Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/05/31 16:30:27
Subject: Chariots and Templates
|
 |
Steadfast Grey Hunter
|
Do chariot riders get hit by D6 hits from template weapons per the no escape rule?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/05/31 17:24:25
Subject: Re:Chariots and Templates
|
 |
Executing Exarch
|
Debateable, but the Chariot rules do not explictly state that the rider is an embarked model - it specifically states they cannot disembark, but are counted as a single model along with the Chariot. Chariots are most often not classed as Transport Vehicles, but No Escape only requires the vehicle to be Open-Topped rather than actually have a transport capacity - you could for example trigger the No Escape rule by shooting at an Eldar War Walker, but there is no embarked unit to affect.
Also, hit pools from Template weapons are always allocated to the Chariot rather than the rider (Shooting at Chariots), and the rider and Chariot are a single 'unit' (No Escape hits the embarked unit), so these additional hits would probably be against the Chariot's armour value anyway.
From a purely HIWPI angle, I would expect the No Escape hits to hit the rider, but I cannot give a definitive RAW, so I will be reading other responses with interest.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/05/31 17:33:14
Subject: Re:Chariots and Templates
|
 |
The Conquerer
Waiting for my shill money from Spiral Arm Studios
|
The intention seems to be that they are transports that the embarked model cannot disembark from, but by the RAW it seems like they aren't actually transports or embarked models.
My personal house rule would be that the rider gets hit by No Escape, but the RAW doesn't seem to support it.
|
Self-proclaimed evil Cat-person. Dues Ex Felines
Cato Sicarius, after force feeding Captain Ventris a copy of the Codex Astartes for having the audacity to play Deathwatch, chokes to death on his own D-baggery after finding Calgar assembling his new Eldar army.
MURICA!!! IN SPESS!!! |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/06/01 00:45:21
Subject: Chariots and Templates
|
 |
Jinking Ravenwing Land Speeder Pilot
|
No. The chariot rules state that all template hits must be resolved against the chariot, not the rider.
It also states that the rider cannot be targeted seperatly from the chariot
|
"If you wait a few months, they'll pick one of the worst codexes and they'll nerf almost everything, its an abstract sort of balance, but it's the sort of balance gw likes...  " |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/06/01 02:06:53
Subject: Chariots and Templates
|
 |
Steadfast Grey Hunter
|
It actually doesn't state that the rider can't be targeted. In fact, it clearly states the opposite with precision shots.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/06/01 02:15:09
Subject: Chariots and Templates
|
 |
Discriminating Deathmark Assassin
|
Actually it does state you cannot target the rider separately. What you are reading is about hits, which is not targeting. There is a major difference between targeting and allocating hits.
|
ADD causes my posts to ramble from time to time. Please bear with me.
You're not a Time Lord stick with linear time.
Specific Vs General |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/06/01 02:59:45
Subject: Chariots and Templates
|
 |
Jinking Ravenwing Land Speeder Pilot
|
greytalon666 wrote:It actually doesn't state that the rider can't be targeted. In fact, it clearly states the opposite with precision shots.
A rider cannot disembark from his Chariot, nor can he be targeted separately from his Chariot.
|
"If you wait a few months, they'll pick one of the worst codexes and they'll nerf almost everything, its an abstract sort of balance, but it's the sort of balance gw likes...  " |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/06/01 04:19:45
Subject: Chariots and Templates
|
 |
Steadfast Grey Hunter
|
"The owning player chooses where to allocate hits from shots, except in the case of precision shots, which are allocated by the firer."
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/06/01 04:36:31
Subject: Chariots and Templates
|
 |
Auspicious Daemonic Herald
|
greytalon666 wrote:"The owning player chooses where to allocate hits from shots, except in the case of precision shots, which are allocated by the firer."
Still not targetting, just allocating hits.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/06/01 04:49:56
Subject: Chariots and Templates
|
 |
Steadfast Grey Hunter
|
No escape doesn't target, either.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/06/01 05:10:08
Subject: Chariots and Templates
|
 |
Auspicious Daemonic Herald
|
No escape only triggers on transports which a chariot is not.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/06/01 05:22:37
Subject: Chariots and Templates
|
 |
Jinking Ravenwing Land Speeder Pilot
|
And there is no embarked unit. The chariot is one unit
|
"If you wait a few months, they'll pick one of the worst codexes and they'll nerf almost everything, its an abstract sort of balance, but it's the sort of balance gw likes...  " |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/06/01 15:21:42
Subject: Chariots and Templates
|
 |
The Conquerer
Waiting for my shill money from Spiral Arm Studios
|
If there was no embarked unit, why would the rules need to explicitly say the model cannot disembark?
|
Self-proclaimed evil Cat-person. Dues Ex Felines
Cato Sicarius, after force feeding Captain Ventris a copy of the Codex Astartes for having the audacity to play Deathwatch, chokes to death on his own D-baggery after finding Calgar assembling his new Eldar army.
MURICA!!! IN SPESS!!! |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/06/01 15:27:39
Subject: Chariots and Templates
|
 |
Lieutenant General
|
Grey Templar wrote:If there was no embarked unit, why would the rules need to explicitly say the model cannot disembark?
Because it has a dual profile, one for the Chariot and one for the rider (who is not an embarked unit). They state that the rider can not disembark for clarity's sake because in 6th edition he could disembark.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2015/06/01 15:30:03
'It is a source of constant consternation that my opponents cannot correlate their innate inferiority with their inevitable defeat. It would seem that stupidity is as eternal as war.'
- Nemesor Zahndrekh of the Sautekh Dynasty Overlord of the Crownworld of Gidrim |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/06/01 16:44:18
Subject: Chariots and Templates
|
 |
Steadfast Grey Hunter
|
No escape triggers on open topped vehicles, which a chariot IS.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/06/01 16:54:38
Subject: Chariots and Templates
|
 |
Lieutenant General
|
Except as noted, there is no unit embarked in a Chariot.
|
'It is a source of constant consternation that my opponents cannot correlate their innate inferiority with their inevitable defeat. It would seem that stupidity is as eternal as war.'
- Nemesor Zahndrekh of the Sautekh Dynasty Overlord of the Crownworld of Gidrim |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/06/01 17:22:01
Subject: Chariots and Templates
|
 |
Steadfast Grey Hunter
|
I'm inclined to disregard anything you say because you can't even bother to read the rulebook. Half the problem with ymdc is people "memorizing" rules.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/06/01 17:25:22
Subject: Chariots and Templates
|
 |
Wicked Canoptek Wraith
|
greytalon666 wrote:I'm inclined to disregard anything you say because you can't even bother to read the rulebook. Half the problem with ymdc is people "memorizing" rules.
Ghaz is saying that, yes, you would trigger the rule, but because he doesn't count as an embarked unit, there's nothing for the rule to actually effect, therefore it becomes irrelevant. (Pardon me if that's not what you meant, Ghaz)
|
8000
2700 |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/06/01 17:42:04
Subject: Chariots and Templates
|
 |
Lieutenant General
|
Parsalian wrote:greytalon666 wrote:I'm inclined to disregard anything you say because you can't even bother to read the rulebook. Half the problem with ymdc is people "memorizing" rules.
Ghaz is saying that, yes, you would trigger the rule, but because he doesn't count as an embarked unit, there's nothing for the rule to actually effect, therefore it becomes irrelevant. (Pardon me if that's not what you meant, Ghaz)
Correct. 'No Escape' has no more effect on a Chariot than it would on an empty Ork Trukk. Both may be open-topped vehicles, but neither have a unit embarked inside.
|
'It is a source of constant consternation that my opponents cannot correlate their innate inferiority with their inevitable defeat. It would seem that stupidity is as eternal as war.'
- Nemesor Zahndrekh of the Sautekh Dynasty Overlord of the Crownworld of Gidrim |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/06/01 18:58:58
Subject: Chariots and Templates
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
precision shots is not a valid comparison for no escape, as you cannot precision shot a skimmer and pick to hit embarked models. Chariots also do not embarked models, so it makes no sense as no escape deals with embarked models.
no escape affects embarked models, chariots do not have embarked models.
If someone can find a rule showing the rider of a chariot is 'embarked' then there would be a point in no escape working.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/06/02 10:20:21
Subject: Chariots and Templates
|
 |
Jinking Ravenwing Land Speeder Pilot
|
blaktoof wrote:precision shots is not a valid comparison for no escape, as you cannot precision shot a skimmer and pick to hit embarked models. Chariots also do not embarked models, so it makes no sense as no escape deals with embarked models.
no escape affects embarked models, chariots do not have embarked models.
If someone can find a rule showing the rider of a chariot is 'embarked' then there would be a point in no escape working.
"Embarked UNITS"
The rider and chariot are one unit. The rider is not a unit.
|
"If you wait a few months, they'll pick one of the worst codexes and they'll nerf almost everything, its an abstract sort of balance, but it's the sort of balance gw likes...  " |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/06/02 20:17:49
Subject: Chariots and Templates
|
 |
Steadfast Grey Hunter
|
The rider IS a unit. So is the chariot. Son are tacs and terminators. If something wasn't a unit, you wouldn't be able to issue it orders such as move, shoot, jink and so on. Seriously, do you even read the rulebook joker, or do you just make it up as you go.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/06/02 20:22:24
Subject: Chariots and Templates
|
 |
Lieutenant General
|
greytalon666 wrote:The rider IS a unit. So is the chariot. Son are tacs and terminators. If something wasn't a unit, you wouldn't be able to issue it orders such as move, shoot, jink and so on. Seriously, do you even read the rulebook joker, or do you just make it up as you go.
No. The Rider is not an embarked unit. Please provide anything in the rules for Chariots to back up your position without resorting to calling names and breaking forum rules.
|
'It is a source of constant consternation that my opponents cannot correlate their innate inferiority with their inevitable defeat. It would seem that stupidity is as eternal as war.'
- Nemesor Zahndrekh of the Sautekh Dynasty Overlord of the Crownworld of Gidrim |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/06/02 20:28:04
Subject: Chariots and Templates
|
 |
[MOD]
Making Stuff
|
The rider is not a unit in his own right. The rider and the chariot are a single unit comprised of a single model worth two profiles.
the rulebook wrote:A Chariot is an unusual unit with a dual profile – a non-vehicle profile for the rider of the Chariot (see below), and a vehicle profile for the Chariot itself. However, a Chariot is always treated as a single model
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/06/02 20:39:27
Subject: Chariots and Templates
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
insaniak wrote:
The rider is not a unit in his own right. The rider and the chariot are a single unit comprised of a single model worth two profiles.
the rulebook wrote:A Chariot is an unusual unit with a dual profile – a non-vehicle profile for the rider of the Chariot (see below), and a vehicle profile for the Chariot itself. However, a Chariot is always treated as a single model
As the rider and chariot are treated as one unit- if the rider is embarked, then the chariot is therefore also embarked on itself. As the chariot/rider is embarked and embarked units are removed from the table top, then it is everywhere on the table and nowhere at once- creating a quantum chariot.
Rules for quantum chariots can be found inside Schrodinger's book, or possibly outside of it, or possibly near it.
|
This message was edited 3 times. Last update was at 2015/06/02 20:40:35
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/06/02 21:10:40
Subject: Chariots and Templates
|
 |
Freaky Flayed One
|
The only reason for the clause about saying the "Rider cannot disembark" is simple. Many of the older codexes at the time of this book's release still had chariots that were considered "transports" which you could disembark from. Chariots as defined by 7th are a model comprised of two models, that are treated as a single model with a dual profile. There is no transport capacity on the chariot, it's simply a single model that has two profiles and can allocate shooting to one profile or the other. I know that blasts are allocated to the chariot via the rules, but the templates I have no idea about for certain as I do not have a rulebook in front of me.
No Escape does not work against a chariot model.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/06/02 22:19:34
Subject: Chariots and Templates
|
 |
Steadfast Grey Hunter
|
insaniak wrote:
The rider is not a unit in his own right. The rider and the chariot are a single unit comprised of a single model worth two profiles.
the rulebook wrote:A Chariot is an unusual unit with a dual profile – a non-vehicle profile for the rider of the Chariot (see below), and a vehicle profile for the Chariot itself. However, a Chariot is always treated as a single model
Which means the rider is still a unit, which makes what Joker said incorrect.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/06/02 22:27:14
Subject: Chariots and Templates
|
 |
[MOD]
Making Stuff
|
No, it means the chariot is a unit, which is comprised of a single model with a 'rider' profile and a 'chariot' profile.
There is no way to target the rider individually, because he doesn't exist individually, just as a part of the Chariot.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2015/06/02 22:27:50
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/06/03 03:38:50
Subject: Chariots and Templates
|
 |
Jinking Ravenwing Land Speeder Pilot
|
As the rider and chariot are treated as one unit- if the rider is embarked, then the chariot is therefore also embarked on itself. As the chariot/rider is embarked and embarked units are removed from the table top, then it is everywhere on the table and nowhere at once- creating a quantum chariot.
Rules for quantum chariots can be found inside Schrodinger's book, or possibly outside of it, or possibly near it.
Exalted!
|
"If you wait a few months, they'll pick one of the worst codexes and they'll nerf almost everything, its an abstract sort of balance, but it's the sort of balance gw likes...  " |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/06/03 10:34:44
Subject: Chariots and Templates
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
greytalon666 wrote: insaniak wrote:
The rider is not a unit in his own right. The rider and the chariot are a single unit comprised of a single model worth two profiles.
the rulebook wrote:A Chariot is an unusual unit with a dual profile – a non-vehicle profile for the rider of the Chariot (see below), and a vehicle profile for the Chariot itself. However, a Chariot is always treated as a single model
Which means the rider is still a unit, which makes what Joker said incorrect.
The rider is no more a unit than a heavy stubber on a Russ is a unit. Both are parts of a single model with profiles for specific purposes.
I'd be interested to hear how one model can be two units, considering that units are one or more models.
|
|
|
 |
 |
|