Switch Theme:

can fortifications scout move?  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in de
Longtime Dakkanaut






If a unit with this special rule is deployed inside a Dedicated Transport, it confers the Scout special rule to the Transport (...).


My understanding is that only dedicated transports can benefit from an embarked unit having the scout special rule.

How does a fortification get the scout rule?

   
Made in us
Storming Storm Guardian




but this has been fun


Automatically Appended Next Post:
There are warlord traits that you can give scout to units that do not have scout prior to game start

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2015/06/24 22:24:14


Lugganath-light of the fallen suns
2500points 250 points 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut






 Yarium wrote:
I see your point here (and yes, this example does make it clearer), except that this is not what's happening in the rules creates two groups - one of A, and one not-A. It specifically says "any other unit type". This means "unit type of those which were not previously mentioned", which is just 2 groups.


Here is what the rules actualy say. "If the unit is Infantry, Artillery, a Walker or a Monstrous Creature, each model can redeploy anywhere entirely within 6" of its current position. If it is any other unit type, each model can instead redeploy anywhere entirely within 12" of its current position. "

Group A = Models with unit types that are Infantry, Artillery, a Walker or a Monstrous Creature.
Groub B= Models with unit types that are not Infantry, Artillery, a Walker or a Monstrous Creature.
Group C= Models with no unit type.

Groub B =/= Models that are not in Group A. This is where your logic keeps faulting. Both Group A & B are only comprised of models with a unit type. Models with no unit type cannot possibly be part of either of those groups.




 Stephanius wrote:
How does a fortification get the scout rule?

By being taken as part of a Skitarii Maniple is just one way.


   
Made in gb
Confessor Of Sins





Newton Aycliffe

 Yarium wrote:
except that this is not what's happening in the rules creates two groups - one of A, and one not-A. It specifically says "any other unit type". This means "unit type of those which were not previously mentioned", which is just 2 groups.


As has been said by others, you are misinterpreting "A or not-A"

It would have to say "If the unit is Unit Type 'X'. If it is anything other..." for you to be correct (A or "anything that is not A")

But the Rule says "If it is any other unit type,..." which clearly mean it has to be a Unit Type. "Any other" Unit Type, but a "Unit Type" nonetheless...
(Which Fortifications is not)

DA:80-S+G+M+B++I-Pw40k01++D+++A+++WD100R++T(T)DM+
Roronoa Zoro wrote:When the world shoves you around, you just gotta stand up and shove back. It's not like somebody's gonna save you if you start babbling excuses. - Bring on the hardship. It's preferred in a path of carnage.
Manchu wrote:
It's like you take a Space Marine and say "what could make him cooler?" Instead of adding more super-genetic-psycho-organic modification, you take it all away. You have a regular human left in power armor and all the armies of hell at the gates. And she doesn't even flinch. Pure. Badass. 
   
Made in be
Longtime Dakkanaut




 FlingitNow wrote:
In short Buildings can't scout redeploy as they have no permission to redeploy any number of inches. So how far you can redeploy is based on unit type, buildings don't have a unit type thus have no distance they can redeploy.


Well, redeployment is not movement, because if it was, my skitarii would be able to scout 9", which they are not allowed because according to most people scouting =/= moving.
Following that train of thought, any fortification I bring in my skitarii maniple gets scout and should be allowed to scout 12" (because any unit that doesn't have "infantry" scouts 12").

This message was edited 5 times. Last update was at 2015/06/25 11:42:40


You don't have to be happy when you lose, just don't make winning the condition of your happiness.  
   
Made in gb
Ultramarine Chaplain with Hate to Spare





Well, redeployment is not movement, because if it was, my skitarii would be able to scout 9", which they are not allowed because according to most people scouting =/= moving. 
Following that train of thought, any fortification I bring in my skitarii maniple gets scout and should be allowed to scout 12" (because any unit that doesn't have "infantry" scouts 12"). 


Good to know that you didn't bother reading the thread like you didn't the rules. Or even the post you quoted. Why mention movement? How is that relevant to my post or the rules at hand?

You don't get to redeploy 12" because you don't meet the cruteria for that. Building is not a unit type it is a terrain type. So as I stated Buildings can't scout redeploy as they have no permission to redeploy any number of inches. 

Take the Magic: The Gathering 'What Color Are You?' Quiz.

Yes my Colour is Black but not for the reasons stated mainly just because it's slimming... http://imperiusdominatus.blogspot.com 
   
Made in be
Longtime Dakkanaut




 FlingitNow wrote:
Well, redeployment is not movement, because if it was, my skitarii would be able to scout 9", which they are not allowed because according to most people scouting =/= moving. 
Following that train of thought, any fortification I bring in my skitarii maniple gets scout and should be allowed to scout 12" (because any unit that doesn't have "infantry" scouts 12"). 


Good to know that you didn't bother reading the thread like you didn't the rules. Or even the post you quoted. Why mention movement? How is that relevant to my post or the rules at hand?

You don't get to redeploy 12" because you don't meet the cruteria for that. Building is not a unit type it is a terrain type. So as I stated Buildings can't scout redeploy as they have no permission to redeploy any number of inches. 


Yeah sorry, was a bit hasty there, I realized as soon as I hit "submit".

 BlackTalos wrote:
 Yarium wrote:
except that this is not what's happening in the rules creates two groups - one of A, and one not-A. It specifically says "any other unit type". This means "unit type of those which were not previously mentioned", which is just 2 groups.


As has been said by others, you are misinterpreting "A or not-A"

It would have to say "If the unit is Unit Type 'X'. If it is anything other..." for you to be correct (A or "anything that is not A")

But the Rule says "If it is any other unit type,..." which clearly mean it has to be a Unit Type. "Any other" Unit Type, but a "Unit Type" nonetheless...
(Which Fortifications is not)


That's a very good argument.
I believe there was a bit in the BRB that said that for all rules and purposes, buildings should be considered vehicles unless otherwise specified. I don't have the rulebook on me so I can't say with 100% certainty. Although that might be for shooting only.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2015/06/25 11:43:42


You don't have to be happy when you lose, just don't make winning the condition of your happiness.  
   
Made in gb
Member of a Lodge? I Can't Say






 Ond Angel wrote:
 HANZERtank wrote:
 SharkoutofWata wrote:
Pg 110 of the mini Rulebook-
"The main difference between a building and actual vehicles is that they can't move,". Second paragraph, and bold. So, if you are moving the building, that is violating the rule. You keep calling it a Scout MOVE so... nope.


On this, as per the rules for scout it technically is a redeployment rather than a straight up move. That's why you don't take difficult or dangerous terrain checks. So if you could give a building scout through some means it's perfectly viable. The way you would treat this in fluff isit was camo nets and a fake bunker?


Or...

Spoiler:
CREEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEED!

So true
   
Made in gb
Ultramarine Chaplain with Hate to Spare





That's not what it says. It says buildings use aspects of the Transport Vehicle rules and specifies which aspects those are. Scout moves us not listed as an aspect nor is unit type.

Take the Magic: The Gathering 'What Color Are You?' Quiz.

Yes my Colour is Black but not for the reasons stated mainly just because it's slimming... http://imperiusdominatus.blogspot.com 
   
Made in gb
Regular Dakkanaut




This seams clear a claimed building is a unit but it has no unit type.

So you could give it the scout rule but would not be able to redeploy it as no instructions are given as to the distance that you would be able to redeploy with the scout move.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2015/06/25 12:14:01


 
   
Made in gb
Confessor Of Sins





Newton Aycliffe

DaPino wrote:
 BlackTalos wrote:
 Yarium wrote:
except that this is not what's happening in the rules creates two groups - one of A, and one not-A. It specifically says "any other unit type". This means "unit type of those which were not previously mentioned", which is just 2 groups.


As has been said by others, you are misinterpreting "A or not-A"

It would have to say "If the unit is Unit Type 'X'. If it is anything other..." for you to be correct (A or "anything that is not A")

But the Rule says "If it is any other unit type,..." which clearly mean it has to be a Unit Type. "Any other" Unit Type, but a "Unit Type" nonetheless...
(Which Fortifications is not)


That's a very good argument.
I believe there was a bit in the BRB that said that for all rules and purposes, buildings should be considered vehicles unless otherwise specified. I don't have the rulebook on me so I can't say with 100% certainty. Although that might be for shooting only.


Also covered earlier in this thread. The full (actual) Rule is this:

"Buildings of all types use aspects of the Transport vehicle rules."

They are not considered Vehicles "for all Rules purposes". They only "use aspects of" Transport Rules, such as having transport capacity ("Just like a Transport vehicle"), entering and exiting ("works the same as embarking or disembarking from a vehicle") or Shooting and Close combat ("When determining if a building can be targeted by a shooting attack or psychic power, charged and fought in close combat, or affected by a special rule, treat the building as a vehicle unless specifically stated otherwise.").

None of these give the building a Unit Type.
Buildings do not have a Unit Type.

DA:80-S+G+M+B++I-Pw40k01++D+++A+++WD100R++T(T)DM+
Roronoa Zoro wrote:When the world shoves you around, you just gotta stand up and shove back. It's not like somebody's gonna save you if you start babbling excuses. - Bring on the hardship. It's preferred in a path of carnage.
Manchu wrote:
It's like you take a Space Marine and say "what could make him cooler?" Instead of adding more super-genetic-psycho-organic modification, you take it all away. You have a regular human left in power armor and all the armies of hell at the gates. And she doesn't even flinch. Pure. Badass. 
   
Made in us
Powerful Phoenix Lord





Buffalo, NY

Devils Advocate. Wouldn't Scout redeployment fall under Special Rule Effects? If so we would treat it like a vehicle.

Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia 
   
Made in gb
Confessor Of Sins





Newton Aycliffe

 Happyjew wrote:
Devils Advocate. Wouldn't Scout redeployment fall under Special Rule Effects? If so we would treat it like a vehicle.


Could be, but you'd have to explain the Sub-Heading:

"Attacking Buildings"

If you count Scout as "Attacking Buildings" then i'd let you attack your own building with your Scout move

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2015/06/25 16:54:20


DA:80-S+G+M+B++I-Pw40k01++D+++A+++WD100R++T(T)DM+
Roronoa Zoro wrote:When the world shoves you around, you just gotta stand up and shove back. It's not like somebody's gonna save you if you start babbling excuses. - Bring on the hardship. It's preferred in a path of carnage.
Manchu wrote:
It's like you take a Space Marine and say "what could make him cooler?" Instead of adding more super-genetic-psycho-organic modification, you take it all away. You have a regular human left in power armor and all the armies of hell at the gates. And she doesn't even flinch. Pure. Badass. 
   
Made in ca
Judgemental Grey Knight Justicar





Oshawa, Ontario, Canada

 Stephanius wrote:
If a unit with this special rule is deployed inside a Dedicated Transport, it confers the Scout special rule to the Transport (...).


My understanding is that only dedicated transports can benefit from an embarked unit having the scout special rule.

How does a fortification get the scout rule?


With all the bickering about Unit Type, people seem to miss this (which was also pointed out within 3 replies of the OP I believe).
A building, even if you are treating it as a vehicle, is NOT a Dedicated Transport.
How did it get the Scout USR conferred to it (in the OP's case)?

Unit/Unit Type is irrelevant. Scout USR is conferred on a dedicated transport, as per the rules.
   
Made in gb
Ultramarine Chaplain with Hate to Spare





Rorschach9 wrote:
 Stephanius wrote:
If a unit with this special rule is deployed inside a Dedicated Transport, it confers the Scout special rule to the Transport (...).


My understanding is that only dedicated transports can benefit from an embarked unit having the scout special rule.

How does a fortification get the scout rule?


With all the bickering about Unit Type, people seem to miss this (which was also pointed out within 3 replies of the OP I believe).
A building, even if you are treating it as a vehicle, is NOT a Dedicated Transport.
How did it get the Scout USR conferred to it (in the OP's case)?

Unit/Unit Type is irrelevant. Scout USR is conferred on a dedicated transport, as per the rules.


It was also pointed out afterwards that the Skitarii Maniple gives fortifications (and all other contained units) the Scout USR and there are some Warlord traits that can do it too. This has absolutely nothing to do with dedicated transports.

Take the Magic: The Gathering 'What Color Are You?' Quiz.

Yes my Colour is Black but not for the reasons stated mainly just because it's slimming... http://imperiusdominatus.blogspot.com 
   
Made in ca
Judgemental Grey Knight Justicar





Oshawa, Ontario, Canada

 FlingitNow wrote:
Rorschach9 wrote:
 Stephanius wrote:
If a unit with this special rule is deployed inside a Dedicated Transport, it confers the Scout special rule to the Transport (...).


My understanding is that only dedicated transports can benefit from an embarked unit having the scout special rule.

How does a fortification get the scout rule?


With all the bickering about Unit Type, people seem to miss this (which was also pointed out within 3 replies of the OP I believe).
A building, even if you are treating it as a vehicle, is NOT a Dedicated Transport.
How did it get the Scout USR conferred to it (in the OP's case)?

Unit/Unit Type is irrelevant. Scout USR is conferred on a dedicated transport, as per the rules.


It was also pointed out afterwards that the Skitarii Maniple gives fortifications (and all other contained units) the Scout USR and there are some Warlord traits that can do it too. This has absolutely nothing to do with dedicated transports.


Which does not contradict my statement in any way, and has nothing (as far as I can tell) to do with the original posters question.
If you are discussing something else, it would probably be best in another thread, even though it's been debated ad nauseum in multiple threads already to no avail.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2015/06/25 20:10:37


 
   
Made in us
Decrepit Dakkanaut






New Orleans, LA

 gummyofallbears wrote:

No matter what, I learned that I will never play against him again.
happy wargaming,

-Mikey


Knowing is have the battle, Yo Joe!


Pg 110 of the mini Rulebook-
"The main difference between a building and actual vehicles is that they can't move,"

That seems to be the best answer and HIWPI.

DA:70S+G+M+B++I++Pw40k08+D++A++/fWD-R+T(M)DM+
 
   
Made in gb
Ultramarine Chaplain with Hate to Spare





 kronk wrote:
 gummyofallbears wrote:

No matter what, I learned that I will never play against him again.
happy wargaming,

-Mikey


Knowing is have the battle, Yo Joe!


Pg 110 of the mini Rulebook-
"The main difference between a building and actual vehicles is that they can't move,"

That seems to be the best answer and HIWPI.


I don't see the relevance of that rule or how it in anyway effect HYWPI? Are you saying that you'd allow Scout Redeploy because the only difference between a building and a transport is it can't move?

Take the Magic: The Gathering 'What Color Are You?' Quiz.

Yes my Colour is Black but not for the reasons stated mainly just because it's slimming... http://imperiusdominatus.blogspot.com 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut






Rorschach9 wrote:
Which does not contradict my statement in any way, and has nothing (as far as I can tell) to do with the original posters question.
If you are discussing something else, it would probably be best in another thread, even though it's been debated ad nauseum in multiple threads already to no avail.


The OP's question was "can fortifications scout move?" and that is all this thread is discussing. The situation he described was addressed but we have stayed within the subject of the thread. Also when a tangental point is raised on dakkadakka it is not customary to start another thread to discuss it. So the idea that the discussions so far have had " nothing to do with the original posters question" is inaccurate to say the least.
   
Made in gb
Longtime Dakkanaut





Nottingham

P 130 "If a fortification is taken as part of an army, then it is set up with the rest of the units in the army using the same deployment rules as the other models."

Therefore, a warlord trait that gives units scout would allow a fortification to be redeployed within 12" of it's starting position. Models with scout can only confer it to dedicated transports, and so would scout out of the building.

Have a look at my P&M blog - currently working on Sons of Horus

Have a look at my 3d Printed Mierce Miniatures

Previous projects
30k Iron Warriors (11k+)
Full first company Crimson Fists
Zone Mortalis (unfinished)
Classic high elf bloodbowl team 
   
Made in gb
Ultramarine Chaplain with Hate to Spare





 JamesY wrote:
P 130 "If a fortification is taken as part of an army, then it is set up with the rest of the units in the army using the same deployment rules as the other models."

Therefore, a warlord trait that gives units scout would allow a fortification to be redeployed within 12" of it's starting position. Models with scout can only confer it to dedicated transports, and so would scout out of the building.


Why artibitrarily choose 12" for the redeploy? Also why contribute if you haven't bothered reading a single page of the thread as this point has been covered on literally every page several times?

Take the Magic: The Gathering 'What Color Are You?' Quiz.

Yes my Colour is Black but not for the reasons stated mainly just because it's slimming... http://imperiusdominatus.blogspot.com 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut






 JamesY wrote:
P 130 "If a fortification is taken as part of an army, then it is set up with the rest of the units in the army using the same deployment rules as the other models."

Therefore, a warlord trait that gives units scout would allow a fortification to be redeployed within 12" of it's starting position. Models with scout can only confer it to dedicated transports, and so would scout out of the building.


Why 12 inches?
   
Made in gb
Longtime Dakkanaut





Nottingham

 FlingitNow wrote:
 JamesY wrote:
P 130 "If a fortification is taken as part of an army, then it is set up with the rest of the units in the army using the same deployment rules as the other models."

Therefore, a warlord trait that gives units scout would allow a fortification to be redeployed within 12" of it's starting position. Models with scout can only confer it to dedicated transports, and so would scout out of the building.


Why artibitrarily choose 12" for the redeploy? Also why contribute if you haven't bothered reading a single page of the thread as this point has been covered on literally every page several times?


12" as defined by the scout rule. I'm sorry, I didn't realise repetition was forbidden on dakka. It's not like I see the same posts over and over again elsewhere on discussions. And thank you for your polite tone.

Have a look at my P&M blog - currently working on Sons of Horus

Have a look at my 3d Printed Mierce Miniatures

Previous projects
30k Iron Warriors (11k+)
Full first company Crimson Fists
Zone Mortalis (unfinished)
Classic high elf bloodbowl team 
   
Made in us
Powerful Phoenix Lord





Buffalo, NY

Except 12" is for unit types that are not Infantry, Artillery, Walker nor Monstrous Creature.

If you do not have a unit type, you do not fall into that category (nor do you fall into the category of "Unit Type={Infantry, Artillery, Walker, Monstrous Creature}".

Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia 
   
Made in gb
Ultramarine Chaplain with Hate to Spare





 JamesY wrote:
 FlingitNow wrote:
 JamesY wrote:
P 130 "If a fortification is taken as part of an army, then it is set up with the rest of the units in the army using the same deployment rules as the other models."

Therefore, a warlord trait that gives units scout would allow a fortification to be redeployed within 12" of it's starting position. Models with scout can only confer it to dedicated transports, and so would scout out of the building.


Why artibitrarily choose 12" for the redeploy? Also why contribute if you haven't bothered reading a single page of the thread as this point has been covered on literally every page several times?


12" as defined by the scout rule. I'm sorry, I didn't realise repetition was forbidden on dakka. It's not like I see the same posts over and over again elsewhere on discussions. And thank you for your polite tone.


It is a point that has been brought up 2-3 times at least on each page. The scout rule does not say 12" for fortifications. It says 6" for Inf, Artillery,MCs & Walkers and 12" for all other unit types. It says nothing about models without a unit type like fortifications.

Take the Magic: The Gathering 'What Color Are You?' Quiz.

Yes my Colour is Black but not for the reasons stated mainly just because it's slimming... http://imperiusdominatus.blogspot.com 
   
Made in gb
Longtime Dakkanaut





Nottingham

It says using the same deployment rules as other models. P9 the models that make up your 40k army must be organized in to units. If you're paid points for it, it is a unit, the fact that buildings aren't clearly labelled I take as poor editting. I agree that the wording is exceedingly poor, and think it ridiculous that a trench might move, but as written it can happen.

Have a look at my P&M blog - currently working on Sons of Horus

Have a look at my 3d Printed Mierce Miniatures

Previous projects
30k Iron Warriors (11k+)
Full first company Crimson Fists
Zone Mortalis (unfinished)
Classic high elf bloodbowl team 
   
Made in gb
Ultramarine Chaplain with Hate to Spare





What has being a unit got to do with anything? Where did anyone mention that not being a unit was a) true for a fortification or b) remotely relevant to why they can't make a scout redeploy?

Take the Magic: The Gathering 'What Color Are You?' Quiz.

Yes my Colour is Black but not for the reasons stated mainly just because it's slimming... http://imperiusdominatus.blogspot.com 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut






 JamesY wrote:
It says using the same deployment rules as other models. P9 the models that make up your 40k army must be organized in to units. If you're paid points for it, it is a unit, the fact that buildings aren't clearly labelled I take as poor editting. I agree that the wording is exceedingly poor, and think it ridiculous that a trench might move, but as written it can happen.


"Unit type" is a terribly misleading name. Its a property of a model and has nothing to do with if that model is in a unit or not. I think we all can agree that a fortification in your army is in fact a unit but being a unit does not grant the model a 'unit type'.
   
Made in us
You Sunk My Battleship!




Augusta, GA

It's not a unit. It doesn't have a unit type. The rules have to specify that you set them up at the same time as your units (of 130). As has been stated before, they are types of Terrain (of 183).

 
   
Made in us
Combat Jumping Garuda



Everywhere

Chardun, you should quote your comment in the other thread.

 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: