Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/04/13 21:15:51
Subject: Unbound Units and Orkimedes' Kustom Gubbinz
|
 |
Been Around the Block
|
I had an interesting discussion with a friend of mine. In the Waaagh! Ghazghkull supplement, it says only formations or detachments within it can take items under Orkimedes' Kustom Gubbinz--and cannot take the Gifts of Gork and Mork from the Ork codex. However, can unbound units take these items? For example, could an unbound Big Mek take a Mega Force Field?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/04/13 21:18:37
Subject: Unbound Units and Orkimedes' Kustom Gubbinz
|
 |
Powerful Phoenix Lord
|
Unbound cannot take from Orkimedes. If you are running an Unbound list, you can still take Formations, and formations taken from Waaagh! Ghazkull can take Orkimedes but nobody else.
|
Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/04/13 21:20:29
Subject: Re:Unbound Units and Orkimedes' Kustom Gubbinz
|
 |
Been Around the Block
|
That was my consensus, but my buddy said that Unbound units can take any item from any codex or supplement in their faction. I can see both sides of the argument; however, it would be nice to have a solid answer. I'm still relatively new to 7th. Does anyone know if this kind of situation has been FAQd?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/04/13 21:20:48
Subject: Unbound Units and Orkimedes' Kustom Gubbinz
|
 |
Mutilatin' Mad Dok
|
Seems pretty cut-and-dry to me.
If the army is unbound, then the units aren't part of a formation or detachment from Waaagh! Ghazghkull.
Orkimedes' Kustom Gubbinz are only available to characters in a formation or detachment from W!G.
Therefore you can't have any of OKGs on an unbound unit.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/04/14 00:41:20
Subject: Unbound Units and Orkimedes' Kustom Gubbinz
|
 |
Krazed Killa Kan
Homestead, FL
|
BUT if you feel like having a friendly game with someone and they want to test out some fun things then feel free to let them. Rules are NOT set in stone in friendly gaming environments.
|
I come in peace. I didn't bring artillery. But I'm pleading with you, with tears in my eyes: If you mess with me, I'll kill you all
Marine General James Mattis, to Iraqi tribal leaders |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/04/14 00:48:16
Subject: Unbound Units and Orkimedes' Kustom Gubbinz
|
 |
Scarred Ultramarine Tyrannic War Veteran
Ankh Morpork
|
From the rules on formations from the rulebook:
"Unlike other Detachments, Formations can also be taken as part of Unbound armies. If they are, their units maintain the special rules gained for being part of the formation."
If you include a formation from Waaagh! Gazghkull in your army then eligible units within that formation may select Orkimedes' Kustom Gubbinz.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/04/14 01:25:18
Subject: Re:Unbound Units and Orkimedes' Kustom Gubbinz
|
 |
Been Around the Block
|
The issue came about when he ran the Green Tide Formation (10 units of boys with a warboss). The warboss had the big bosspole, which is legal since only detachments or formations from W!G may take Orkimedes' Kustom Grubbinz. However, he then added a few unbound weirdboys and a big mek. The big mek was equipped with a Mega Force Field, which is also part of OKG. But since the Big Mek was unbound, he shouldn't have been able to take the MFF, right?
|
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2015/04/14 01:28:33
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/04/14 02:03:35
Subject: Unbound Units and Orkimedes' Kustom Gubbinz
|
 |
Daring Dark Eldar Raider Rider
|
That's correct, yes.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/04/14 02:05:06
Subject: Unbound Units and Orkimedes' Kustom Gubbinz
|
 |
Krazed Killa Kan
Homestead, FL
|
like i said earlier on, its fine if everyone agrees to let them do it, its all for fun anyway
|
I come in peace. I didn't bring artillery. But I'm pleading with you, with tears in my eyes: If you mess with me, I'll kill you all
Marine General James Mattis, to Iraqi tribal leaders |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/04/14 02:07:07
Subject: Unbound Units and Orkimedes' Kustom Gubbinz
|
 |
Scarred Ultramarine Tyrannic War Veteran
Ankh Morpork
|
Ghazkuul wrote:like i said earlier on, its fine if everyone agrees to let them do it, its all for fun anyway
That's a pointless thing to say in response to a query about the actual rules, though.
Because if everyone agrees to it, if I roll six sixes on six dice I auto-win at the beginning of turn one.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/04/16 12:47:01
Subject: Unbound Units and Orkimedes' Kustom Gubbinz
|
 |
Krazed Killa Kan
Homestead, FL
|
well if thats how your gaming club feels Mr. Shine then go for it, I was just pointing out that the rules say NO but if you want to try it out For fun and your opponent is ok with it then the biggest rule takes effect.
The biggest rule in wargaming btw is HAVE FUN!
|
I come in peace. I didn't bring artillery. But I'm pleading with you, with tears in my eyes: If you mess with me, I'll kill you all
Marine General James Mattis, to Iraqi tribal leaders |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/04/17 02:26:13
Subject: Unbound Units and Orkimedes' Kustom Gubbinz
|
 |
Daring Dark Eldar Raider Rider
|
From the YMDC tenets ( http://www.dakkadakka.com/dakkaforum/posts/list/253892.page):
"7. Do not bring The Most Important Rule ( TMIR) into these rules discussions. While it is something you should most certainly abide by while playing (if you're not having fun, why ARE you playing?), it does not apply to rules debates. "
Whatever you and your friends decide to do is fine, but that's not what this forum is for
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/04/17 02:49:03
Subject: Unbound Units and Orkimedes' Kustom Gubbinz
|
 |
Krazed Killa Kan
Homestead, FL
|
Let me rephrase my response then. NO YOU CAN NOT DO THAT BY THE ACTUAL RULES.
BUT
In a friendly game environment you can ask your opponent if they are ok with you breaking a formation rule so you can try something out or just to see if its fun.
I apologize for bringing up the most important rule in wargaming, but my point was that this wasn't a tournament setting so its alright to try out random things..
For instance I tried Ghaz out with a 3++ the other day just to try it out.
|
I come in peace. I didn't bring artillery. But I'm pleading with you, with tears in my eyes: If you mess with me, I'll kill you all
Marine General James Mattis, to Iraqi tribal leaders |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/04/17 03:29:12
Subject: Unbound Units and Orkimedes' Kustom Gubbinz
|
 |
Scarred Ultramarine Tyrannic War Veteran
Ankh Morpork
|
And I can ask my boss for the next three months off on paid leave just because, but I'd have no reasonable expectation that he's obliged to agree with me and allow it.
|
|
 |
 |
|