Switch Theme:

Embarking vs joining  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Hellish Haemonculus






Boskydell, IL

So, I was discussing a strategy the other day, and mentioned putting a unit with Infiltrate into a vehicle in Reserve. (Not a DT.) Mi amigo says this is impossible, since the new FAQ says Infiltrators may not join non Infiltrators during deployment. I said that I didn't think embarking on a vehicle counted as joining, but could not quite chapter and verse to support my argument.

Who is correct in this case? Could someone be kind enough to point me in the correct direction?

Welcome to the Freakshow!

(Leadership-shenanigans for Eldar of all types.) 
   
Made in ca
Foolproof Falcon Pilot




Ontario, Canada

Embarking on a vehicle is not joining. They act as separate units, so reserving them with the vehicle is fine.

They will not be able to infiltrate, however, since Infiltrate does not confer onto non-dedicated transports.

Also, the FAQ only mentions independent characters without infiltrate joining non-infiltrators. Even if your friend disagrees with you about embarking vehicles and "joining", vehicles do not have the independent character special rule.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2015/03/17 05:45:13


 
   
Made in us
Hellish Haemonculus






Boskydell, IL

It also says "and vice versa," implying that infiltrating units being joined by a non infiltrating IC, or an infiltrating IC joining a non infiltrating unit (which he believes is happening in my example) are both illegal.

Sweet.

Welcome to the Freakshow!

(Leadership-shenanigans for Eldar of all types.) 
   
Made in ru
!!Goffik Rocker!!






You may choose to not infiltrate the unit at all. Or you may choose to outflank which will allow to outflank them together with even a non-dedicated transport or indep without outflank usr.
   
Made in ca
Foolproof Falcon Pilot




Ontario, Canada

 Jimsolo wrote:
It also says "and vice versa," implying that infiltrating units being joined by a non infiltrating IC, or an infiltrating IC joining a non infiltrating unit (which he believes is happening in my example) are both illegal.

Sweet.

Ah, you failed to mention that your "unit with infiltrate" was an independent character in your original post. Regardless, They may embark on a transport in reserves, but they can't infiltrate, since embarking is not joining. If embarking was joining, independent characters would never be able to embark upon transports, since they are disallowed from joining vehicle units.

 koooaei wrote:
Or you may choose to outflank which will allow to outflank them together with even a non-dedicated transport or indep without outflank usr.

The Outflank special rule only gives permission to outflank with a dedicated transport, not a non-dedicated transport.

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2015/03/17 06:16:19


 
   
Made in br
Fireknife Shas'el




Lisbon, Portugal

 koooaei wrote:
You may choose to not infiltrate the unit at all. Or you may choose to outflank which will allow to outflank them together with even a non-dedicated transport or indep without outflank usr.


You can't do that.

Units that contain at least one model with this special rule are deployed last, after all other units (friend and foe) have been deployed


A unit with Infiltrators special rule MUST either deploy after all other units or opt to go to Reserves via Outflanking. You cannot deploy Infiltrator units on your normal deployment 'phase' - you'll always put them after the enemy normal deploy. So you'll be Infiltrating.

AI & BFG: / BMG: Mr. Freeze, Deathstroke / Battletech: SR, OWA / Fallout Factions: BoS / HGB: Caprice / Malifaux: Arcanists, Guild, Outcasts / MCP: Mutants / SAGA: Ordensstaat / SW Legion: CIS / WWX: Union

 Unit1126PLL wrote:
"FW is unbalanced and going to ruin tournaments."
"Name one where it did that."
"IT JUST DOES OKAY!"

 Shadenuat wrote:
Voted Astra Militarum for a chance for them to get nerfed instead of my own army.
 
   
Made in gb
Land Raider Pilot on Cruise Control





Englandia

Bojazz wrote:
 Jimsolo wrote:
It also says "and vice versa," implying that infiltrating units being joined by a non infiltrating IC, or an infiltrating IC joining a non infiltrating unit (which he believes is happening in my example) are both illegal.

Sweet.

Ah, you failed to mention that your "unit with infiltrate" was an independent character in your original post. Regardless, They may embark on a transport in reserves, but they can't infiltrate, since embarking is not joining. If embarking was joining, independent characters would never be able to embark upon transports, since they are disallowed from joining vehicle units.


Also, when you embark upon a vehicle, all members of the unit must embark.


Vector Strike wrote:
 koooaei wrote:
You may choose to not infiltrate the unit at all. Or you may choose to outflank which will allow to outflank them together with even a non-dedicated transport or indep without outflank usr.


You can't do that.

Units that contain at least one model with this special rule are deployed last, after all other units (friend and foe) have been deployed


A unit with Infiltrators special rule MUST either deploy after all other units or opt to go to Reserves via Outflanking. You cannot deploy Infiltrator units on your normal deployment 'phase' - you'll always put them after the enemy normal deploy. So you'll be Infiltrating.


That's interesting.
I can't say I've ever noticed that before. Is that the exact wording?

If I sound like I'm being a condescending butthole, I'm not. Read my reply as neutrally as possible, please and thank you. 
   
Made in us
Hellish Haemonculus






Boskydell, IL

Yeah, that I did know. The wording to infiltrate changed in 6th I believe, to make infiltration compulsory.

Welcome to the Freakshow!

(Leadership-shenanigans for Eldar of all types.) 
   
Made in gb
Land Raider Pilot on Cruise Control





Englandia

I just checked over my rulebook. It doesn't use the word "must", but does not seem to use wording to suggest it's optional.

Spoiler:
Infiltrate, BRB page 167 wrote:
Units that contain at least one model with this special rule are deployed last, after all other units (friend and foe) have been deployed.
...

If I sound like I'm being a condescending butthole, I'm not. Read my reply as neutrally as possible, please and thank you. 
   
Made in gb
Confessor Of Sins





Newton Aycliffe

 Ond Angel wrote:
I just checked over my rulebook. It doesn't use the word "must", but does not seem to use wording to suggest it's optional.

Spoiler:
Infiltrate, BRB page 167 wrote:
Units that contain at least one model with this special rule are deployed last, after all other units (friend and foe) have been deployed.
...


Of course, they are deployed last (as your quote says). But this is still "Deployment" which normally includes deploying in Transports (relevant to OP) or deploying in reserves / on the board / infiltrating.

And reading the next section, it seem like this deployment includes "Can deploy within 12", hidden, 18" if seen etc..."
This is a "can" though, so i do not see a restriction in it for: "can deploy normally in Transports in reserves" either.

So i would suggest, for the OP, that you show your opponent the standard "may deploy in transports" rule, asking where in "Infiltrate" it says you are forced to "Deploy" in a certain way.

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2015/03/17 12:01:38


DA:80-S+G+M+B++I-Pw40k01++D+++A+++WD100R++T(T)DM+
Roronoa Zoro wrote:When the world shoves you around, you just gotta stand up and shove back. It's not like somebody's gonna save you if you start babbling excuses. - Bring on the hardship. It's preferred in a path of carnage.
Manchu wrote:
It's like you take a Space Marine and say "what could make him cooler?" Instead of adding more super-genetic-psycho-organic modification, you take it all away. You have a regular human left in power armor and all the armies of hell at the gates. And she doesn't even flinch. Pure. Badass. 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: