Switch Theme:

Perils of the Warp #3 - Immediate Loss of Psychic Power  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in ca
Slippery Ultramarine Scout Biker




Tigerius rolls for his psychic powers. On his first roll to get off the psychic power 'Foreboding' he rolls double 6s and therefore has to roll on the Perils of the Warp table. As the rules state, despite having to roll Perils of the Warp, since he did get the dice necessary to get the power off, he still has the psychic power 'Foreboding'. On the Perils of the Warp table he rolls #3. In the roll to determine which psychic power will be lost immediately he loses the psychic power 'Foreboding', the power he just got off. The wording in the rule book page 200 says, "That power is immediately lost and cannot be used by the Psycher for the rest of the battle". In my opinion that means that psychic power "Foreboding' that he just got off that turn cannot in fact be used that turn because he just lost the power immediately. However, my opponent, who is playing Tigerius feels that since he already got the power off that turn he can use the power that turn but cannot use it any time after that. Thoughts please. dsf
   
Made in au
Jinking Ravenwing Land Speeder Pilot





the down underworld

The power is lost to the psyker but as stated above the table. The power still manifests.

Also a 3 on perils is suffer a wound and lose d3 warp charges. You are thinking of #2

"If you wait a few months, they'll pick one of the worst codexes and they'll nerf almost everything, its an abstract sort of balance, but it's the sort of balance gw likes... "
 
   
Made in us
Lone Wolf Sentinel Pilot





Work it through exactly as you described it:
1) Roll to harness warp charges
2) Power successfully manifests
3) Roll on perils chart
4) Lose power

You already successfully manifested the power, losing it happens afterwards. As a similar example, a psyker that dies while casting still gets the power off, implying that perils happen separately after casting.
   
Made in au
Jinking Ravenwing Land Speeder Pilot





the down underworld

I think the issue is, perils are resolved after the power is manifested, but beforw the power is resolved

"If you wait a few months, they'll pick one of the worst codexes and they'll nerf almost everything, its an abstract sort of balance, but it's the sort of balance gw likes... "
 
   
Made in us
Lone Wolf Sentinel Pilot





 jokerkd wrote:
I think the issue is, perils are resolved after the power is manifested, but beforw the power is resolved
What exactly do you mean by that? I mean, you do agree I can cast a witchfire after I'm dead, right? If dying happens before casting, you can't measure the range of the witchfire because the psyker is gone.
   
Made in au
Jinking Ravenwing Land Speeder Pilot





the down underworld

No. casting (manifesting) happens before the perils. You suffer the results, maybe dying or losing powers, then the effects of the witchfire would be RESOLVED.

I think we agree, but you just have the terms mixed up

"If you wait a few months, they'll pick one of the worst codexes and they'll nerf almost everything, its an abstract sort of balance, but it's the sort of balance gw likes... "
 
   
Made in us
Lone Wolf Sentinel Pilot





Ah, okay, that wording makes a lot more sense.
   
Made in us
Dakka Veteran





Yes, the power still works on that turn, but he can't manifest it again for the rest of the battle.

There is NO SUCH THING as MORE ADVANCED in 40k!!! There are ONLY 2 LEVELS of RULES: Basic and Advanced. THE END. Stop saying "More Advanced". That is not a recognized thing in modern 40k!!!!
2500
3400
2250
3500
3300 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: