Switch Theme:

Markerlights & Eldar titan holo fields  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Sinewy Scourge





Commoragh (closer to the bottom)

Ok so I was playing a game against an Eldar player the other day. I shot one of my markerlights at his titan and he told me his holo fields make me roll twice to hit for markerlights. Is this correct?

 Wyzilla wrote:
Saying the Eldar won the War in Heaven is like saying a child won a fight with a murderer simply because after breaking into his house, shooting his mother and father through the head, the thug took off in a car instead of finishing off the kid.


 
   
Made in ca
Swift Swooping Hawk





 DaKKaLAnce wrote:
Ok so I was playing a game against an Eldar player the other day. I shot one of my markerlights at his titan and he told me his holo fields make me roll twice to hit for markerlights. Is this correct?


According to the Apocalypse book yes BUT markerlights are exempt from the holo-fields because they do not require to roll for armor penetration which is the trigger for the the holo-field's rule.

Without posting the actual rule word for word, fluff-wise it is loosely explained as: "The titan's holo-field project a mirror image. If you hit, you must roll again to make sure you hit the right one."

The value to hit is fixed and not related to BS.
   
Made in au
Jinking Ravenwing Land Speeder Pilot





the down underworld

The way i read it, if you successfuly roll to hit, you then are forced to roll again. There's no reason to assume the firing unit has to be able to actually cause damage

"If you wait a few months, they'll pick one of the worst codexes and they'll nerf almost everything, its an abstract sort of balance, but it's the sort of balance gw likes... "
 
   
Made in ca
Longtime Dakkanaut





You can "beat" it using twin-linked weapons though ;-). You'll end up rerolling all your dice (at which point, your opponent should just let you keep the first roll), and that second roll will stick because no die can be rerolled more than once :-D

 Galef wrote:
If you refuse to use rock, you will never beat scissors.
 
   
Made in au
Jinking Ravenwing Land Speeder Pilot





the down underworld

 Yarium wrote:
You can "beat" it using twin-linked weapons though ;-). You'll end up rerolling all your dice (at which point, your opponent should just let you keep the first roll), and that second roll will stick because no die can be rerolled more than once :-D


Negative. The rule does not force a reroll of your "to hit" dice. It makes you roll again. There's a difference

"If you wait a few months, they'll pick one of the worst codexes and they'll nerf almost everything, its an abstract sort of balance, but it's the sort of balance gw likes... "
 
   
Made in us
Sinewy Scourge





Commoragh (closer to the bottom)

I don't have the rules in front of me, But I thought what Erik posted above was correct. I thought it must be able to pen in order to activate the holo fields. I don't know the exact wording at the top of my head.


Automatically Appended Next Post:
 jokerkd wrote:
 Yarium wrote:
You can "beat" it using twin-linked weapons though ;-). You'll end up rerolling all your dice (at which point, your opponent should just let you keep the first roll), and that second roll will stick because no die can be rerolled more than once :-D


Negative. The rule does not force a reroll of your "to hit" dice. It makes you roll again. There's a difference


So if I have twin link, I can reroll after the 2nd attempt ?

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2015/05/28 20:25:02


 Wyzilla wrote:
Saying the Eldar won the War in Heaven is like saying a child won a fight with a murderer simply because after breaking into his house, shooting his mother and father through the head, the thug took off in a car instead of finishing off the kid.


 
   
Made in ca
Foolproof Falcon Pilot




Ontario, Canada

Titan Holo fields are not a re-roll. It's a separate 4+ (3+ if you didn't move last turn) roll that happens before armour penetration to see whether or not you hit the holo field image. Twin-linked weapons will not negate it. Also, whether or not you can pen doesn't affect whether or not you make an armour penetration roll. Even if you have a strength 0 weapon, you still add D6 to see if you can pen the vehicle. It will just auto fail.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2015/05/28 20:26:57


 
   
Made in ca
Longtime Dakkanaut





Ah, by the way it was posted, it sounded like a reroll.

 Galef wrote:
If you refuse to use rock, you will never beat scissors.
 
   
Made in gb
Dakka Veteran





He's right, titan holofields basically convert a balistic skill roll of a "hit" into a "miss".. it's a sort of an added mini phase in shooting.. so once a twin linked (or otherwise) "hit" hits it may well be destined to soon become a "miss" due to the fields.. either way the twin linking is over and done with by the time the holofields get their chance to kick in.

If this sounds over the top, it is not they are the eldar version of void sheilds and are meant to be incredibly powerful

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2015/05/28 20:36:01


 
   
Made in us
Sinewy Scourge





Commoragh (closer to the bottom)

Well Marker lights have a rule saying that they can never inflict damage, just need to hit to get the markerlight token(this is not exact wording). Target acquired is the rule I believe...Would holo fields still activate?

 Wyzilla wrote:
Saying the Eldar won the War in Heaven is like saying a child won a fight with a murderer simply because after breaking into his house, shooting his mother and father through the head, the thug took off in a car instead of finishing off the kid.


 
   
Made in au
Jinking Ravenwing Land Speeder Pilot





the down underworld

 DaKKaLAnce wrote:
Well Marker lights have a rule saying that they can never inflict damage, just need to hit to get the markerlight token(this is not exact wording). Target acquired is the rule I believe...Would holo fields still activate?


Yes

"If you wait a few months, they'll pick one of the worst codexes and they'll nerf almost everything, its an abstract sort of balance, but it's the sort of balance gw likes... "
 
   
Made in us
Sinewy Scourge





Commoragh (closer to the bottom)

Im going to have to say no to this one. Since there is not "To wound roll" the holo fields cannot be used, As the rules say BEFORE rolling to wound/damage. No of that happens , so no roll for the fields.

Now you wont be able to use the makerlights to make the 4+ any better since it is a set roll and not a "To Hit roll" with BS.

 Wyzilla wrote:
Saying the Eldar won the War in Heaven is like saying a child won a fight with a murderer simply because after breaking into his house, shooting his mother and father through the head, the thug took off in a car instead of finishing off the kid.


 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: