Switch Theme:

Question about allocating Template Wounds  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Dakka Veteran






Backwoods bunker USA

Ok, my buddies and I thought we knew how this worked but somehow, yesterday we managed to confuse ourselves and may need help re validating.


Situation:

2 identical Flamers / Templates are fired at a Squad of 5

The first 3 Models in that squad of 5 are covered by both Templates.

The other 2 Models in that squad of 5 are further back and cannot be reached by either Template.


Question:

We roll 6 Wounds, and 4 of those Wounds get allocated to, and kill, the first 3 Models.

Do the remaining 2 Wounds get allocated to the other 2 Models that were out of range?

We originally thought the answer was yes, since The Template section in Special Rules says nothing about checking for Range. But it does say Wounds are allocated normally, and the main Shooting section does talk about Wounds cannot be allocated to Models out of range.



Thanks for re validating. I know this is old stuff.

Edit - corrected my math in above post.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2015/03/12 15:14:34


 
   
Made in us
Dark Angels Librarian with Book of Secrets






No, the last 2 are out of range so the wounds go away. Thats why you want to fire a Flamer first before using like Bolters because you can make it so your Flamer can't hit someone.

~1.5k
Successful Trades: Ashrog (1), Iron35 (1), Rathryan (3), Leth (1), Eshm (1), Zeke48 (1), Gorkamorka12345 (1),
Melevolence (2), Ascalam (1), Swanny318, (1) ScootyPuffJunior, (1) LValx (1), Jim Solo (1), xSoulgrinderx (1), Reese (1), Pretre (1) 
   
Made in us
Dakka Veteran






Backwoods bunker USA

What if:

There are 3 Models that are more toward the 'right-side' and 2 Models that are more toward the 'left-side'.

And, each template can only cover EITHER the right 3 or the left 2.

Can you have both templates cover the right 3 and allocate 6 wounds to all 5 models?
   
Made in us
Dark Angels Librarian with Book of Secrets






 KiloFiX wrote:
What if:

There are 3 Models that are more toward the 'right-side' and 2 Models that are more toward the 'left-side'.

And, each template can only cover EITHER the right 3 or the left 2.

Can you have both templates cover the right 3 and allocate 6 wounds to all 5 models?


I'm assuming you mean something like

---O-O-O-O--
-X-X-X-X-X

Sure. You can place the Templates however you want, so long as your Template is not covering the base of a Friendly model.

~1.5k
Successful Trades: Ashrog (1), Iron35 (1), Rathryan (3), Leth (1), Eshm (1), Zeke48 (1), Gorkamorka12345 (1),
Melevolence (2), Ascalam (1), Swanny318, (1) ScootyPuffJunior, (1) LValx (1), Jim Solo (1), xSoulgrinderx (1), Reese (1), Pretre (1) 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut






 jreilly89 wrote:
Sure. You can place the Templates however you want, so long as your Template is not covering the base of a Friendly model.


So long as your template is not covering the base of a friendly model and covers the base of as many enemy models as possible.
   
Made in us
Dark Angels Librarian with Book of Secrets






 DJGietzen wrote:
 jreilly89 wrote:
Sure. You can place the Templates however you want, so long as your Template is not covering the base of a Friendly model.


So long as your template is not covering the base of a friendly model and covers the base of as many enemy models as possible.


Do you have to cover as many as possible? I thought you could place it over whatever.

~1.5k
Successful Trades: Ashrog (1), Iron35 (1), Rathryan (3), Leth (1), Eshm (1), Zeke48 (1), Gorkamorka12345 (1),
Melevolence (2), Ascalam (1), Swanny318, (1) ScootyPuffJunior, (1) LValx (1), Jim Solo (1), xSoulgrinderx (1), Reese (1), Pretre (1) 
   
Made in us
Lieutenant General





Florence, KY

Yes, the rule clearly states that you must place the template to cover as many models in the target unit as possible.

'It is a source of constant consternation that my opponents
cannot correlate their innate inferiority with their inevitable
defeat. It would seem that stupidity is as eternal as war.'

- Nemesor Zahndrekh of the Sautekh Dynasty
Overlord of the Crownworld of Gidrim
 
   
Made in gb
Longtime Dakkanaut





UK

 KiloFiX wrote:
What if:

There are 3 Models that are more toward the 'right-side' and 2 Models that are more toward the 'left-side'.

And, each template can only cover EITHER the right 3 or the left 2.

Can you have both templates cover the right 3 and allocate 6 wounds to all 5 models?


Yes that's correct. You have to cover maximum number of models possible without hurting both your guys.
But the other two models are still in range of the weapon.

YMDC = nightmare 
   
Made in ca
Foolproof Falcon Pilot




Ontario, Canada

 KiloFiX wrote:
What if:

There are 3 Models that are more toward the 'right-side' and 2 Models that are more toward the 'left-side'.

And, each template can only cover EITHER the right 3 or the left 2.

Can you have both templates cover the right 3 and allocate 6 wounds to all 5 models?


Both templates would have to cover the maximum amount of models possible for the purpose of generating hits, however wounds could be allocated to all 5 models in this circumstance since all 5 models would be within range of the template. In order to determine which models may have wounds allocated to them you can do a "sweeping motion" of the template from the base of the firing model. Models the template can pass over can be wounded by the templates being fired, as they wound be considered "in range".
   
Made in us
Dakka Veteran






Backwoods bunker USA

Thanks Bo, that answers my question.
   
Made in us
Preacher of the Emperor





St. Louis, Missouri USA

The wounds can be dealt to any model within 8.25" from the firing model even if they weren't under the template. But you start at closest model to the unit first.

 
   
Made in us
Dark Angels Librarian with Book of Secrets






Bojazz wrote:
 KiloFiX wrote:
What if:

There are 3 Models that are more toward the 'right-side' and 2 Models that are more toward the 'left-side'.

And, each template can only cover EITHER the right 3 or the left 2.

Can you have both templates cover the right 3 and allocate 6 wounds to all 5 models?


Both templates would have to cover the maximum amount of models possible for the purpose of generating hits, however wounds could be allocated to all 5 models in this circumstance since all 5 models would be within range of the template. In order to determine which models may have wounds allocated to them you can do a "sweeping motion" of the template from the base of the firing model. Models the template can pass over can be wounded by the templates being fired, as they wound be considered "in range".


I don't think that's right. The wounds are only applied to the models under the Template, not whatever else is in range.

~1.5k
Successful Trades: Ashrog (1), Iron35 (1), Rathryan (3), Leth (1), Eshm (1), Zeke48 (1), Gorkamorka12345 (1),
Melevolence (2), Ascalam (1), Swanny318, (1) ScootyPuffJunior, (1) LValx (1), Jim Solo (1), xSoulgrinderx (1), Reese (1), Pretre (1) 
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





 jreilly89 wrote:
Bojazz wrote:
 KiloFiX wrote:
What if:

There are 3 Models that are more toward the 'right-side' and 2 Models that are more toward the 'left-side'.

And, each template can only cover EITHER the right 3 or the left 2.

Can you have both templates cover the right 3 and allocate 6 wounds to all 5 models?


Both templates would have to cover the maximum amount of models possible for the purpose of generating hits, however wounds could be allocated to all 5 models in this circumstance since all 5 models would be within range of the template. In order to determine which models may have wounds allocated to them you can do a "sweeping motion" of the template from the base of the firing model. Models the template can pass over can be wounded by the templates being fired, as they wound be considered "in range".


I don't think that's right. The wounds are only applied to the models under the Template, not whatever else is in range.

Not true. At least according to the wound allocation rules.

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in au
[MOD]
Making Stuff






Under the couch

 jreilly89 wrote:
I don't think that's right. The wounds are only applied to the models under the Template, not whatever else is in range.

This hasn't been the case since (IIRC) second edition.

The template just tells you how many models are hit. It has no effect on how wound allocation works.

 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: