Little to nothing in return? So the opponent dedicating their firepower to the unit (which they don't have to do with the dread) means nothing in return? The ability of the unit to still score, threaten, roadblock, provide cover for other units, shoot and assault if the opponent does nothing to them is nothing in return (which the eaten dread doesn't get to do)?
A unit arriving is never completely wasted. whether it absorbs firepower, ends up scoring or prevents effective shooting or movement of the opponents unit, it is not wasted. Unlike the dread. All of this concerns 1/3 of the mishap table
And as nosferatu1001 points out, being able to
DS again next turn (the other 1/2 of the mishap table) is not wasted at all.
I'm wondering why I didn't revert to maths to prove the point earlier that it was considerably more dangerous than
DS.
Also I was saying you should pay 100pts to avoid the danger, not that it actually does avoid the danger.
Automatically Appended Next Post:
God In Action wrote:House rule idea: the Dreadnought doesn't get eaten, it loses a hullpoint on a failed roll.
If a houserule is to be used, this is probably the best compromise. It's just that many will not accept houserules on this so can obviously only be used in friendly games.