Switch Theme:

harlequins as allies  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut






so help me get this straight i cab tap my primary detachment of dark eldar and take hardship allies containing only the heros path formation? Even tho ot does not meet the allies rule of 1hq and 2 troops?

2500  
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




Um, I guess

For one, the "Allied Detachment" requires only 1HQ and 1 Troop. However, thisis NOT the only way to have "allies" working in your army - your (bound) army is simply one made up of detachments, with formations being a special type of detachment, adhering to a points value.

It doesnt matter what the contents of these detachments are; there is no "master" force organisation chart you must fit all forces into. That way died with 6th edition
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut






Just curious if it would still be bound this way

2500  
   
Made in gb
Member of a Lodge? I Can't Say



UK

Detachments must either fit a FOC or a formation to be bound.

Harlequins have no HQs so they can't be a combined arms detachment or allied detachment FOCs.

Annoyingly therefore they can only use the Harlequin detachment FOC in the codex or use one of the formations in the codex.

If they don't adhere to this detachment or one of the formations they are not bound.

So if you use heroes path your are bound cause its a formation

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2015/05/21 13:57:24



"That's how a Luna Wolf fights."
"If you can't keep up, go and join the Death Guard"
"It had often been said that Space Marines knew no fear, but when Angron charged, he ran" 
   
Made in us
Lord Commander in a Plush Chair






Yes.

As long as all forces in your army are taken from detachments and/or formations, you are using a battleforged list and gain all your command benefits(and suffer any restrictions)

If you are playing unbound then you only have a primary detachment(1 faction which is the faction of your warlord, and has no foc, ni benefits, and no restrictions) then everything else is just units taken (even if you have taken all the models for a formation, it is not a formation and gains no benefits). This is the balance of unbound.


Automatically Appended Next Post:
P.s. all units from different factions in either case(battleforged or unbound) are allies and follow the levels of alliance rules.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2015/05/21 14:01:00


This is my Rulebook. There are many Like it, but this one is mine. Without me, my rulebook is useless. Without my rulebook, I am useless.
Stop looking for buzz words and start reading the whole sentences.



 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




 theemporerprotectsnone wrote:
Just curious if it would still be bound this way

Yes. The requirement to be "bound" is: made up entirely of detachments.

Your proposed army ismade up entirely of detachments.
   
Made in au
Screaming Shining Spear





Western Australia

The key to this is understanding the difference between Allies and the Allied Detachment.

The allied detachment is the one seen in the BRB - 1HQ, 1 Trp then optional 1 Trp/Elt/Fst/Hvy. This can't be the same faction as your primary detachment (where your warlord is) but otherwise is a way of getting ObSec in a small detachment with a low buy in points wise.

Allies are any time you add more than 1 faction to an army. The allies rules cover how these different factions behave in regards to each other on the table REGARDLESS OF HOW THEY ARE IN THE LIST. They could be unbound, in a detachment or formation and the allies rules still apply.

So taking harlequins as Allies with Dark elder - you can see they are battle brothers in terms of allies level with everything that provides. They need to be in a detachment/formation to keep your army bound - which in the harlequins case means using their detachment or one of their formations (like heroes path) as they don't have a HQ choice and as such can't meet the requirements for a CAD or Allied Detachment.

For gaming, hobby and events in Perth, Western Australia - https://objectivesecured.com.au 
   
Made in dk
Fresh-Faced New User




Okay, so to use the army as allies, without having it as unbound, I need to use a formation.

But to get the command benefits, I have to have a whole, regular detachment, with 3 troops, 2 fast and a heavy, to get the command benefits... Right? Sorry for being a bit confused.

I imagine that I can't get the Rising Cresendo rule, from taking a small formation as allies, or the formation that has it as a special rule.

But might use them anyhow, it fits the Alaitoc theme.
   
Made in nz
Scarred Ultramarine Tyrannic War Veteran




Ankh Morpork

You can take either the detachment or any of the formations as allies to another detachment, but yes, to gain the detachment's Command Benefits you must fulfil the minimum requirements of that formation, i.e. at least 3 Troops, 2 Fast Attack and 1 Heavy Support choice.

I recall some of the formations have Rising Crescendo, so you would get the rule for any detachment or formation with the rule, so long as you fulfil the detachment/formation's requirements, of course.
   
Made in ca
Swift Swooping Hawk





 Mr. Shine wrote:
You can take either the detachment or any of the formations as allies to another detachment, but yes, to gain the detachment's Command Benefits you must fulfil the minimum requirements of that formation, i.e. at least 3 Troops, 2 Fast Attack and 1 Heavy Support choice.

I recall some of the formations have Rising Crescendo, so you would get the rule for any detachment or formation with the rule, so long as you fulfil the detachment/formation's requirements, of course.


Cegorach's Jest is the one with Rising Crescendo and only requires a single troop with transport (I think), 1 heavy and 1 fast if I recall.

Not as expensive as going full Masque Detachment or Cegorach's Revenge
   
Made in gb
Veteran Wolf Guard Squad Leader






 Kommissar Kel wrote:
If you are playing unbound then you only have a primary detachment(1 faction which is the faction of your warlord, and has no foc, ni benefits, and no restrictions) then everything else is just units taken (even if you have taken all the models for a formation, it is not a formation and gains no benefits). This is the balance of unbound.


Formations can be taken in unbound, and do grant the benefits for being in the formation . If it was a warhost/decurion/strike force you would lose the command benefit however
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: