Switch Theme:

Rod of Covenant: Close Combat and Shooting.  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in nl
Loyal Necron Lychguard



Netherlands

From the BRB:
Some weapons can be used in different ways, representing different power settings or types of ammo. Some weapons can be used in combat as well as shooting. Where this is the case, there will be a separate line in the weapon’s profile for each, and you can choose which to use each turn.


Rod of Covenant has two profiles, a melee and a ranged one.
Am I correct in assuming that a Triarch Praetorian can either fire or assault with the Rod, but not both in a single turn?

Asking this because I've read some discussions where people assumed they could fire and then assault with the Rod.
But that is not allowed, or is it?
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut




It's allowed - anyone who tries to argue is daft. There is no rule that says they can only use the weapon in one phase and not another.
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





They can fire and assault with it in the same round. There is no RAW preventing them from doing so.

The only unit I can recall that has such a rule are ork burna boyz where each model can opt to fire the burna or use it in assault, but not both. They have specific RAW for the weapon that causes this, otherwise they could do both in each round as well.
   
Made in gb
Regular Dakkanaut




EDIT: Removed.

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2015/02/06 22:25:42


 
   
Made in nl
Loyal Necron Lychguard



Netherlands

Well, he shouldn't have to read the BRB. I included the quote for a reason

Some weapons can be used in combat as well as shooting. Where this is the case, there will be a separate line in the weapon’s profile for each, and you can choose which to use each turn.

Could people please explain this quote from the BRB if they think that it's allowed to use the Rods in Shooting ánd CC?
   
Made in us
Esteemed Veteran Space Marine







Kangodo wrote:
Well, he shouldn't have to read the BRB. I included the quote for a reason

Some weapons can be used in combat as well as shooting. Where this is the case, there will be a separate line in the weapon’s profile for each, and you can choose which to use each turn.

Could people please explain this quote from the BRB if they think that it's allowed to use the Rods in Shooting ánd CC?



Hmmmm, that certainly seems to support the RAW argument that praetorians can either shoot or charge but not both in the same turn. It might even be RAI, since the ability to fire and charge in the same turn (at S5 AP2 for both) without penalty was a bit much for a mere 28 points.
   
Made in im
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw





Liverpool

Sme as Shining Spears, but Eldar players seem to "forget" that bit
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





Kangodo wrote:
Well, he shouldn't have to read the BRB. I included the quote for a reason

Some weapons can be used in combat as well as shooting. Where this is the case, there will be a separate line in the weapon’s profile for each, and you can choose which to use each turn.

Could people please explain this quote from the BRB if they think that it's allowed to use the Rods in Shooting ánd CC?


Well with that quote in hand it would appear players may not use the same weapon in shooting and assault in the same turn.
   
Made in us
Mutilatin' Mad Dok






Mind Blown!

   
Made in gb
Executing Exarch






 grendel083 wrote:
Sme as Shining Spears, but Eldar players seem to "forget" that bit
And Singing Spears, and Scorpion's Claws... There are a number of Eldar weapons made "meh" by that rule.
   
Made in us
Mutilatin' Mad Dok






I don't have my book with me. Does this affect pistols as well? They technically have two profiles: the shooting profile and the cc weapon profile.

   
Made in im
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw





Liverpool

Quanar wrote:
 grendel083 wrote:
Sme as Shining Spears, but Eldar players seem to "forget" that bit
And Singing Spears, and Scorpion's Claws... There are a number of Eldar weapons made "meh" by that rule.
It's not a new rule.
It was definitely in 6th ed Rulebook, possibly 5th as well.

docdoom77 wrote:I don't have my book with me. Does this affect pistols as well? They technically have two profiles: the shooting profile and the cc weapon profile.
No, can't remeber the exact wording, but the pistol rule has it different.
   
Made in us
Mutilatin' Mad Dok






Well then, I guess this puts a new light on the viability of caster and void blades.

   
Made in us
Powerful Phoenix Lord





Buffalo, NY

The 4th edition Eldar codex had a way around this. It specifically allowed the Scorpion Claw to be used as a melee weapon the same turn it was fired.

Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut




 ClassicCarraway wrote:
Kangodo wrote:
Well, he shouldn't have to read the BRB. I included the quote for a reason

Some weapons can be used in combat as well as shooting. Where this is the case, there will be a separate line in the weapon’s profile for each, and you can choose which to use each turn.

Could people please explain this quote from the BRB if they think that it's allowed to use the Rods in Shooting ánd CC?



Hmmmm, that certainly seems to support the RAW argument that praetorians can either shoot or charge but not both in the same turn. It might even be RAI, since the ability to fire and charge in the same turn (at S5 AP2 for both) without penalty was a bit much for a mere 28 points.


Nothing in that rule restricts the weapon to once per turn. It gives permission to choose the profile you need. "Some weapons can be used in combat as well as shooting", clearly shows both can be used. If that rule said "you can choose which to use "ONCE" each turn, you would be correct.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2015/02/07 00:00:59


 
   
Made in im
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw





Liverpool

Fragile wrote:
 ClassicCarraway wrote:
Kangodo wrote:
Well, he shouldn't have to read the BRB. I included the quote for a reason

Some weapons can be used in combat as well as shooting. Where this is the case, there will be a separate line in the weapon’s profile for each, and you can choose which to use each turn.

Could people please explain this quote from the BRB if they think that it's allowed to use the Rods in Shooting ánd CC?



Hmmmm, that certainly seems to support the RAW argument that praetorians can either shoot or charge but not both in the same turn. It might even be RAI, since the ability to fire and charge in the same turn (at S5 AP2 for both) without penalty was a bit much for a mere 28 points.


Nothing in that rule restricts the weapon to once per turn. It gives permission to choose the profile you need. "Some weapons can be used in combat as well as shooting", clearly shows both can be used. If that rule said "you can choose which to use "ONCE" each turn, you would be correct.
So the bit that says "...choose which to use each turn." means what, exactly?
   
Made in us
Freaky Flayed One




There are ranged weapons with dual ranged profiles as well, such as the Triarch Stalker's heat ray. One is able to choose which shooting profile they want to use each turn.

If their intent was for Praetorians wielding Rods to be unable to shoot and assault with that weapon, why bother giving its shooting profile the Assault special rule?
   
Made in us
Powerful Phoenix Lord





Buffalo, NY

They can charge after firing the Rod. They just cannot use the melee profile until their opponent's phase.

Meaning thy do not have a CCW to attack with. And they cannot "gain" a CCW because thy have one, they just cannot attack with it. Meaning...my head hurts.

Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





Fragile wrote:
 ClassicCarraway wrote:
Kangodo wrote:
Well, he shouldn't have to read the BRB. I included the quote for a reason

Some weapons can be used in combat as well as shooting. Where this is the case, there will be a separate line in the weapon’s profile for each, and you can choose which to use each turn.

Could people please explain this quote from the BRB if they think that it's allowed to use the Rods in Shooting ánd CC?



Hmmmm, that certainly seems to support the RAW argument that praetorians can either shoot or charge but not both in the same turn. It might even be RAI, since the ability to fire and charge in the same turn (at S5 AP2 for both) without penalty was a bit much for a mere 28 points.


Nothing in that rule restricts the weapon to once per turn. It gives permission to choose the profile you need. "Some weapons can be used in combat as well as shooting", clearly shows both can be used. If that rule said "you can choose which to use "ONCE" each turn, you would be correct.


it gives the permission to pick one profile to use each turn. Not each phase.
   
Made in us
Shas'ui with Bonding Knife





Happyjew brings up an interesting problem. By already having a melee weapon, they lack a CCW. By lacking a CCW, can they even strike in combat based on this if they shoot and charge?

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2015/02/07 01:05:05


 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut




blaktoof wrote:
Fragile wrote:
 ClassicCarraway wrote:
Kangodo wrote:
Well, he shouldn't have to read the BRB. I included the quote for a reason

Some weapons can be used in combat as well as shooting. Where this is the case, there will be a separate line in the weapon’s profile for each, and you can choose which to use each turn.

Could people please explain this quote from the BRB if they think that it's allowed to use the Rods in Shooting ánd CC?



Hmmmm, that certainly seems to support the RAW argument that praetorians can either shoot or charge but not both in the same turn. It might even be RAI, since the ability to fire and charge in the same turn (at S5 AP2 for both) without penalty was a bit much for a mere 28 points.


Nothing in that rule restricts the weapon to once per turn. It gives permission to choose the profile you need. "Some weapons can be used in combat as well as shooting", clearly shows both can be used. If that rule said "you can choose which to use "ONCE" each turn, you would be correct.


it gives the permission to pick one profile to use each turn. Not each phase.


Again you lack a "once".
   
Made in us
Powerful Phoenix Lord





Buffalo, NY

Fragile, where is there permission to make the choice a second time in a turn?

Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia 
   
Made in us
Shas'ui with Bonding Knife





So either they can use the weapon when they charge after they shoot, or the rules break.
   
Made in us
Fireknife Shas'el




Lisbon, Portugal

What a bizarre situation. Never saw anyone playing as if you couldn't use them in melee after shooting.

AI & BFG: / BMG: Mr. Freeze, Deathstroke / Battletech: SR, OWA / Fallout Factions: BoS / HGB: Caprice / Malifaux: Arcanists, Guild, Outcasts / MCP: Mutants / SAGA: Ordensstaat / SW Legion: CIS / WWX: Union

 Unit1126PLL wrote:
"FW is unbalanced and going to ruin tournaments."
"Name one where it did that."
"IT JUST DOES OKAY!"

 Shadenuat wrote:
Voted Astra Militarum for a chance for them to get nerfed instead of my own army.
 
   
Made in us
Loyal Necron Lychguard





Virginia

 Vector Strike wrote:
What a bizarre situation. Never saw anyone playing as if you couldn't use them in melee after shooting.


Apparently almost no one was aware of this rule.

40k:
8th Edtion: 9405 pts - Varantekh Dynasty  
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut





 Nilok wrote:
So either they can use the weapon when they charge after they shoot, or the rules break.

What, did 7th remove the clause that said "if you don't have a CCW, you count as having a CCW"? I know it was in 6th.
And before that, barely anyone ever argued that you needed anything besides an Attack stat to strike in melee
   
Made in ca
Foolproof Falcon Pilot




Ontario, Canada

 Crevab wrote:
What, did 7th remove the clause that said "if you don't have a CCW, you count as having a CCW"?

They have a melee weapon, which means they don't get a default CCW. The problem arises when they are apparently disallowed from using the melee weapon if they've used it as a shooting weapon. This leaves them with no melee weapon and no CCW.
   
Made in us
Shas'ui with Bonding Knife





 Crevab wrote:
 Nilok wrote:
So either they can use the weapon when they charge after they shoot, or the rules break.

What, did 7th remove the clause that said "if you don't have a CCW, you count as having a CCW"? I know it was in 6th.
And before that, barely anyone ever argued that you needed anything besides an Attack stat to strike in melee

No Specified Melee weapon wrote:If a model is not specifically stated as have a weapon with the Melee type, it is treated as being armed with a single close combat weapon.

Rod of the Covenant wrote:Melee, Two-Handed

Triarch Praetorians are already armed with a Melee weapon and don't get a CCW.

The rules don't cover what happens if you try and fight in close combat without a melee weapon, thus the rules break.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2015/02/07 07:39:09


 
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut





aaaand where does it state you need a CCW to make attacks?
   
Made in il
Tail-spinning Tomb Blade Pilot




Israel



Brilliant rules writing GW, you never cease to amaze!

6,000pts (over 5,000 painted to various degrees, rest are still on the sprues)  
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: