Switch Theme:

Axe of Korlath Bloodthirster still apart of Slaughtercult?  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Sword-Wielding Bloodletter of Khorne





Just played a game where my lord (who was apart of a Slaughtercult) with killed with Kor'lath, Axe of Ruin. Does he still get the secondary bloodtithe bonus for being in the slaughtercult? (ie I spend my points next turn on summoning a daemon prince and the secondary on FNP, does he get FNP with the rest of the slaughtercult?)

Thanks!
   
Made in us
Auspicious Daemonic Herald





Nothing about summoning tells you to put it in any of your existing detachments (or in a new detachment). it's the same reason why conjured troop daemons don't get ObSec.
   
Made in us
Sword-Wielding Bloodletter of Khorne





But when you summon a BT or a DP normally from your warlord you keep his gear and his warlord trait, implying the daemon is still the warlord, who was still apart of the cult.
   
Made in gb
Longtime Dakkanaut




Axe of korlath bloodthirster does NOT get to keep warlord trait. It's a new unit entirely, and I see no reason it would count as part of its formation.

Blood tithe princes do keep the warlord trait, so the argument is a bit more shaky... It is replacing your character.. but is also a new unit not listed in the slaughter cult...

Probably would err on the side of caution and say it doesn't gain the formation bonus.

DFTT 
   
Made in gb
Nurgle Veteran Marine with the Flu






 CrownAxe wrote:
Nothing about summoning tells you to put it in any of your existing detachments (or in a new detachment). it's the same reason why conjured troop daemons don't get ObSec.


But all units must be part of a detachment. It's the same reason why conjured troop daemons get ObSec.

And surely the Bloodthirster was taken as part of the detachment anyway - he was just hiding in the axe all along.
   
Made in us
Auspicious Daemonic Herald





 Tonberry7 wrote:
 CrownAxe wrote:
Nothing about summoning tells you to put it in any of your existing detachments (or in a new detachment). it's the same reason why conjured troop daemons don't get ObSec.


But all units must be part of a detachment. It's the same reason why conjured troop daemons get ObSec.

The "all units must be part of a detachment" rule only applies to picking your army, not while you're playing the game.

And even if it applied during the game, nothing says conjured troop daemons get put in a detachment that gives them ObSec.
   
Made in gb
Nurgle Veteran Marine with the Flu






 CrownAxe wrote:
 Tonberry7 wrote:
 CrownAxe wrote:
Nothing about summoning tells you to put it in any of your existing detachments (or in a new detachment). it's the same reason why conjured troop daemons don't get ObSec.


But all units must be part of a detachment. It's the same reason why conjured troop daemons get ObSec.

The "all units must be part of a detachment" rule only applies to picking your army, not while you're playing the game.


Where does it say that? Tbh, I'd hoped you would have realised my post wasn't 100% serious. I'd probably agree that RAI, conjured units don't get ObSec and that's certainly how I play it, and so I can't really be bothered to argue RAW about it.

However, as you've spotted, for some reason the RAW give us zero information on how conjured or summoned units interact with the Detachment and army selection rules and so for you to make definitive statements on the topic is unsafe. I believe tournaments have had to FAQ the matter due to the ambiguity of the RAW.
   
Made in us
Auspicious Daemonic Herald





 Tonberry7 wrote:
 CrownAxe wrote:
 Tonberry7 wrote:
 CrownAxe wrote:
Nothing about summoning tells you to put it in any of your existing detachments (or in a new detachment). it's the same reason why conjured troop daemons don't get ObSec.


But all units must be part of a detachment. It's the same reason why conjured troop daemons get ObSec.

The "all units must be part of a detachment" rule only applies to picking your army, not while you're playing the game.


Where does it say that? Tbh, I'd hoped you would have realised my post wasn't 100% serious. I'd probably agree that RAI, conjured units don't get ObSec and that's certainly how I play it, and so I can't really be bothered to argue RAW about it.

However, as you've spotted, for some reason the RAW give us zero information on how conjured or summoned units interact with the Detachment and army selection rules and so for you to make definitive statements on the topic is unsafe. I believe tournaments have had to FAQ the matter due to the ambiguity of the RAW.

That is exactly why its clear what RAW is. There is nothing saying they what detachment conjured units are put in, so they don't get put in a detachment that gives any special rules
   
Made in gb
Nurgle Veteran Marine with the Flu






 CrownAxe wrote:
 Tonberry7 wrote:
 CrownAxe wrote:
 Tonberry7 wrote:
 CrownAxe wrote:
Nothing about summoning tells you to put it in any of your existing detachments (or in a new detachment). it's the same reason why conjured troop daemons don't get ObSec.


But all units must be part of a detachment. It's the same reason why conjured troop daemons get ObSec.

The "all units must be part of a detachment" rule only applies to picking your army, not while you're playing the game.


Where does it say that? Tbh, I'd hoped you would have realised my post wasn't 100% serious. I'd probably agree that RAI, conjured units don't get ObSec and that's certainly how I play it, and so I can't really be bothered to argue RAW about it.

However, as you've spotted, for some reason the RAW give us zero information on how conjured or summoned units interact with the Detachment and army selection rules and so for you to make definitive statements on the topic is unsafe. I believe tournaments have had to FAQ the matter due to the ambiguity of the RAW.

That is exactly why its clear what RAW is. There is nothing saying they what detachment conjured units are put in, so they don't get put in a detachment that gives any special rules


Yes but then we're back to all units have to be part of a detachment. ... Nevermind.
   
Made in us
Auspicious Daemonic Herald





 Tonberry7 wrote:
 CrownAxe wrote:
 Tonberry7 wrote:
 CrownAxe wrote:
 Tonberry7 wrote:
 CrownAxe wrote:
Nothing about summoning tells you to put it in any of your existing detachments (or in a new detachment). it's the same reason why conjured troop daemons don't get ObSec.


But all units must be part of a detachment. It's the same reason why conjured troop daemons get ObSec.

The "all units must be part of a detachment" rule only applies to picking your army, not while you're playing the game.


Where does it say that? Tbh, I'd hoped you would have realised my post wasn't 100% serious. I'd probably agree that RAI, conjured units don't get ObSec and that's certainly how I play it, and so I can't really be bothered to argue RAW about it.

However, as you've spotted, for some reason the RAW give us zero information on how conjured or summoned units interact with the Detachment and army selection rules and so for you to make definitive statements on the topic is unsafe. I believe tournaments have had to FAQ the matter due to the ambiguity of the RAW.

That is exactly why its clear what RAW is. There is nothing saying they what detachment conjured units are put in, so they don't get put in a detachment that gives any special rules


Yes but then we're back to all units have to be part of a detachment. ... Nevermind.
That still doesn't give conjured daemon troops ObSec
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: