Switch Theme:

Space wolf question for tyranid Null list  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut




So I am trying to design a Tyranid Null deployment list. or a list with that option
The question is Does this formation come in automatically if their is no other drop pod in the list? As it has the drop pod assault rules, but it say on a roll in the rules as well thus my question.
Rules of the formation::
Wolf Guard Thunderstrike: 1 unit of 10 Wolfguard in a Drop Pod, and 1 unit of Terminators with all of the supplement special rules (Kingsguard, Sagaborn, First Among Equals). All units in the Formation must deepstrike, and, they all come in on a single roll.
   
Made in us
Monster-Slaying Daemonhunter






Dimmamar

The first wave of a DPA does not roll--it comes automatically on T1. The reset of the things in the list will be in regular DS Reserve, which you may roll for starting T2 (unless there's a special rule you didn't include).

So T1 the DP comes in. T2 is a single roll for all the remaining units.

LVO 2017 - Best GK Player

The Grimdark Future 8500 1500 6000 2000 5000


"[We have] an inheritance which is beyond the reach of change and decay." 1 Peter 1.4
"With the Emperor there is no variation or shadow due to change." James 1.17
“Fear the Emperor; do not associate with those who are given to change.” Proverbs 24.21 
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut




doesn't the formation have to come in together though.. From how I understand it the termys would come in turn 1 as well.
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut




shadowfinder wrote:
doesn't the formation have to come in together though.. From how I understand it the termys would come in turn 1 as well.


As said before, they come in on a single roll, and if your Drop pod comes in with out a roll how are your Terminators joining it? The Terminators don't even have a rule that would allow them to come in first turn. The RaI might be that the terminators would come in with the Drop pod assault, but RaW is they don't.
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut






Actually, there was an email response from GW reported on a different site which said that the intention is for them to come in together after turn 2.

Makes the unit kinda worthless - no alpha strike whatsoever - but that's just my humble opinion.

As has been said, RAW they can't come in together unless you roll and you can't roll until after turn 2.
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




Meaning you cannot take the unit at all, unless you have other drip pods, as you will be forced to break a rule.
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut






No rules are broken. The unit just becomes a little less useful if you don't have any additional drop pods.
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




The DPA rule is broken, or else the formation rule is, as the pod must turn up turn one meaning it cannot arrive in one roll with the termie unit.
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut






The formation rule does not say that both units must arrive together.

It says that if you roll a successful reserves roll for one, they both arrive together.

So if, using DPA, your 1 pod arrives turn 1 without rolling a reserves roll for it, then the terminators just have to wait until they pass their roll before they can deepstrike.

No rules are broken on either side.
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




Have both arrived together, when they have arrived apart?
   
Made in us
Fixture of Dakka





What does this question have to do with tyranids?

"'players must agree how they are going to select their armies, and if any restrictions apply to the number and type of models they can use."

This is an actual rule in the actual rulebook. Quit whining about how you can imagine someone's army touching you in a bad place and play by the actual rules.


Freelance Ontologist

When people ask, "What's the point in understanding everything?" they've just disqualified themselves from using questions and should disappear in a puff of paradox. But they don't understand and just continue existing, which are also their only two strategies for life. 
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut






nosferatu1001 wrote:
Have both arrived together, when they have arrived apart?


Actually, having re-read the rules, I stand corrected.

Thunderstrike says that you make a single roll for the formation and that "On a successful roll, all units in this Formation will arrive."

I thought that it said they "may" arrive together, but as worded, they "will" arrive together.

So if you don't want to break either the DPA rules or the Thunderstrike rules, you have to pay an additional 35 point drop pod tax. Making this formation even worse than I already though it was.
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: