Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/02/27 12:07:32
Subject: charging through cover
|
 |
Brainy Zoanthrope
|
Squad of 5 vs squad of 5. The closest 3 models are within 6.5 inches of each other. The remaining 2 are behind a baracade (difficult terrain) and 7.5 inches away.
Is the charge successful on a roll of a 7 before modfiers?
Is it successful on a roll of an 8 before modfiers?
same situation as above, except the 3 closest models are at 9.5 inches, and the two behind the barracade are at 10.5 inches, so that they are always out of range of the charge.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/02/27 12:12:17
Subject: Re:charging through cover
|
 |
Experienced Maneater
|
Only the closest model counts. You have to use charge range modifiers first before it is counted as successful/failed.
You would need a roll of 9 to successfully charge into combat through difficult terrain.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2015/02/27 12:14:32
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/02/27 12:13:52
Subject: charging through cover
|
 |
Discriminating Deathmark Assassin
|
Your charge distance actually doesn't have a direct bearing on whether you make your charge or not. What matters in the end is getting a model into base to base contact. If there are obstacles between the units that they have to go around, such as models from other units or impassable terrain then you may not be able to get into base to base.
|
ADD causes my posts to ramble from time to time. Please bear with me.
You're not a Time Lord stick with linear time.
Specific Vs General |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/02/27 13:23:11
Subject: Re:charging through cover
|
 |
Brainy Zoanthrope
|
Hanskrampf wrote:Only the closest model counts. You have to use charge range modifiers first before it is counted as successful/failed.
You would need a roll of 9 to successfully charge into combat through difficult terrain.
Does that apply even though you are not charging through difficult terrain until the models move 8.5 inches? the closest models are not behind the barracade eg
squad1
6.5 inches
3 men in squad 2
baracade
other 2 men from squad 2
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/02/27 13:29:31
Subject: charging through cover
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Yes, because the rules clearly tell you that an model moving through difficult terrain means the whole unit is. So for charging you apply the modifier to the whole unit.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/02/27 13:40:48
Subject: charging through cover
|
 |
Confessor Of Sins
|
nosferatu1001 wrote:Yes, because the rules clearly tell you that an model moving through difficult terrain means the whole unit is. So for charging you apply the modifier to the whole unit.
This really depends on which of the 2 Units in the example is charging.
If "squad 1" charges "squad 2", they only need to roll a 7 (none of them are moving through terrain)
Of course, "squad 2" charging "squad 1" is 9"
|
DA:80-S+G+M+B++I-Pw40k01++D+++A+++WD100R++T(T)DM+
Roronoa Zoro wrote:When the world shoves you around, you just gotta stand up and shove back. It's not like somebody's gonna save you if you start babbling excuses. - Bring on the hardship. It's preferred in a path of carnage. Manchu wrote:
It's like you take a Space Marine and say "what could make him cooler?" Instead of adding more super-genetic-psycho-organic modification, you take it all away. You have a regular human left in power armor and all the armies of hell at the gates. And she doesn't even flinch. Pure. Badass. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/02/27 14:11:18
Subject: charging through cover
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
In the OPs case both units are mirroed, with the first three in each unit being within 6.5", and the last 2 being behind barricades. At least that is how I read it.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/02/27 19:58:30
Subject: charging through cover
|
 |
Never Forget Isstvan!
|
If you roll a 7, the charge is successful because the closest model can make it into base to base, and none of the other models go through terrain.
If you rolled an 8 however, the 8 inch move would bring some models into contact with terrain, therefore slowing the whole unit down to 6 inch charge and causing it to fail.
|
JOIN MY CRUSADE and gain 4000 RT points!
http://www.eternalcrusade.com/account/sign-up/?ref_code=EC-PLCIKYCABW8PG |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/02/28 18:02:16
Subject: charging through cover
|
 |
Deadly Dire Avenger
Canada
|
BlackTalos wrote:nosferatu1001 wrote:Yes, because the rules clearly tell you that an model moving through difficult terrain means the whole unit is. So for charging you apply the modifier to the whole unit.
This really depends on which of the 2 Units in the example is charging.
If "squad 1" charges "squad 2", they only need to roll a 7 (none of them are moving through terrain)
Of course, "squad 2" charging "squad 1" is 9"
^^^
This
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/03/01 03:31:17
Subject: charging through cover
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
This exact problem was heavily debated when 7e dropped. and it has still never had a really good answer.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/03/02 10:57:01
Subject: charging through cover
|
 |
Devious Space Marine dedicated to Tzeentch
|
Eihnlazer wrote:If you roll a 7, the charge is successful because the closest model can make it into base to base, and none of the other models go through terrain.
If you rolled an 8 however, the 8 inch move would bring some models into contact with terrain, therefore slowing the whole unit down to 6 inch charge and causing it to fail.
This is why we house-ruled it to be on a model-per-model basis.
|
12k+ pts Chaos Marines, Heretic Guard and Daemons (The Scourged)
2k pts Tyranids (Hive Fleet Hornet) |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/03/02 13:53:10
Subject: charging through cover
|
 |
Krazed Killa Kan
Homestead, FL
|
heres the official answer
When charging (After overwatch) you roll to see how far you go, in this case you need a 7 to get your closest model into B2B, So you roll and you get a 10 lets say. your 1st model moves and gets into base to base, congratulations your charge is now successful. Why? because negative modifiers to your charge are applied BEFORE you move your first model, not after. therefore your charge is successful because you measure the distance between the two units by the two closest models to one another. On top of this, your still supposed to move into b2b and realistically your unit will surround those 1st 3 models first anyway because thats what the rules say you hve to do :-P
|
I come in peace. I didn't bring artillery. But I'm pleading with you, with tears in my eyes: If you mess with me, I'll kill you all
Marine General James Mattis, to Iraqi tribal leaders |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/03/02 14:14:44
Subject: charging through cover
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
No, that isnt the official answer, as youre not GW
You determine if the unit is charging through terrain by working out if a charge would require the unit to move through terrain. You do this before rolling.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/03/02 15:01:55
Subject: charging through cover
|
 |
Krazed Killa Kan
Homestead, FL
|
Once in base to base you have made the charge you don't just add the +2 after the fact.
|
I come in peace. I didn't bring artillery. But I'm pleading with you, with tears in my eyes: If you mess with me, I'll kill you all
Marine General James Mattis, to Iraqi tribal leaders |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/03/02 15:51:36
Subject: charging through cover
|
 |
Confessor Of Sins
|
nosferatu1001 wrote:In the OPs case both units are mirroed, with the first three in each unit being within 6.5", and the last 2 being behind barricades. At least that is how I read it.
Only OP can confirm, but when i look at his second post:
RFHolloway wrote:
squad1
6.5 inches
3 men in squad 2
baracade
other 2 men from squad 2
The "baracade" is only "inside" Squad 2.
Of course, mirrored situation you are completely correct.
|
DA:80-S+G+M+B++I-Pw40k01++D+++A+++WD100R++T(T)DM+
Roronoa Zoro wrote:When the world shoves you around, you just gotta stand up and shove back. It's not like somebody's gonna save you if you start babbling excuses. - Bring on the hardship. It's preferred in a path of carnage. Manchu wrote:
It's like you take a Space Marine and say "what could make him cooler?" Instead of adding more super-genetic-psycho-organic modification, you take it all away. You have a regular human left in power armor and all the armies of hell at the gates. And she doesn't even flinch. Pure. Badass. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/03/02 18:30:42
Subject: charging through cover
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Ghazkuul wrote:Once in base to base you have made the charge you don't just add the +2 after the fact.
Hence why I mentioned it was before rolling. That is before the fact.
|
|
 |
 |
|