Switch Theme:

Necron stalkers +1bs - does an embarked unit gain the benefit?  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in au
Screaming Shining Spear





Western Australia

As per the title - a you it of 10 necron warriors embarked on a ghost ark and the ark is within 6" of a stalker - does the unit get the benefit?

For gaming, hobby and events in Perth, Western Australia - https://objectivesecured.com.au 
   
Made in dk
Infiltrating Prowler






No, the unit is not on the table, so it doesn't "exist", unless otherwise stated.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2015/02/28 13:26:18


 
   
Made in gb
Regular Dakkanaut




BRB, on Embarking, wrote:If the players need to measure a range involving the embarked unit (except for its shooting), this range is measured to or from the vehicle's hull.
I think you would be able to get the extra ballistic skill if your transport is within 6''.
   
Made in fr
Guard Heavy Weapon Crewman



France, Paris

I would agree with Mallich there.

   
Made in us
Krazed Killa Kan




Homestead, FL

mallich is correct the embarked unit gains the bonus

I come in peace. I didn't bring artillery. But I'm pleading with you, with tears in my eyes: If you mess with me, I'll kill you all

Marine General James Mattis, to Iraqi tribal leaders 
   
Made in au
Screaming Shining Spear





Western Australia

Can you cite why and page reference?

For gaming, hobby and events in Perth, Western Australia - https://objectivesecured.com.au 
   
Made in gb
Ultramarine Chaplain with Hate to Spare





BrB page 80 wrote:
If the players need to measure a range involving the embarked unit (except for its shooting), this range is measured to or from the vehicle's hull.

Take the Magic: The Gathering 'What Color Are You?' Quiz.

Yes my Colour is Black but not for the reasons stated mainly just because it's slimming... http://imperiusdominatus.blogspot.com 
   
Made in au
Screaming Shining Spear





Western Australia

Cool - so nova powers and prescience could also affect them?

For gaming, hobby and events in Perth, Western Australia - https://objectivesecured.com.au 
   
Made in us
Been Around the Block





Novas can not as they are a witchfire and witch fires follow the rules for shooting and you can not target a unit in a transport for a shooting attack unless told otherwise.


As for prescience, if the psyker is in the transport it can not due to the rules on pg 82. In addition, psychic power can not target powers embarked on a transport (pg 82)
   
Made in au
Screaming Shining Spear





Western Australia

So where is the permission for the aura to affect passengers? This came up at a tourney yesterday and we rolled off for it as the TO could not find a clear rule either way.

The stalkers rules don't give permission to affect embarked units

For gaming, hobby and events in Perth, Western Australia - https://objectivesecured.com.au 
   
Made in gb
Ultramarine Chaplain with Hate to Spare





When a unit fires you need to check whether the unit is within 6" of the stalker right?

So if the unit is embarked can we measure to see if it is within 6" of the stalker? Is there anything that stops the stalker from working on an embarked unit?

Those are the only 2 questions that matter. Page 80 gives us the answer to the first question. Do you have any denial of that permission because I can't find any, therefore it works. Unlike say shooting attacks which have specific denial of that permission (page 82). So it is perfectly clear that this works. Show the TO page 80 for future reference.

Take the Magic: The Gathering 'What Color Are You?' Quiz.

Yes my Colour is Black but not for the reasons stated mainly just because it's slimming... http://imperiusdominatus.blogspot.com 
   
Made in au
Screaming Shining Spear





Western Australia

I don't need to show you can't - like all games its permissive - you need to prove you can.

That said - I get your point - thanks for the help with this one!

For gaming, hobby and events in Perth, Western Australia - https://objectivesecured.com.au 
   
Made in us
Krazed Killa Kan




Homestead, FL

I don't understand why people think that a unit embarked on a vehicle doesn't exist until they are put on the board itself. If my unit can get hit by flamers then it should be able to benefit from buffs :-P

I come in peace. I didn't bring artillery. But I'm pleading with you, with tears in my eyes: If you mess with me, I'll kill you all

Marine General James Mattis, to Iraqi tribal leaders 
   
Made in gb
Ultramarine Chaplain with Hate to Spare





 Massaen wrote:
I don't need to show you can't - like all games its permissive - you need to prove you can.

That said - I get your point - thanks for the help with this one!


I have shown permission for a unit to receive the bonus if within 6". I have shown that the embarked unit is within 6". You do have to show denial of that permission or that permission makes this work. That is how a permissive ruleset works. The rule doesn't have to specifically call out embarked units anymore than it does unembarked units, or units consisting of exactly 7 models or units painted red or that it works on Tuesdays. It works and it works for all units within 6" (meeting its criteria) unless you can prove it doesn't.

Take the Magic: The Gathering 'What Color Are You?' Quiz.

Yes my Colour is Black but not for the reasons stated mainly just because it's slimming... http://imperiusdominatus.blogspot.com 
   
Made in br
Fireknife Shas'el




Lisbon, Portugal

 Ghazkuul wrote:
I don't understand why people think that a unit embarked on a vehicle doesn't exist until they are put on the board itself. If my unit can get hit by flamers then it should be able to benefit from buffs :-P


Hehe, true. Dark Eldar payers are with you as well on that one

AI & BFG: / BMG: Mr. Freeze, Deathstroke / Battletech: SR, OWA / Fallout Factions: BoS / HGB: Caprice / Malifaux: Arcanists, Guild, Outcasts / MCP: Mutants / SAGA: Ordensstaat / SW Legion: CIS / WWX: Union

 Unit1126PLL wrote:
"FW is unbalanced and going to ruin tournaments."
"Name one where it did that."
"IT JUST DOES OKAY!"

 Shadenuat wrote:
Voted Astra Militarum for a chance for them to get nerfed instead of my own army.
 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





Stroggified wrote:
Novas can not as they are a witchfire and witch fires follow the rules for shooting and you can not target a unit in a transport for a shooting attack unless told otherwise.


As for prescience, if the psyker is in the transport it can not due to the rules on pg 82. In addition, psychic power can not target powers embarked on a transport (pg 82)


not true, there is no restriction on being able to target models embarked in a transport.

Usually you do not have LoS to them, however any weapon/effect that ignores line of sight by the rules can target models in a transport.

if you believe that quote lets you measure to/from units in a transport, then novas hit units in a transport as they do not require LoS.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2015/03/01 16:17:23


 
   
Made in us
Discriminating Deathmark Assassin




Johnson City, NewYork

Did you read page 82?

brb pg 82 wrote: Psychic powers cannot target units that are embarked on a Transport.

ADD causes my posts to ramble from time to time. Please bear with me.

You're not a Time Lord stick with linear time.
Specific Vs General 
   
Made in us
Been Around the Block





blaktoof wrote:
Stroggified wrote:
Novas can not as they are a witchfire and witch fires follow the rules for shooting and you can not target a unit in a transport for a shooting attack unless told otherwise.


As for prescience, if the psyker is in the transport it can not due to the rules on pg 82. In addition, psychic power can not target powers embarked on a transport (pg 82)


not true, there is no restriction on being able to target models embarked in a transport.

Usually you do not have LoS to them, however any weapon/effect that ignores line of sight by the rules can target models in a transport.

if you believe that quote lets you measure to/from units in a transport, then novas hit units in a transport as they do not require LoS.


the bold is just wrong, I suggest rereading witchfires and novas. In addition, there is explicit denial of targeting of psychic power on units in transports on page 82 under Psychic powers and transports. there is no grey area it directly states units embarked in transports can not be targeted by psychic powers.

It goes like this,is the unit embarked in a transport? If yes then they can not be targeted by psychic powers as per the rules on pg 82 of the large rule book. (not sure the page in the small)
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





True.

However any weapon with ignores line of sight can still affect embarked units.
   
Made in us
Been Around the Block





blaktoof wrote:
True.

However any weapon with ignores line of sight can still affect embarked units.


So by this logic barrage weapons can hit units in transports? How would you even do wound allocation?
   
Made in gb
Ultramarine Chaplain with Hate to Spare





blaktoof wrote:
True.

However any weapon with ignores line of sight can still affect embarked units.


Ignore LoS weapons don't work RaW at all so require RaI to function it is unsurprising that they result in wierd interactions with other rules.

Take the Magic: The Gathering 'What Color Are You?' Quiz.

Yes my Colour is Black but not for the reasons stated mainly just because it's slimming... http://imperiusdominatus.blogspot.com 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





Stroggified wrote:
blaktoof wrote:
True.

However any weapon with ignores line of sight can still affect embarked units.


So by this logic barrage weapons can hit units in transports? How would you even do wound allocation?


if we accept that the passage under embarked passengers is telling us that things have blanket permission to measure to/from embarked we have to accept that the opposing player can measure to embarked units for things. There is no actual restriction called out as for shooting at embarked models, normally the inability to draw LoS prevents this. However weapons/attacks that do not require LoS would not be stopped at that point.

There is also the interpretation, which is just as equally RAW that the passage under embarked units tells you how to measure to an embarked unit if you have permission to do so form an ability/wargear that says you may use it while embarked or on embarked units. As it states "if you need to.." which shows you need prior permission somewhere to "need to". Of course the interpretation that I need to shoot the models in your transport so I am measuring to them with my lobbas is equally as valid as saying I need to use the banner of devestation form my embarked units so I measure to the transport. as the rule in question has no restriction on when it can be done, or by whom.
   
Made in us
Discriminating Deathmark Assassin




Johnson City, NewYork

Isn't a lobba a blast weapon?

ADD causes my posts to ramble from time to time. Please bear with me.

You're not a Time Lord stick with linear time.
Specific Vs General 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





barrage.
   
Made in us
Discriminating Deathmark Assassin




Johnson City, NewYork

Which uses the blast template. How many models are you counting under the template?

ADD causes my posts to ramble from time to time. Please bear with me.

You're not a Time Lord stick with linear time.
Specific Vs General 
   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

Gravmyr wrote:
Which uses the blast template. How many models are you counting under the template?

The transport, and Zero embarked models are under the marker.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2015/03/02 05:01:23


"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
Made in us
Flashy Flashgitz





"If the players need to measure a range involving the embarked unit (except for its shooting), this range is measured to or from the vehicle's hull."

Doesn't this solve all the questions, especially the secondary question raised about shooting?

Can't draw LoS, and can't count more than 1 vehicle under a blast because the models aren't on the model...

Warboss Troil
"Less chat, more splat!" 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: