Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/06/06 08:41:04
Subject: Psychic Blessings and Transports
|
 |
Neophyte undergoing Ritual of Detestation
|
Greetings,
I feel like I get mixed replies when I ask this so I'm hoping someone can give me a firm, yes/no and an FAQ link or the like.
What is the current ruling on using Psychic Powers inside of a Transport?
BRB page 25
"Psykers and Transports
Psykers embarked on Transports still still generate their normal number of Warp Charge points. Psykers embarked on a Transport can only target enemy units with witchfire psychic powers, and only then if the vehicle has a firing point that has line of sight to the target unit. Psykers embarked on a Transport cannot attempt to manifest any other kind of psychic power.
Psychic powers cannot target units that are embarked on a Transport."
BRB page 82
PSYCHIC POWERS AND TRANSPORTS
Psykers (pg 22) embarked on a Transport can only target enemy units with witchfire psychic powers, and only then if the vehicle has a Fire Port that can 'see' the target unit. Psykers embarked on a Transport cannot attempt to manifest any other kind of psychic power.
Psychic powers cannot target units that are embarked on a Transport."
Does this mean Psykers in a transport cannot target themselves with blessings such as Force?
I know in 6th Ed there was a note that said while in a transport, Pskers could target themselves, but I can't seem to find that in 7th Ed or the FAQs. This would lead me to interpret RAW at stating, when in a transport, a Psyker can ONLY use witchfire attacks, and only if said transport has a fireport the Psyker can draw LOS to another unit.
Thanks much
|
This message was edited 3 times. Last update was at 2015/06/06 09:28:44
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/06/06 09:19:17
Subject: Psychic Blessings and Transports
|
 |
Confessor Of Sins
|
A) You cannot cast blessings if you are embarked (as you have quoted: "Psykers embarked on a Transport cannot attempt to manifest any other kind of psychic power.")
B) "Psychic powers cannot target units that are embarked on a Transport." = they cannot be affected by any power whatsoever...
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2015/06/06 09:19:41
DA:80-S+G+M+B++I-Pw40k01++D+++A+++WD100R++T(T)DM+
Roronoa Zoro wrote:When the world shoves you around, you just gotta stand up and shove back. It's not like somebody's gonna save you if you start babbling excuses. - Bring on the hardship. It's preferred in a path of carnage. Manchu wrote:
It's like you take a Space Marine and say "what could make him cooler?" Instead of adding more super-genetic-psycho-organic modification, you take it all away. You have a regular human left in power armor and all the armies of hell at the gates. And she doesn't even flinch. Pure. Badass. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/06/06 14:09:18
Subject: Psychic Blessings and Transports
|
 |
Lord Commander in a Plush Chair
|
B) is slightly incorrect, cannot be targeted and cannot be affected are 2 different things.
Any aura or pulse type effect will affect an ebarked unit so long as it does not target them(most don't targeted anyone).
If a power is cast the concerns all units within x", and the transport is within that distance; then per the transport rules the unit embarked is within that distance.
These kinds of powers are rare to the point that I cannot think of any off hand(before the inevitable; novas target all units in range thus do nothing to the embarked unit, and beams, while hitting the unit cause 0 hits as no models are under the line), though i had only checked the brb powers and orks.
|
This is my Rulebook. There are many Like it, but this one is mine. Without me, my rulebook is useless. Without my rulebook, I am useless.
Stop looking for buzz words and start reading the whole sentences.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/06/07 09:36:54
Subject: Psychic Blessings and Transports
|
 |
Confessor Of Sins
|
Kommissar Kel wrote:B) is slightly incorrect, cannot be targeted and cannot be affected are 2 different things.
Any aura or pulse type effect will affect an ebarked unit so long as it does not target them(most don't targeted anyone).
If a power is cast the concerns all units within x", and the transport is within that distance; then per the transport rules the unit embarked is within that distance.
These kinds of powers are rare to the point that I cannot think of any off hand(before the inevitable; novas target all units in range thus do nothing to the embarked unit, and beams, while hitting the unit cause 0 hits as no models are under the line), though i had only checked the brb powers and orks.
Ah, sorry, i see the difference. Psychic powers working as area of effects possibly?
"All Units within 12" of the Psyker get Fearless" for example, if this power existed, could affect the passengers?
|
DA:80-S+G+M+B++I-Pw40k01++D+++A+++WD100R++T(T)DM+
Roronoa Zoro wrote:When the world shoves you around, you just gotta stand up and shove back. It's not like somebody's gonna save you if you start babbling excuses. - Bring on the hardship. It's preferred in a path of carnage. Manchu wrote:
It's like you take a Space Marine and say "what could make him cooler?" Instead of adding more super-genetic-psycho-organic modification, you take it all away. You have a regular human left in power armor and all the armies of hell at the gates. And she doesn't even flinch. Pure. Badass. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/06/07 11:18:40
Subject: Re:Psychic Blessings and Transports
|
 |
Hellish Haemonculus
|
Units in a vehicle are essentially already Fearless are they not?
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/06/07 12:21:14
Subject: Re:Psychic Blessings and Transports
|
 |
Executing Exarch
|
Jimsolo wrote:Units in a vehicle are essentially already Fearless are they not?
The point was that it would effect the transported unit, regardless of the special rule granted (as it was just a hypothetical example).
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/06/08 08:11:52
Subject: Re:Psychic Blessings and Transports
|
 |
Devious Space Marine dedicated to Tzeentch
|
Quanar wrote: Jimsolo wrote:Units in a vehicle are essentially already Fearless are they not?
The point was that it would effect the transported unit, regardless of the special rule granted (as it was just a hypothetical example).
Put a unit of Blootletters in a Rhino. Cast Cursed Earth with a Psyker that's not in that transport, but within 12". Rhino explodes, Bloodletters get the +1 to their invulnerable save.
|
12k+ pts Chaos Marines, Heretic Guard and Daemons (The Scourged)
2k pts Tyranids (Hive Fleet Hornet) |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/06/08 12:07:47
Subject: Re:Psychic Blessings and Transports
|
 |
Confessor Of Sins
|
Hansisaf wrote: Quanar wrote: Jimsolo wrote:Units in a vehicle are essentially already Fearless are they not?
The point was that it would effect the transported unit, regardless of the special rule granted (as it was just a hypothetical example).
Put a unit of Blootletters in a Rhino. Cast Cursed Earth with a Psyker that's not in that transport, but within 12". Rhino explodes, Bloodletters get the +1 to their invulnerable save.
Here is a non-hypothetical example, thank you
|
DA:80-S+G+M+B++I-Pw40k01++D+++A+++WD100R++T(T)DM+
Roronoa Zoro wrote:When the world shoves you around, you just gotta stand up and shove back. It's not like somebody's gonna save you if you start babbling excuses. - Bring on the hardship. It's preferred in a path of carnage. Manchu wrote:
It's like you take a Space Marine and say "what could make him cooler?" Instead of adding more super-genetic-psycho-organic modification, you take it all away. You have a regular human left in power armor and all the armies of hell at the gates. And she doesn't even flinch. Pure. Badass. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/01/18 15:06:46
Subject: Psychic Blessings and Transports
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
Kommissar Kel wrote:B) is slightly incorrect, cannot be targeted and cannot be affected are 2 different things.
Any aura or pulse type effect will affect an ebarked unit so long as it does not target them(most don't targeted anyone).
If a power is cast the concerns all units within x", and the transport is within that distance; then per the transport rules the unit embarked is within that distance.
These kinds of powers are rare to the point that I cannot think of any off hand(before the inevitable; novas target all units in range thus do nothing to the embarked unit, and beams, while hitting the unit cause 0 hits as no models are under the line), though i had only checked the brb powers and orks.
Sorry to necro this topic, but I'm having this discussion with someone, and I can't figure out why you're saying Nova powers wouldn't affect units that are embarked on transports.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/01/18 18:33:51
Subject: Psychic Blessings and Transports
|
 |
Auspicious Daemonic Herald
|
Mavlun wrote: Kommissar Kel wrote:B) is slightly incorrect, cannot be targeted and cannot be affected are 2 different things.
Any aura or pulse type effect will affect an ebarked unit so long as it does not target them(most don't targeted anyone).
If a power is cast the concerns all units within x", and the transport is within that distance; then per the transport rules the unit embarked is within that distance.
These kinds of powers are rare to the point that I cannot think of any off hand(before the inevitable; novas target all units in range thus do nothing to the embarked unit, and beams, while hitting the unit cause 0 hits as no models are under the line), though i had only checked the brb powers and orks.
Sorry to necro this topic, but I'm having this discussion with someone, and I can't figure out why you're saying Nova powers wouldn't affect units that are embarked on transports.
You can't allocate wounds to models that are out of line of sight
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/01/18 18:41:57
Subject: Psychic Blessings and Transports
|
 |
Lieutenant General
|
CrownAxe wrote: Mavlun wrote: Kommissar Kel wrote:B) is slightly incorrect, cannot be targeted and cannot be affected are 2 different things.
Any aura or pulse type effect will affect an ebarked unit so long as it does not target them(most don't targeted anyone).
If a power is cast the concerns all units within x", and the transport is within that distance; then per the transport rules the unit embarked is within that distance.
These kinds of powers are rare to the point that I cannot think of any off hand(before the inevitable; novas target all units in range thus do nothing to the embarked unit, and beams, while hitting the unit cause 0 hits as no models are under the line), though i had only checked the brb powers and orks.
Sorry to necro this topic, but I'm having this discussion with someone, and I can't figure out why you're saying Nova powers wouldn't affect units that are embarked on transports.
You can't allocate wounds to models that are out of line of sight
Or the two places in the rules that say psychic powers can't target units on transports ('Psykers and Transports', pg. 25 and 'Psychic Powers and Transports', pg. 82).
|
'It is a source of constant consternation that my opponents cannot correlate their innate inferiority with their inevitable defeat. It would seem that stupidity is as eternal as war.'
- Nemesor Zahndrekh of the Sautekh Dynasty Overlord of the Crownworld of Gidrim |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/01/19 00:27:12
Subject: Psychic Blessings and Transports
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
Ghaz wrote: CrownAxe wrote: Mavlun wrote: Kommissar Kel wrote:B) is slightly incorrect, cannot be targeted and cannot be affected are 2 different things.
Any aura or pulse type effect will affect an ebarked unit so long as it does not target them(most don't targeted anyone).
If a power is cast the concerns all units within x", and the transport is within that distance; then per the transport rules the unit embarked is within that distance.
These kinds of powers are rare to the point that I cannot think of any off hand(before the inevitable; novas target all units in range thus do nothing to the embarked unit, and beams, while hitting the unit cause 0 hits as no models are under the line), though i had only checked the brb powers and orks.
Sorry to necro this topic, but I'm having this discussion with someone, and I can't figure out why you're saying Nova powers wouldn't affect units that are embarked on transports.
You can't allocate wounds to models that are out of line of sight
Or the two places in the rules that say psychic powers can't target units on transports ('Psykers and Transports', pg. 25 and 'Psychic Powers and Transports', pg. 82).
Except that Nova gives specific allowance
"A nova power automatically targets and hits all enemy units (including Flyers and Flying Monstrous Creatures) within the psychic power's maximum range, regardless of line of sight, being locked in combat, intervening models/terrain and so on."
CrownAxe wrote: Mavlun wrote: Kommissar Kel wrote:B) is slightly incorrect, cannot be targeted and cannot be affected are 2 different things.
Any aura or pulse type effect will affect an ebarked unit so long as it does not target them(most don't targeted anyone).
If a power is cast the concerns all units within x", and the transport is within that distance; then per the transport rules the unit embarked is within that distance.
These kinds of powers are rare to the point that I cannot think of any off hand(before the inevitable; novas target all units in range thus do nothing to the embarked unit, and beams, while hitting the unit cause 0 hits as no models are under the line), though i had only checked the brb powers and orks.
Sorry to necro this topic, but I'm having this discussion with someone, and I can't figure out why you're saying Nova powers wouldn't affect units that are embarked on transports.
You can't allocate wounds to models that are out of line of sight
I am guessing this is the correct way to look at it. It automatically HITS the unit inside the transport, but wounds can't be allocated to it.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/01/19 00:33:03
Subject: Psychic Blessings and Transports
|
 |
Lieutenant General
|
Mavlun wrote: Ghaz wrote: CrownAxe wrote: Mavlun wrote: Kommissar Kel wrote:B) is slightly incorrect, cannot be targeted and cannot be affected are 2 different things.
Any aura or pulse type effect will affect an ebarked unit so long as it does not target them(most don't targeted anyone).
If a power is cast the concerns all units within x", and the transport is within that distance; then per the transport rules the unit embarked is within that distance.
These kinds of powers are rare to the point that I cannot think of any off hand(before the inevitable; novas target all units in range thus do nothing to the embarked unit, and beams, while hitting the unit cause 0 hits as no models are under the line), though i had only checked the brb powers and orks.
Sorry to necro this topic, but I'm having this discussion with someone, and I can't figure out why you're saying Nova powers wouldn't affect units that are embarked on transports.
You can't allocate wounds to models that are out of line of sight
Or the two places in the rules that say psychic powers can't target units on transports ('Psykers and Transports', pg. 25 and 'Psychic Powers and Transports', pg. 82).
Except that Nova gives specific allowance
"A nova power automatically targets and hits all enemy units (including Flyers and Flying Monstrous Creatures) within the psychic power's maximum range, regardless of line of sight, being locked in combat, intervening models/terrain and so on."
False. Automatically targeting something does not give you a specific allowance to target something (automatically or not) you are not permitted to target.
|
'It is a source of constant consternation that my opponents cannot correlate their innate inferiority with their inevitable defeat. It would seem that stupidity is as eternal as war.'
- Nemesor Zahndrekh of the Sautekh Dynasty Overlord of the Crownworld of Gidrim |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/01/19 00:41:38
Subject: Psychic Blessings and Transports
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
Ghaz wrote: Mavlun wrote: Ghaz wrote: CrownAxe wrote: Mavlun wrote: Kommissar Kel wrote:B) is slightly incorrect, cannot be targeted and cannot be affected are 2 different things.
Any aura or pulse type effect will affect an ebarked unit so long as it does not target them(most don't targeted anyone).
If a power is cast the concerns all units within x", and the transport is within that distance; then per the transport rules the unit embarked is within that distance.
These kinds of powers are rare to the point that I cannot think of any off hand(before the inevitable; novas target all units in range thus do nothing to the embarked unit, and beams, while hitting the unit cause 0 hits as no models are under the line), though i had only checked the brb powers and orks.
Sorry to necro this topic, but I'm having this discussion with someone, and I can't figure out why you're saying Nova powers wouldn't affect units that are embarked on transports.
You can't allocate wounds to models that are out of line of sight
Or the two places in the rules that say psychic powers can't target units on transports ('Psykers and Transports', pg. 25 and 'Psychic Powers and Transports', pg. 82).
Except that Nova gives specific allowance
"A nova power automatically targets and hits all enemy units (including Flyers and Flying Monstrous Creatures) within the psychic power's maximum range, regardless of line of sight, being locked in combat, intervening models/terrain and so on."
False. Automatically targeting something does not give you a specific allowance to target something (automatically or not) you are not permitted to target.
That...uhhh....that makes zero sense. Any source on that?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/01/19 00:44:57
Subject: Psychic Blessings and Transports
|
 |
Lieutenant General
|
Again, just because you don't need to say "this unit is a target" does not allow you to affect an untargetable unit. Saying it does is what doesn't make sense.
|
'It is a source of constant consternation that my opponents cannot correlate their innate inferiority with their inevitable defeat. It would seem that stupidity is as eternal as war.'
- Nemesor Zahndrekh of the Sautekh Dynasty Overlord of the Crownworld of Gidrim |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/01/19 00:54:50
Subject: Psychic Blessings and Transports
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
Ghaz wrote:Again, just because you don't need to say "this unit is a target" does not allow you to affect an untargetable unit. Saying it does is what doesn't make sense.
Normal sequence:
Unit A says "I am targeting Unit B".
Psychic powers vs. transports: "You are not allowed to target Unit B"
Nova: "You automatically target and hit Unit B"
What if it's a weapon that is S4, but it says it automatically wounds models that are T8. ? No wounds then by your logic vs. T8 models? Edit: Like Rending. You're essentially saying Rending can't wound on 6s vs. T8 if the weapon is S4.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2016/01/19 00:56:47
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/01/19 01:03:06
Subject: Psychic Blessings and Transports
|
 |
Lieutenant General
|
Again, automatically targeting doesn't make a unit targetable. All it does is remove the necessity of saying "... this unit is a target..."
And your Rending example doesn't work due to the inclusion of "... regardless of its Toughness..." Does Nova say "... regardless of whether the unit can be Targeted..."?
|
'It is a source of constant consternation that my opponents cannot correlate their innate inferiority with their inevitable defeat. It would seem that stupidity is as eternal as war.'
- Nemesor Zahndrekh of the Sautekh Dynasty Overlord of the Crownworld of Gidrim |
|
 |
 |
|