Switch Theme:

Archangel Stormraven Formation question  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in de
Dakka Veteran




Eacute cole Militaire (Paris)

In the archangel stormraven formation it says that you are allowed to Charge the Same turn you arrive from deepstrike as Long as you are within2 Models from the formation with teleport homers.
Do These Models habe to be disembarked?
The rule says no in my oppinion, am i right?!?

Do not kill. Do not rape. Do not steal. These are principles which every man of every faith can embrace.
For if you do, one day you will look behind you and you will see us And on that day, you will reap it,
and we will send you to whatever god you wish.  
   
Made in au
Screaming Shining Spear





Western Australia

Correct. So long as you can measure to within range of the hull of 2 of the 3 Ravens you are fine

For gaming, hobby and events in Perth, Western Australia - https://objectivesecured.com.au 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut






Pure RAW, no the teleport homers do not need to be disembarked and you would measure to the hull of whatever vehicle they are embarked in. However, a lot of players might not play it that way. It 'feels' like its not the RAI. The teleport homers normally don't provide a benefit while embarked and for the fluff of this formation it does not seem like they are doing anything unusual. Just keep in mind that while you are technically correct you might still not be able to play it that way in a every game.
   
Made in au
Screaming Shining Spear





Western Australia

You are not using the teleport homers though. You are using a special rule of the formation. The homers don't affect a thing other than teleporting units.

It's the special rule that lets them use it with the other units like pods or jump packs and the rules have no condition about being on the ground

For gaming, hobby and events in Perth, Western Australia - https://objectivesecured.com.au 
   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

 DJGietzen wrote:
The teleport homers normally don't provide a benefit while embarked


Yes they do...

Why wouldn't they?

"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut






@Reaper, because they only work if they were on the battlefield at the start of the turn. Things that are embarked are not on the battlefield and things can't disembark until after reserves have arrived.

@Massaen, RAW that is correct. But the fluff of whats happening may cause disagreements.
   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

 DJGietzen wrote:
@Reaper, because they only work if they were on the battlefield at the start of the turn. Things that are embarked are not on the battlefield and things can't disembark until after reserves have arrived.

@Massaen, RAW that is correct. But the fluff of whats happening may cause disagreements.


Embarked unis are on the battlefield they share a space with the transport they are embarked upon...

They are in the transport and if you need to measure range to the embarked unit you measure to the Hull of the transport.

"Each player then adds up the Mastery Levels of all the Psyker units they currently have on the tabletop (including those embarked on Transports)" (The Psychic Phase chapter, RESOLVING THE PSYCHIC PHASE section, GENERATE WARP CHARGE subsection).

Clearly things embarked are on the tabletop because the "GENERATE WARP CHARGE" subsection equates being on the battlefield with being embarked.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2015/04/22 00:37:23


"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
Made in au
Screaming Shining Spear





Western Australia

 DeathReaper wrote:
 DJGietzen wrote:
The teleport homers normally don't provide a benefit while embarked


Yes they do...

Why wouldn't they?


Because the rules for the BA teleport homer are specific and don't normally work while embarked - at least from memory.

The special rule for the formation is very clear and you don't actually use the homers - as they only work with teleporting units - while this rule allows all deep striking units. You just have to be in range of them.

For gaming, hobby and events in Perth, Western Australia - https://objectivesecured.com.au 
   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

 Massaen wrote:
 DeathReaper wrote:
 DJGietzen wrote:
The teleport homers normally don't provide a benefit while embarked


Yes they do...

Why wouldn't they?


Because the rules for the BA teleport homer are specific and don't normally work while embarked - at least from memory.


Your memory fails you

The BA teleport homer says nothing about not working while embarked.

"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
Made in au
Screaming Shining Spear





Western Australia

The section I took as meaning the model had to be on the table was...

"For this to work, the bearer must have been on the battlefield at the start of the turn"

I took that to mean physically on the table top rather than just embarked.


Automatically Appended Next Post:
In regards to the formation - the teleport homer specifically refers to - Friendly units composed entirely of models in terminator armour - in regards to no scatter within 6" deep strike.

compare this to the formation rule...

"If a friendly unit with the blood angels faction arrives from deep strike reserve within 12" of at least 2 models from this formation equipped with teleport homers, then it does not scatter, and can charge on the same turn as it arrives"

The Homer itself requires you to be in TDA while the formation rule only requires you to deep strike. Also note that the homer only works at 6" while the special rule is 12"

The homer itself (which only affects TDA) is required to be on the table at the start of the turn while the special rule again has no such requirement.

This allows you to build a "Death Punch" list (patent pending) where the 3 ravens fly on turn 1 and you drop 2+ drop pods loaded with vanguard/death company/mephiston & co who then charge before the enemy can do much at all. All this with an effective threat range of 36" (storm raven movement) + 12" (deep strike no scatter range) + 6" (Disembark from pod) + 2d6" (charge range) for a whopping 54+2d6" death punch turn 1.

Wont work on everyone and the cost of the formation runs you over 1k in points so the death punch will be as powerful as you can make it with the remaining points and required taxes for the detachment you use. Interceptors pose a very serious threat to the list as well - it Hates Tau!

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2015/04/22 04:00:25


For gaming, hobby and events in Perth, Western Australia - https://objectivesecured.com.au 
   
Made in gb
Audacious Atalan Jackal



UK

which book is that and what page? I have Blood angel codex, Exterminatus, Leviathan and Deathstorm... I cant find this archangel stormraven formation?



 
   
Made in gb
Blood Angel Neophyte Undergoing Surgeries




Solidcrash wrote:
which book is that and what page? I have Blood angel codex, Exterminatus, Leviathan and Deathstorm... I cant find this archangel stormraven formation?


It was in one of the White Dwarfs around the time of the Blood Angels release. Sorry, I don't have the issue or its number.
   
Made in gb
Audacious Atalan Jackal



UK

Aha! Good job my local shop do have back issues! I'll hunt them down. Thank!
I need that data sheet! Combo of all data sheet made blood angel danger.


Automatically Appended Next Post:
Found it. White dwarf 47.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2015/04/23 15:22:50




 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: