Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/06/19 18:58:34
Subject: Skyhammer Devs Question
|
 |
Ultramarine Land Raider Pilot on Cruise Control
|
When the Devastators in the SM Skyhammer formation shoot at a unit, the ASMs from the same formation are allowed to reroll hits and wounds. If the Devs shoot at and blow up a transport, would the ASMs still get the rerolls if they assault the unit inside?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/06/19 18:58:53
Subject: Skyhammer Devs Question
|
 |
Badass "Sister Sin"
|
Negative.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/06/19 19:03:43
Subject: Skyhammer Devs Question
|
 |
Ultramarine Land Raider Pilot on Cruise Control
|
Just wondering, why not? Similarly, if a vehicle moves, the unit insides counts as being moved. If a vehicle is stunned or shaken, the models inside are affected.
Maybe I'm just grasping at straws. I just thought the vehicle and contents are a single unit until disembarked. But I'm crazy optimistic like that xD
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/06/19 19:05:10
Subject: Skyhammer Devs Question
|
 |
Badass "Sister Sin"
|
Saythings wrote:Just wondering, why not? Similarly, if a vehicle moves, the unit insides counts as being moved. If a vehicle is stunned or shaken, the models inside are affected.
Maybe I'm just grasping at straws. I just thought the vehicle and contents are a single unit until disembarked. But I'm crazy optimistic like that xD
Vehicle and contents are not a single unit.
But the simple answer is: The Skyhammer rules don't say that it does.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/06/19 19:11:48
Subject: Skyhammer Devs Question
|
 |
Ultramarine Land Raider Pilot on Cruise Control
|
Oh poo. Thanks!
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/06/19 22:24:42
Subject: Skyhammer Devs Question
|
 |
Frenzied Berserker Terminator
|
Saythings wrote:Just wondering, why not? Similarly, if a vehicle moves, the unit insides counts as being moved. If a vehicle is stunned or shaken, the models inside are affected.
Maybe I'm just grasping at straws. I just thought the vehicle and contents are a single unit until disembarked. But I'm crazy optimistic like that xD
Those are all things that are specifically called out by the embarkation rules, but there is nothing to suggest that the unit and transport actually become one unit while embarked. They are just examples of specific rules where you can affect one unit by attacking another, so your devs would also need a specific rule to do the same.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/06/20 01:15:54
Subject: Skyhammer Devs Question
|
 |
Death-Dealing Devastator
Essex, UK
|
That's not even how the rule works.
When the Devs shoot at a unit it must take a leadership test on 3D6. If they fail they go to ground. Assault Squads that charge a unit that have gone to ground due to this get to re roll.
The only benefit you get for just shooting at a unit is they cannot overwatch.
You have never shot at the unit inside the transport and they have never been forced to take this specific 3D6 test, so it is impossible to meet the conditions needed to get that benefit for the Assault Squad.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/06/20 01:18:26
Subject: Skyhammer Devs Question
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
the rerolls for the assault squads are dependent on the unit going to ground from the devestators special rule.
The passengers of the vehicle did not go to ground from the devestators special rule, so the assault squad does not get rerolls to hit/wound against them.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/06/20 03:40:06
Subject: Skyhammer Devs Question
|
 |
Ruthless Interrogator
|
Just a quick question since its sorta on topic:
You cannot target units embarked in transports correct? Because I am pretty sure that the Devastators just need to target a squad for it to take affect. Which would be really dumb.
|
Space Marines: Jacks of all trades yet masters of GRAV CANNONS!!!.
My Star Wars Imperial Codex Project: http://www.dakkadakka.com/dakkaforum/posts/list/641831.page
It has 7 HQs, 2 Troop types with Dedicated Transports, 5 Elite units, 5 Fast Attack units, 6 Heavy Support units, 2 Formations with unique units not in the rest of the codex, and 2 LOW choices.
‘I do not care who knows the truth now, tomorrow, or in ten thousand years. Loyalty is its own reward.’ -Lion El' Jonson |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/06/20 05:10:19
Subject: Skyhammer Devs Question
|
 |
Scarred Ultramarine Tyrannic War Veteran
Ankh Morpork
|
DoomShakaLaka wrote:Just a quick question since its sorta on topic:
You cannot target units embarked in transports correct? Because I am pretty sure that the Devastators just need to target a squad for it to take affect. Which would be really dumb.
No, because you'd be unable to draw line of sight to the embarked unit:
"To target an enemy unit, at least one model must have line of sight to at least one model in the target unit. If no model has line of sight, then a different target must be chosen."
|
|
 |
 |
|