of Teleportation and attached allies
|
 |
Quick-fingered Warlord Moderatus
|
Yea they cant deep strike in from reserves turn 1
But they can gate at their leisure
|
3000
4000 |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/01/29 20:30:05
Subject: Rite of Teleportation and attached allies
|
 |
Steadfast Grey Hunter
|
Intercept happens at the end of movement. No ambiguity, straight from the usr.
Teleport homer: friendly units composed entirely of models in terminator armor... Straight from the blood angels codex p. 106. Centurions are not in terminator armor.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/01/29 20:40:27
Subject: Rite of Teleportation and attached allies
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Even if they all had DS, if draigo is attached an unit from not the NSF he would count as from that unit, and not an unit from the NSF detachment while attached. Draigo cannot even benefit from any part of RoT while attached to an unit outside of the NSF.
But yeah every model in unit has to have DS.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2015/01/29 20:41:22
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/01/29 20:41:14
Subject: Rite of Teleportation and attached allies
|
 |
Implacable Black Templar Initiate
|
greytalon666 wrote:Intercept happens at the end of movement. No ambiguity, straight from the usr.
Teleport homer: friendly units composed entirely of models in terminator armor... Straight from the blood angels codex p. 106. Centurions are not in terminator armor.
Sorry, don't know if Marines have it, but I know that Dark Angels have a "Locator Beacon" that lets any model arriving from DS not scatter. And the question I would confirm is whether or not GoI counts as having come from reserves or not. I'm not looking to get this thread going on that subject since it just got locked, but different TOs might have different opinions so I would recommend checking with them to be sure you know exactly how your combo would work in this particular tournie.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/01/29 20:42:04
Subject: Rite of Teleportation and attached allies
|
 |
Steadfast Grey Hunter
|
blaktoof wrote:Even if they all had DS, if draigo is attached an unit from not the NSF he would count as from that unit, and not an unit from the NSF detachment while attached. Draigo cannot even benefit from any part of RoT while attached to an unit outside of the NSF.
But yeah every model in unit has to have DS.
Are you really trying to restart the thread that was locked not even an hour ago?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/01/29 20:42:32
Subject: Rite of Teleportation and attached allies
|
 |
Implacable Black Templar Initiate
|
blaktoof wrote:Even if they all had DS, if draigo is attached an unit from not the NSF he would count as from that unit, and not an unit from the NSF detachment while attached. Draigo cannot even benefit from any part of RoT while attached to an unit outside of the NSF.
Again, not looking to start a war here, but this statement is in contention, so if you have any combos that work off that idea I highly recommend checking with your TO to get an official ruling.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2015/01/29 20:42:58
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/01/29 20:43:54
Subject: Rite of Teleportation and attached allies
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
IIRC locater beacon works on deep strike, and does not require the unit to be in reserves or state anything about reserves.
So in regards to gate it would work regardless of the reserves issue.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2015/01/29 20:44:27
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/01/29 20:57:18
Subject: Rite of Teleportation and attached allies
|
 |
Implacable Black Templar Initiate
|
blaktoof wrote:IIRC locater beacon works on deep strike, and does not require the unit to be in reserves or state anything about reserves.
So in regards to gate it would work regardless of the reserves issue.
so there you go, glad I could waste everyone's time with that.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/01/29 21:30:50
Subject: Rite of Teleportation and attached allies
|
 |
Steadfast Grey Hunter
|
greytalon666 wrote:Intercept happens at the end of movement. No ambiguity, straight from the usr.
Teleport homer: friendly units composed entirely of models in terminator armor... Straight from the blood angels codex p. 106. Centurions are not in terminator armor.
Blaktoof, you didn't even have to try and recall, because I wrote out the rule a couple posts above you. If you were gating units full of terminators, then yes it would work, but in the context of this topic, it does not work because centurions aren't in terminator armor.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/01/29 21:34:23
Subject: Rite of Teleportation and attached allies
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
talking about locater beacons not teleport homers. someone else brought up locater beacons, was just clarifying that locater beacons have no wording regarding reserves or deep strike reserves, just "deep striking models" models arriving by gate- regardless of other threads discussion do arrive by deepstrike and would benefit from it.
all i was saying
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/01/29 23:53:27
Subject: Rite of Teleportation and attached allies
|
 |
Scarred Ultramarine Tyrannic War Veteran
Ankh Morpork
|
greytalon666 wrote:blaktoof wrote:Even if they all had DS, if draigo is attached an unit from not the NSF he would count as from that unit, and not an unit from the NSF detachment while attached. Draigo cannot even benefit from any part of RoT while attached to an unit outside of the NSF.
But yeah every model in unit has to have DS.
Are you really trying to restart the thread that was locked not even an hour ago?
This is a completely different situation, and blaktoof is entirely correct; Independent Characters joined to a unit count as part of that unit for all rules purposes so cannot benefit from his access to Rites of Teleportation; if he counts as part of a Space Marines Centurions unit for all rules purposes he does not qualify as a unit from the Nemesis Strike Force Detachment.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/01/30 10:30:38
Subject: Rite of Teleportation and attached allies
|
 |
Confessor Of Sins
|
Mr. Shine wrote:greytalon666 wrote:blaktoof wrote:Even if they all had DS, if draigo is attached an unit from not the NSF he would count as from that unit, and not an unit from the NSF detachment while attached. Draigo cannot even benefit from any part of RoT while attached to an unit outside of the NSF.
But yeah every model in unit has to have DS.
Are you really trying to restart the thread that was locked not even an hour ago?
This is a completely different situation, and blaktoof is entirely correct; Independent Characters joined to a unit count as part of that unit for all rules purposes so cannot benefit from his access to Rites of Teleportation; if he counts as part of a Space Marines Centurions unit for all rules purposes he does not qualify as a unit from the Nemesis Strike Force Detachment.
Agreed, this is nothing like the previous locked Thread, ICs are part of a Unit "for all rules purposes".
Any Unit with Draigo attached does not get RoT.
Any NSF Unit with some other IC attached would benefit from RoT.
|
DA:80-S+G+M+B++I-Pw40k01++D+++A+++WD100R++T(T)DM+
Roronoa Zoro wrote:When the world shoves you around, you just gotta stand up and shove back. It's not like somebody's gonna save you if you start babbling excuses. - Bring on the hardship. It's preferred in a path of carnage. Manchu wrote:
It's like you take a Space Marine and say "what could make him cooler?" Instead of adding more super-genetic-psycho-organic modification, you take it all away. You have a regular human left in power armor and all the armies of hell at the gates. And she doesn't even flinch. Pure. Badass. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/01/30 14:15:25
Subject: Rite of Teleportation and attached allies
|
 |
Stealthy Warhound Titan Princeps
Phoenix, AZ, USA
|
Johnnytorrance wrote:So of course I'm bringing the Draigo/Gravturion star with Tigirius attached.
can they all arrive together on turn one? or does every unit have to have the deep strike rule?
You simply follow the wording of GoI. GoI grants permission to remove the unit from the table and immediately return the unit using the rules for Deep Strike, which means that any restrictions preventing access to Deep Strike are met by the successful use of the power.
Which is to say, don't over think it, just do what the power tells you to do.
SJ
|
“For we wrestle not against flesh and blood, but against principalities, against powers, against the rulers of the darkness of this world.”
- Ephesians 6:12
|
|
 |
 |
|