Switch Theme:

Curious about the Deathstrike Missile, and Prescience.  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Blood-Drenched Death Company Marine





Mississippi

Greetings all.

I'm curious to find out how prescience works in relation to the Deathstrike Missile.

Turn 2, I cast prescience on the Deathstrike and then during the shooting phase I roll the launch dice to see if it can fire, needing a 4+.
Now, logically prescience wouldn't affect this roll I wouldn't think, but then I think of how prescience affects the Gets Hot! roll of a plasma cannon or blast plasma weapon, allowing a re-roll of the Gets Hot! dice. (At least, that's how I interpret prescience to work regarding Gets Hot! blast weapons, if that's not a correct interpretation, someone do please let me know.)

I know that prescience would allow a re-roll of the scatter dice & two D6 used to determine the final rest of the blast, but does it also affect the 4+ "The Hour is Nigh" roll to determine if it can fire in the first place, similar to the way Prescience interacts with the Gets Hot! rule of plasma blast weaponry? (As I interpret it, once again.)

Thanks for any thoughts & feedback regarding this in advance.

Take it easy.

-Red__Thirst-

You don't know me son, so I'll explain this to you once: If I ever kill you, you'll be awake, you'll be facing me, and you'll be armed.  
   
Made in us
World-Weary Pathfinder




No, it would not.

The interaction of Prescience and Get's Hot! Is because of the way Get's Hot is worded. BRB 164: "If a model has the ability to re-roll its rolls "To Hit" (including because of BS6+ or the Twin-linked special rule), a wound is only suffered if the To Hit re-roll is also a 1. it may also re-roll Gets Hot results of 1 for weapons that do not roll To Hit."

"The Hour is Nigh" provides no special dispensation to re-roll the attempt to fire under any circumstances.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2015/04/19 02:39:10


 
   
Made in us
Blood-Drenched Death Company Marine





Mississippi

Answers my question then, and my first instinct was correct.

Glad that was clarified. Appreciate it Lendys.

Take it easy.

-Red__Thirst

You don't know me son, so I'll explain this to you once: If I ever kill you, you'll be awake, you'll be facing me, and you'll be armed.  
   
Made in au
Screaming Shining Spear





Western Australia

Its a 3+ on turn 2 as well....

you can even fire it turn 1 of you go second - which is when you need a 4+ to fire it

For gaming, hobby and events in Perth, Western Australia - https://objectivesecured.com.au 
   
Made in gb
Regular Dakkanaut




 Massaen wrote:
you can even fire it turn 1 of you go second - which is when you need a 4+ to fire it
Not everyone would agree with you. This came up over on warseer. The weapon can't fire "on the first turn of the game", but the rulebook says that "turn" means "player turn" "unless it specifically says 'game turn'"
So...
Some people argue that "first turn of the game" means first player turn of the game, allowing the deathstrike to launch on the first game turn if the Guard went second.
Other people argue that "first turn of the game" is intended to mean "first game turn".
I don't want to go offtopic, though, so I'm not going to add anything else. If anyone wants to have a debate, it probably belongs in a new thread. Or this thread, after renaming it to "Firing the Deathstrike - The Hour is Nigh".

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2015/04/19 12:20:38


 
   
Made in au
Screaming Shining Spear





Western Australia

Yup - that sums it up! YMDC is generally RAW and the way it's written tells us first turn - which means player turn because of the rule book... And as such can be fired turn 1 if you go second. I get the argument but RAW is clear here

For gaming, hobby and events in Perth, Western Australia - https://objectivesecured.com.au 
   
Made in us
Lieutenant General





Florence, KY

From the Deathstrike Missile rules:

The Deathstrike Missile Launcher may not fire on the first turn of the game...

The first turn of the game = the first game turn.

'It is a source of constant consternation that my opponents
cannot correlate their innate inferiority with their inevitable
defeat. It would seem that stupidity is as eternal as war.'

- Nemesor Zahndrekh of the Sautekh Dynasty
Overlord of the Crownworld of Gidrim
 
   
Made in us
World-Weary Pathfinder




I can see a RAI reason for it be first player turn as the RAW argument goes.

If gives your opponent at least 1 turn to try to crack it open with long range fire, or at the very least to spread out their army to try to avoid the Apocalyptic blast that is heading for them. On a normal 4'X6' you have 6-8 sq feet to deploy in. In that first movement phase you have a chance to scatter out into the rest of the board to try to avoid fire.

I have a buddy who loved to gun-line it up behind an Aegis. I would have loved to have one of these puppies in the corner away from him in our vanguard deployment, hold the flanks to keep it safe...and just drop this in the middle of his huge gun-line. The casualties could have been enormous.
   
Made in au
Screaming Shining Spear





Western Australia

 Ghaz wrote:
From the Deathstrike Missile rules:

The Deathstrike Missile Launcher may not fire on the first turn of the game...

The first turn of the game = the first game turn.


Not true. If you go first then you have the first turn of the game. In the context of the rule book it would need to say "may not fire in the first game turn" to prohibit turn 1 shooting. Turn means player turn unless explicitly stating game turn

For gaming, hobby and events in Perth, Western Australia - https://objectivesecured.com.au 
   
Made in us
Powerful Phoenix Lord





Buffalo, NY

Which would mean that "of the game" serves absolutely no purpose.

Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia 
   
Made in us
Lieutenant General





Florence, KY

 Massaen wrote:
Not true. If you go first then you have the first turn of the game.

Nope. You have the first player's turn, which is different than the first turn of the game.

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2015/04/19 23:51:27


'It is a source of constant consternation that my opponents
cannot correlate their innate inferiority with their inevitable
defeat. It would seem that stupidity is as eternal as war.'

- Nemesor Zahndrekh of the Sautekh Dynasty
Overlord of the Crownworld of Gidrim
 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




Yet it was also the first turn of that game. WHen asked "what is the first turn of a 6 game turn game", the answer "player 1s turn" is precisely correct.

The rule is currently redundant. First turn of the game is not equivalent to first game turn.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2015/04/20 09:15:46


 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: